Kindle Price: $2.99

Save $12.00 (80%)

Read this title for free. Learn more

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Get the Free Kindle App

Enter email or phone number to get a link

Processing your request...

Hell's Super: Circles in Hell, Book One Kindle Edition

54 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$2.99

Length: 309 pages Matchbook Price: $0.99 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Product Details

  • File Size: 688 KB
  • Print Length: 309 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Perdition Press; 1 edition (June 17, 2014)
  • Publication Date: June 17, 2014
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00L3EKY3U
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #18,598 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Mark Cain is a writer and musician living in the Austin, Texas area. His satire, HELL'S SUPER, was published first in 2013 and then reissued in 2014. It is available as a Kindle eBook. HELL'S SUPER is volume one of a new series, CIRCLES IN HELL. Volume two, A COLD DAY IN HELL, has just been published.

Volume three, DEAL WITH THE DEVIL, will follow in the fall, with the final volume in the series, THE RELUCTANT DEMON, a few months after that.

HELL'S SUPER has been variously described as satire, comedy and comic fantasy in the spirit of Christopher Moore, Tom Holt, Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett, with a little of Gary Larson's Far Side thrown in. The entire CIRCLES IN HELL series, including A COLD DAY IN HELL, takes the everyday frustrations of modern life and expands them to Hellish proportions. You never know who you will run into in Cain's cracked Inferno. You might encounter a great inventor, a movie star and, of course, more than the occasional devil and demon.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful By T. Hall on October 10, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
One of the funniest books I've read in any genre, by any author. Somewhat reminiscent of Mark Twain twisted with Gary Larson, Cain's satirical approach to the subject of Hell is sharp, witty and has no limits. Anybody and everything can be and may be a target of Cain's delicious, irreverent sense of humor.

How anyone can take duct tape, a broken elevator and a Super with the ever present knowledge that nothing can ever be fixed because ... well ... it is Hell and to fix something would make it right ... which can't happen ... in Hell ... I laughed and laughed.

Cain's knowledge of high tech and theology make the road through hell smooth and untroubled by annoying things might cause experts in either to be distracted. No distractions here; and no mistakes. It's perfect entertainment and I would have paid a lot more for joy of the hours spent with this book! At $2.99, this book is practically a give away.

Mark Cain: I want a BOOH! Thanks for writing this. Can only say, I await your next work eagerly!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful By LITTLE RED on October 12, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
I was fortunate enough to read a copy of this many, many months ago, so when I saw that it was published I One-clicked my way to a happy place and read it again.

Mark Cain is an exceptionally funny writer, whose characeters stole my heart. Sure they are in hell, and are bad, but he writes them all with such captivation that I couldn't help but love them. I think that shows true talent.
Not only did he have the skill to make me like even the baddest of characetrs--erm hello, Satan anyone! But he did it with hilarious finesse, that had me laughing out loud.

Every scene is so well thought out, with well-placed giggles along the journey of a brilliantly witty storyline. If you reaad Terry Pratchet and like world-building, books that create a bubble of laughter that you can't hold inside, and clever characters then you should read this.

I can't wait for book two!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Adam Oster on October 7, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Hell's finally funny!

In Mark Cain's novel about Hell's handyman, we quickly learn that the Devil has an amazing sense of humor. Unfortunately that element of Satan's personality is lost on most of the characters in this book.

Given the power to duct tape things incredibly well, Steve is set up as the guy who fixes everything that breaks in Hell. Considering the fact that everything does, in fact, break in hell, he's got quite the job on his hands. His ever-present sidekick, the infamous Orson Welles, is no help either.

Cain's novel runs the gamut of comedic elements, from literal pies in faces, to subtle puns, to the constant sarcasm of the protagonist, to Satan's ironic punishments for all who are brought to his realm. Somehow Cain manages to put all these pieces together into a whole that will keep you laughing and wanting more.

And when Hell does finally break loose, we're all left to wonder if Steve will have enough duct tape to fix it this time.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Jessee J. on December 8, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
Take a moment to envision Hell. Odds are, if you're the product of a Judeo-Christian upbringing, you're picturing a nasty subterranean scene with lots of reeking brimstone, plenty of fire, and an assortment of demons wielding pokey instruments, grinning as they prod the helpless damned.

This is different. Sure, there's a little brimstone and a demon or two, but it's a more subtle take on Hell. What if Hell were a Monday...just the worst Monday you've ever had, going on ad infinitum? It's a Hell in which the eternal torture is just that nothing goes well for you. Ever. And the coffee sucks.

While that sounds like it might make for dreary reading, nothing could be further from the pleasure of reading Hell's Super. It's funny right from the get-go, and the story progresses so briskly that you'll find you don't want to stop at the end of a chapter. Steve Minion (yes, he's really a Minion) and the other characters are believable, and likable - you'll find yourself growing quite fond of a giant demonic bat. Hell is populated with quite a few folks you wouldn't expect to see there: Orson Welles, Thomas Edison, and Florence Nightingale, to name a few. The author resists the temptation to write people into Hell that you'd rather like to see there (say, Hitler or bin Laden), and I think that's an excellent choice, as that would have added too much darkness to the light and breezy comedy.

Cain's writing style and sense of humor will appeal to fans of Terry Pratchett and Christopher Moore, and there's a hint of Douglas Adams-like irony as well, but the overall story is fresh and original, and the ending will leave you looking forward to the sequel, and to more stories from this talented author.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful By digsblues TOP 500 REVIEWER on July 8, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is a fun book for anyone who likes satire and social commentary. It's been one of my favorite beach reads this summer. You'll laugh your head off, and some will relate to being in that kind of hell.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By J. Pennock on October 10, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I'm enjoying the spit out of this story. I'm only about 30% in but it's so much fun! Steve is an Economic's prof serving as the superintendent of Hell, with "the" Orson Welles as his assistant.

The story is very imaginative and the cameos are a lot of fun. For something usually presented so terrifyingly, the tone is light and very humorous.

And I want my own BOOH, post haste!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in