Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "HILARIOUS,CLEVER, ENJOYABLE!"
Craig Brown delivers 101 fascinating, true encounters between the rich and famous as he portrays the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth. This perfect summer read is awesome to bring to the beach, or for any leisure time. This collection of true tales is strange, interesting, and witty. Some encounters are simply laugh-out-loud fun. Delightful, and...
Published on August 7, 2012 by Geraldine Ahearn

versus
41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute, but one gimmick too many
Hello Goodbye Hello has a fine concept: 101 daisy-chained encounters between the great, the good, the bad and the somewhere-in-between. But for some reason Craig Brown decided this wasn't enough of a gimmick. So on top of that, each of the 101 encounters is 1001 words long. This conceit hurts the book. The writing is weirdly choppy, with callbacks to names that have...
Published on September 24, 2012 by Hubcap


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute, but one gimmick too many, September 24, 2012
By 
Hubcap (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hello Goodbye Hello: A Circle of 101 Remarkable Meetings (Hardcover)
Hello Goodbye Hello has a fine concept: 101 daisy-chained encounters between the great, the good, the bad and the somewhere-in-between. But for some reason Craig Brown decided this wasn't enough of a gimmick. So on top of that, each of the 101 encounters is 1001 words long. This conceit hurts the book. The writing is weirdly choppy, with callbacks to names that have never actually been mentioned; the same snippet being included in both the body of the text and the footnotes; a strange jumpiness between paragraphs; and other visible scars from the editing process. On top of that, not all of these encounters are equally interesting. But because of the gimmick, they are treated as though they are.

A book like this should be an exercise in style. His fixation on 101x1001 crippled his style, knocked the book out of rhythm and in the end made me wish it had ended about 80 pages before it actually did. Which is not really what I'm looking for in light entertainment. When the gimmick hurts the writing, you need to drop the gimmick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "HILARIOUS,CLEVER, ENJOYABLE!", August 7, 2012
This review is from: Hello Goodbye Hello: A Circle of 101 Remarkable Meetings (Hardcover)
Craig Brown delivers 101 fascinating, true encounters between the rich and famous as he portrays the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth. This perfect summer read is awesome to bring to the beach, or for any leisure time. This collection of true tales is strange, interesting, and witty. Some encounters are simply laugh-out-loud fun. Delightful, and entertaining from beginning to end. Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has its moments, August 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hello Goodbye Hello: A Circle of 101 Remarkable Meetings (Hardcover)
Hello Goodbye Hello has moments of wonderful, visually-rich description and is generally enjoyable. Very Brit-twit-centric, as you'd expect, and not particularly well-written but Mr Brown has a great eye for hilarious detail from the apparently inexhaustible well of bad public figure behavior. I will always treasure the image of GB Shaw crashing his bicycle into Betrand Russell, then somehow managing to pop up to jeer at Russell at every station as Russell returns by train, his bicycle too wrecked to ride home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "All my life's a circle ... same for famous people", October 23, 2012
This review is from: Hello Goodbye Hello: A Circle of 101 Remarkable Meetings (Hardcover)
What was the first (or most significant) meeting between two famous people like? Who else DID they meet? Craig Brown explores this with "Hello Goodbye Hello" - bring us in a wide circle with 101 meetings between 101 famous people, each meeting and each new person acting as a bridge to the next tale stretching in time from 1876 to 2006.

Who is the "1st / only degree of separation" between Adolph Hitler and Rudyard Kipling? What happened during the meeting between Dali and Freud? Or between Houdini and Theodore Roosevelt? What was George Bernard Shaw's first impression of Harpo Marx?

The book's 101 short (1001 words each, 3 to 4 pages depending on footnotes) stories allow for a series of quick reads; you can put the book down and pick it back up without losing your (or the author's) chain of thought. There is an emphasis on British personalities - which is to be expected given the author's heritage - BUT a prefix for American audiences provides an introduction to many of those who may or may not be familiar on this side of the Atlantic.

Definitely an interesting way to devote a little time each day. Or a LOT of time each day ...

DISCLOSURE: I was provided my copy of this book free of charge in a contest. The hope was that I would enjoy it and post a good review; the request was simply to read it and write a review; however, no guarantees were made on my part other than to grant permission for the postman to leave a copy in my mailbox.(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Questionably Appealing To A Modern Audience, September 29, 2012
This review is from: Hello Goodbye Hello: A Circle of 101 Remarkable Meetings (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this book for the most part. This collection of encounters between the famous at times is extremely humorous such as when George Bernard Shaw enthusiastically harasses Bertrand Russell. However, it did make me wonder if a contemporary audience would be familiar with Shaw, Russell, Gurdjieff, or the Duchess of Windsor just for starters. I was aware of whom most of the celebrities he discussed were, but I drew blanks when it came to the author of Mary Poppins. I swear I felt like Bambi staring at a pair of headlights when I encountered the lady's name and waited a paragraph or two to find out who the woman of mystery was. I'm not sure that a lot of people would be interested in reading stories about anonymous celebrities or even people they were familiar with but not necessarily intrigued by. That said, the stories imparted are interesting and at times funny and appealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anecdotal, interesting, fascinating, revealing, April 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hello Goodbye Hello: A Circle of 101 Remarkable Meetings (Hardcover)
It's a small world — sometimes, almost too small. Which Marx brother drove Rachmaninoff out of his bungalow? Who was sunning naked when he encountered the famous Irish writer — but wait, I've written too much. You get it all: Mich, Tolstoy, Stalin, Harpo Marx, Queen Elizabeth II, Madonna, Elizabeth Taylor... Small, bite-sized vignettes are easy to absorb, quick to read and rather compelling. And really, who doesn't want to know what Richard Burton did in the presence of the Duke of Windsor?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing at first but it grows tiresome., March 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hello Goodbye Hello: A Circle of 101 Remarkable Meetings (Hardcover)
I first heard about this book on NPR. As the title of this review states, it is funny and amusing at first to read about some of these chance meetings between different personalities. However a lot of them are hit and miss. The ones that "hit" are a good read but the "misses" are dull and barely warrant inclusion. I would recommend picking it up if this your kind of thing but get it cheap like I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Random, Unexpected Meetings of Celebrities, January 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hello Goodbye Hello: A Circle of 101 Remarkable Meetings (Hardcover)
The format is great with an exact length for each item. Some of the people were of greater interest to me than others. But there is something for everyone. From Queen Elizabeth to Marilyn Monroe with Truman Capote thrown in it keeps the reader wondering where it will go next. And...it makes it easy to skip to the next item is desired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was so enjoying this book, I was brought up short when it ended, January 28, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is pure fun: informative, entertaining and gossipy. Some readers think the author's self-imposed rules-- 101 encounters that are each 1001 words long-- hurt the book. I don't agree. After all, Mr Brown includes long, gossipy footnotes that make the essays longer than the stated 1001 words. Reading this book is like attending a multi-generational cocktail party with a fabulous tasting menu. I always think that any successful biographical work should tempt one to read more about a person or learn about his or her work. From my perspective this book succeeds beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great fun, even if, January 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
...you're not entirely sure who everyone is!

A quick, fun read of various celeb encounters, but be warned that celebrity means more "famous dead poet" than MADONNA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hello Goodbye Hello: A Circle of 101 Remarkable Meetings
Hello Goodbye Hello: A Circle of 101 Remarkable Meetings by Craig Brown (Hardcover - August 7, 2012)
$26.95 $18.37
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.