Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Men's Hightops Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Iron Maiden UP3 $5 Off Fire TV Stick Shop Popular Services hog hog hog  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Shop Now STEM Toys & Games
Hellhole West Virginia and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $9.99
  • Save: $1.00 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Hellhole West Virginia has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: First printing. As new.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Hellhole West Virginia Paperback – September 29, 2011

8 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$8.99
$8.89 $4.85

Best Books of the Year So Far
Best Books of the Year So Far
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2015's Best Books of the Year So Far in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.
$8.99 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Hellhole West Virginia + Lumberjacked
Price for both: $17.98

Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

After an unillustrious print journalism career in southwestern Pennsylvania, Rich Bottles Jr. moved to West Virginia at the age of 32 to pursue a career in technical writing. He spends his free time visiting and hiking at the many state and national parks in the Mountain State, which is also where he develops the concepts for his novels. He has produced a trilogy of WV-themed "humorrorotica,"  including 'Lumberjacked,' 'Hellhole West Virginia' and 'The Manacled.' His only regret in life is that his out-of-state secondary school education prohibited him from earning West Virginia's prestigious Golden Horseshoe Award.

If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for only $0.99 (Save 67%). Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.


Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 340 pages
  • Publisher: Burning Bulb Publishing (September 29, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0615535798
  • ISBN-13: 978-0615535791
  • Product Dimensions: 5.1 x 0.8 x 7.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 15.5 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,779,413 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

After an unillustrious print journalism career in southwestern Pennsylvania, Rich Bottles Jr. moved to West Virginia at the age of 32 to pursue a career in technical writing. He spends his free time visiting and hiking at the many state parks in the Mountain State, which is also where he develops the concepts for his novels.
Rich recently completed a trilogy of WV-themed "humorrorotica," which includes the novels "Lumberjacked," "Hellhole West Virginia" and "The Manacled."
In addition to editing and contributing to the Burning Bulb Publishing anthologies "Westward Hoes" and "The Big Book of Bizarro," he has also written stories for the StrangeHouse Books anthologies "Strange Sex" and "Zombie! Zombie! Brain Bang!"
He is currently working on a horror novel set in West Virginia's Amish Country.
His only regret in life is that his out-of-state secondary school education prohibited him from earning West Virginia's prestigious Golden Horseshoe Award.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Gary Vincent on October 14, 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Get ready for an over-the-top thrill ride that perverts history in a way that only Rich Bottles Jr. can! Do you like the Mothman? Yeah, he's in there and the reader will learn what really happened back in the 1960's over in Point Pleasant, West Virginia.

From zombies waving pick axes at the WV Book Festival to quadriplegic midget prostitutes, the King of Bizarro mayhem will either have you rolling on the floor peeing yourself laughing or getting really offended, depending on your sense of humor (or lack thereof).

Hellhole West Virginia is a comedy that draws its plot from several historical events: the Mothman Incident (Point Pleasant, WV), the Manson Murders (Charley is from WV), Hellhole Cave Environmental Issues (Riverton, WV), and others. Plus, there is even a cameo appearance by the author himself in Chapter 4!

Hellhole is not your typical read, but would we want it any other way? Enjoy!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Joseph Madia Jr. on July 20, 2012
Format: Paperback
There are lots of West Virginias. To some it's the redneck, backwards in-bred core of Appalachia. To others it is home to the powerhouse football and basketball teams of WVU (Go Mountaineers!), while, to legions of John Denver fans, it is "Almost Heaven," an outdoor mecca of whitewater rafting, biking, and hiking.
In the five years I've been here I've seen a little bit of all of these pictures of West Virginia, and many more. The frontier spirit is alive and well, as are lots of examples of innovation and the ongoing controversy over coal, natural gas, and "fracking." I've also noticed in my time here that West Virginia fascinates writers, whether natives or transplants like myself. Sooner or later, you just have to write about the place.
Rich Bottles Jr., a Pennsylvania native and "bizarro" author, is one of those whose fascination with all things West Virginia manifests prominently in his work. Like his novel Lumberjacked, Hellhole, West Virginia confluences fact and fiction, stereotype and the utterly unique in horrific and humorous ways.
His publisher, Burning Bulb, specializes in both Bizarro and West Virginia as a ripe setting for the horror and sex-filled tales their authors tell (I have previously reviewed the 50+ story collection called The Big Book of Bizarro that Bottles co-edited as well as Gary Lee Vincent's Darkened vampire trilogy). Hellhole is the perfect storm of these foci. On the back cover the publisher gives a tongue in cheek but perhaps necessary warning to the reader about the "graphic sex and gratuitous violence" in Hellhole.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Scott Emerson on January 16, 2012
Format: Paperback
Author Rich Bottles Jr. continues his brand of "humororrorotica" with his second novel HELLHOLE WEST VIRGINIA. Not content to simply focus on a single plot, Bottles offers several seemingly unrelated storylines before mashing them together in an over-the-top riot of Mountain State madness; in addition to vampiric eco-terrorists, you'll find cave-dwelling zombies, a seedy motel/tattoo parlor with unusual amenities, and the real story behind the Mothman.

HELLHOLE is a swift, entertaining read, with frequent detours into deviant sex and colored with raunchy, often unspeakable humor (there's a doctor's visit in this book that ranks as one of the most hilariously repellent scenes I've ever read). Fans of Richard Laymon or Edward Lee's backwoods tales will want to plan a trip to Hellhole.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
Ah, the sophomore novel from Mister Rich Bottles Jr. What can be said about it? Well, it's funny. But that's not the point; the point is this: Rich wrote what he wanted to write. This is the type of novel that isn't personal in the sense that it reveals things about the author (however the 4th-wall breaking 4th chapter does). No, this reveals what the author likes, as far as fiction(and friction, if you know what I mean) is concerned. For instance, it takes place in WV(the author's home), features the Mothman(a WV-based cryptid), and showcases a sarcastic, gruff, working-man's sarcastic sense of non-pc humour that is sadly lacking in mainstream media. Yes, this is a novel that Rich wrote FOR HIS-OWNSELF, and it shows. Now, review-reader, let me ask you a question about this topic: Aren't the best novels written without people "other" than the author in mind? For example: Catcher in the Rye, any Lansdale novel, Park Masters by Zakary McGaha. The list goes on and on. Case in point: there's only 1 Rich Bottles Jr. And he only has one 2nd novel. You should read it, along with his 3rd. And 1st.
Review by Zakary McGaha, author of A Rock Band Named Steve.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Hellhole West Virginia
This item: Hellhole West Virginia
Price: $8.99
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com