Customer Reviews


457 Reviews
5 star:
 (290)
4 star:
 (70)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They will never top this. Ever.
Pubescents the world over inwardly heard peals of heavenly music in 1986, for delivered into their laps was a raunchy rap album seemingly produced by the heavens themselves. "License to Ill," a toxic blend of rap, rock, and sampling, was thrown together by three guys who were barely post-pubescents themselves. It was loud, rambunctious, and ingeniously...
Published on July 15, 1998 by Paul Primrose

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Say Hello To A Good Album
After so many years in activity, the Beastie Boys are still able to deliver a solid and ungaging record, offering another mix of styles and ideas.
"Hello Nasty" is long and diverse, proving that the Boys remain witty, original and interesting. This is a rich, multi-layered listening experience, a tight and consistent record with some true gems even if the filler...
Published on February 16, 2004 by gonn1000


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They will never top this. Ever., July 15, 1998
This review is from: Hello Nasty (Audio CD)
Pubescents the world over inwardly heard peals of heavenly music in 1986, for delivered into their laps was a raunchy rap album seemingly produced by the heavens themselves. "License to Ill," a toxic blend of rap, rock, and sampling, was thrown together by three guys who were barely post-pubescents themselves. It was loud, rambunctious, and ingeniously accessible.
12 years, three studio albums, and an innumerable number of concerts later, the Beastie Boys have released what is quite likely thier finest album. Although they evolved beyond beer-swilling misogyny long ago, they haven't forgotten their sonic roots: "Hello Nasty" contains echos of the bass-n-beats style they brought to the masses. The odious punk blitzes and trippy musical meanderings of "Ill Communication" are conspicuously absent here, save a track or two. Also absent is the lyrical preaching; at one point MCA says you'll never see him in a commercial, but for the most part ! ! "Hello Nasty" is the Beastie Boys doing what they've always done best: talking about how great they are, waxing about world peace, and inserting nifty samples (courtesy of turntable phenom Mix Master Mike) into the mix. Think "Paul's Boutique" with a little "Check Your Head" thrown in for good measure.
"Hello Nasty" is 22 tracks' worth of great rap peppered by the occasional aural experiment. The Beasties have simply and effectively nullified the hype surrounding this album in one fell swoop; it is simultaneously behind and beyond all critical expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hello Nasty & Extra Tracks, April 23, 2000
By 
Derry Brown (Auckland New Zealand) - See all my reviews
The albumb Hello Nasty is Excellent I highly recommend it. I am not sure but I assume the extra tracks are the ones of the tour edition. I have a copy of "Tour Edition - Australia and New Zealand"; it is not in what I would call a box but a cardboard case like their instrumental album. It folds out into 5 double sided' squares with elaborate artwork to match the theme of the front cover. The Hello Nasty cd is the same but in edition to this there is a blue bonus disc containing four extra songs. 1- Hail Sagan (Special K), 2- Body Movin' (Fatboy Slim Remix), 3- Intergalactic (Prisoners Of Technology Remix), 4-Peanut & Butter & Jelly. All are excellent songs as you would expect from these scientists of sound. I would only recommend this special edition album to extreme fans who like me are on a quest to collect all of their CDs and LPs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In my opinion, one of the best albums ever recorded., June 22, 2000
This review is from: Hello Nasty (Audio CD)
While I have always liked the Beastie Boys I was never what you would call a rabid fan. I only owned one other album when I bought Hello Nasty and all I was expecting was something kind of fun for the morning drive or weekend road trip. This is one of those albums that I love more and more with each successive listening. It's so mercurial in its mix of styles, from one song to the next only the humor, wit and infectious rhythm and beat seem to be the common threads. The seemless blending of rap, techno and old-school funk makes this album energetic with a playful feel. I can see myself still listening to this regularly 10 years from now and honestly think that it is one of the best albums ever recorded. It's not often that I find a CD where I love every single track, but I have to look no further than Hello Nasty for that now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand wok of flavors, September 25, 2003
This review is from: Hello Nasty (Audio CD)
22 tracks, 67 minutes of pure eclectic genius. On-the-spot rapping, wacky but wonderful collaborations, excellent music: this album is one of the best of the 90s for me. Every listen is a great trip into another galaxy of fun sounds and thoughtful lyrics. It's a long way from the misogyny of "Licensed to Ill" but this album is well worth the time. Rap, bossa nova, old skool hip-hop, jazz, rock: they all come together for this huge party. Dance along!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kick off your shoes and relax your socks!, September 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hello Nasty (Audio CD)
I can't add much more to the previous reviewers' glowing accolades for this phenomenal album. However, for all of you who wonder whether this reissued and remastered dual-disc version is worth the cash, let me assure you that IT ABSOLUTELY IS! This is by far the best of the recent re-releases from the Beastie Boys--from the remixes to new songs and all the tracks spanning both discs, you will not be disappointed. (Furthermore, for all of my fellow vinyl lovers, there are both standard and special edition LP sets as well, and ordering them through the BBoys' site gets you a digital download of all of these killer tracks.)

"The sound of the music drivin' you insane / You can't explain to people this type of mind frame..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner, October 27, 2000
By 
"littleoldme" (Fort Collins, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hello Nasty (Audio CD)
You really have to respect the Beastie Boys. Since 1986, they've been releasing music that explores ground from whiny rap-rock to Dr. Seuss cut-and-paste insanity to jam-band-that-raps, and now to the old-school yet very new-school sound of "Hello Nasty". They've also kept the quality remarkably high; "Hello Nasty" is either the Beastie's second-best or third-best album (behind "Paul's Boutique" and possibly "Check Your Head"). The rap tracks are consistently great, with highlights like "Super Disco Breakin'", "The Move", "Three MCs and One DJ", "Unite", and the monster crossover singles "Intergalactic" and "Body Movin'". They even find time to travel into the worlds of techno ("And Me"), dub ("Dr. Lee, PhD"), and acoustic guitar songs ("I Don't Know"). It's always nice to see people continue to experiment, and it's even nicer to see the experiments succeed so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I AM THE BEASTIE BOYS' #1 FAN!!!!!!!!!, March 21, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Hello Nasty (Audio CD)
I purchased this CD awhile ago and was impressed with it. I have ALWAYS loved the bboys and always will. They have lasted all this time and never let us down with sh@#ty music. So let me get something straight then: why are there people on this review giving them one star? These guys are incredible! They totally got it going on! There music is funky and groovy and makes me want to dance and laugh at the same time. To the dallas texas cowboy who is dissing: what are you smoking? Get a life. You obviously don't know the difference between "good" and "bad" music. And the person from los angeles who said JUVENILE was good quality rap, pleazzzzzzzze! are you kidding me!!?? the beastie boys are a lot more than someone hopping around saying "ha" all the time! the dude sounds like he's constipated or something. What is wrong with this country? People, get the message: this is a wonderful cd and you must go and get it. Don't believe the hype
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Beasite Boys FLAAAAVA, February 9, 2007
By 
Dan McKinnon (Tewksbury, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hello Nasty (Audio CD)
'Hello Nasty' by the Beastie Boys is one of their best offerings ever put down. With this album the Beasties felt like they were as solid as they ever were and you could just get the general feel that they really enjoyed making this album. Even the commercially friendly tracks such as 'Intergalactic' and 'Body Movin' could be enjoyed by the alternative masses, and there are plenty of other tracks here ~20 in total with all sorts of different styles that many a fans will appreciate the smooth sounds coming out of their speakers.

If you like Rap and/or alternative hip-hop you owe it to yourself to pick up 'Hello Nasty' and enjoy one of the most unique bands in the genre.

***** HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, October 7, 2005
This review is from: Hello Nasty (Audio CD)
Personally this is my least favorite B Boys album. Thats not a bad thing seeing how I have all of them and the Beasties are my favorite of all time. I still listen to Hello Nasty all the time but there are a few problems. Some of the songs I just can't get into. But some songs are great. Overall, this is a good album, and I would recommend it. If you're a big B Boys fan and are expecting another Check Your Head or Ill Communication, you may be slightly disappointed.

Best songs:

Intergalactic

3 MCs and 1 DJ

Grasshopper Unit

Putting Shame In Your Game

Electrify
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Way To Go Out, August 12, 2003
This review is from: Hello Nasty (Audio CD)
Length - 67:18
Unlike my other favorite hip-hop act of the 90s, ATCQ, The Beastie Boys' final studio album wasn't an irritated blend of forced comradery and halfhearted rhymes, it was real, like everything else they stuck their hands in. The rhymes on Hello Nasty might be slightly less colorful than on previous BBoy records, but the beats are ridiculously good. Super Disco Breakin', The Grasshopper Unit, Unite, Remote Control, they're all so ebullient and catchy, making this album an irresistibly fun and enjoyable listen. There are also a number of laid-back, mostly instrumental tracks as well, tinged gently with fey female vocals. Check Song for Junior and Picture This for those tracks. And the lovely ballad, I Don't Know, is one of the nicest songs I've ever heard by The Boys. It's sad to see such an amazing group end their illustrious careers, but at least they did it in their usual awesome, extraordinary fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hello Nasty
Hello Nasty by Beastie Boys (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.