Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hanging on the telephone
"Help Me Eros" ("Bang bang wo ai shen") is a sensual, not a sexual movie. Exquisitely filmed, there is never a scene of naked flesh that is not adorned with a pattern cast shadows, never a cafe scene that is not a perfectly planned and posed, rich in color and design. Director Lee Kang-Sheng knows how to paint a picture with his camera, and he doesn't waste an inch of...
Published on August 13, 2008 by Zack Davisson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreakingly Tragic
I'm very surprised with what I saw, after all the reviews from others here- this was such a tragic film...

A very heavy drama of loss and despair set in contemporary Taiwan's underbelly, it manages to convey a forlorn sense of hopeless beauty through all it's darkness. It's not a film for the average American viewer- I'm amazed it's even here on Amazon...
Published 17 months ago by Tick Chick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hanging on the telephone, August 13, 2008
This review is from: Help Me Eros (DVD)
"Help Me Eros" ("Bang bang wo ai shen") is a sensual, not a sexual movie. Exquisitely filmed, there is never a scene of naked flesh that is not adorned with a pattern cast shadows, never a cafe scene that is not a perfectly planned and posed, rich in color and design. Director Lee Kang-Sheng knows how to paint a picture with his camera, and he doesn't waste an inch of film without packing it full of visual pleasure.

Story. Oh yes, there is a story. Ah Jie (again the director, Lee Kang-Sheng, who also stars in the film) is a down on his luck business man who has lost everything in the stock market and now is reduced to selling his household goods in order to maintain his lifestyle, which includes lots and lots of pot. Despondent, he calls a suicide hotline and speaks to Chyi, a girl with a beautiful voice who lures him back from the edge, but refuses to meet him. He then meets a Betle Nut girl named Shin, whose provides the visual reference needed for his fantasies of Chyi, and he pursues her. From there things begin to spiral downwards, as Ah Jie becomes lost in a sensual world of fantasy and pleasure, seeking Chyi but dragging Shin into a sensual world where pot is exchanged for sex from a variety of prostitutes, and the internet provides the faceless vehicle for communication.

In a way, this is a pretentious art flick. Imagine an acrobatic threesome carried out to the background music of Buddhist chanting. But somehow the ennui works, mainly through the director's skillful eye and his ability to sell all of these scenes with a straight face. As another nod to the director's talent, for all of its gymnastic sex scenes "Help Me Eros" is a film almost entirely without nudity, as he manages to skirt the censors and create with pure mood what he cannot create with expliciticity. The girls are pretty, and wear next to nothing, but there is definitely a boundry of what you get to see, and the tease makes you want to see it all the more.

Much of this film is pure Taiwan, including the Betle Nut girls who attract customers by wearing skimpy clothing and yet selling nothing more than nuts and an occasional glimpse. There is a dry humor here as well, the kind found in a city lacking nationality and identity, where people seek their pleasures where they may, and live what life they have to live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreakingly Tragic, February 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Help Me, Eros (Amazon Instant Video)
I'm very surprised with what I saw, after all the reviews from others here- this was such a tragic film...

A very heavy drama of loss and despair set in contemporary Taiwan's underbelly, it manages to convey a forlorn sense of hopeless beauty through all it's darkness. It's not a film for the average American viewer- I'm amazed it's even here on Amazon.

Haunting; I don't regret seeing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not very good, November 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Help Me, Eros (Amazon Instant Video)
Not very good. I was expecting something meaningful. This movie was all sex and none of it made any sense. No one spoke during the movie. Very strange. I think it was another movie to exploit women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bait and Switch - Dreary and Depressing., July 5, 2014
By 
Robert W. Grandcolas "Stiggs" (Eatontown, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Help Me, Eros (Amazon Instant Video)
This non-review is a warning to anyone interested in what appears (judging by the cover art and title on Amazon) to be a funny or fun, Asian Anima-style film that is using real people in place of cartoon characters. The cover art in other places (outside of Amazon) is more representative of the film.

Those interested in a normal review - please don't read this -I'm writing about a film that I could not get through.

BUT - I did get through the first 15 minutes! The first 15 minutes sets the stage. Here's the synapses of the first 15 minutes of the film.

You have an ugly dude doing something to himself in a truck cab. We don't need to mention what that is, now do we?

This scene is then followed by watching a depressed stoner watching TV while hugging a leather pillow.

This scene is then followed by watching an Asian cheff prepare or should I say torture a fish. The Fish is being prepared to be eaten alive. (This may be considered a delicacy in some countries but I consider it a horrendously, cruel act. I don't give a crap about it being cultural. Animal cruelty is animal cruelty regardless, even if it's a fish. I was both p-----d off and wanted to cry. And I'm not with PETA!)

This scene is followed by more depressing images of depressed looking people sitting around and watching TVs in what looks like a cafeteria or an unemployment office. (you can't use the word depressing enough here).

Then some sad verbal exchanges between various degrees of desperate losers trying to make, ah-hm, deals with street-venders dressed like the one in the cover art. These wretched people are trying to get favors from these forlorn girls for a price. This is sad and not at all sexy.

The photography? You'll know it when you see it. Artsy. The soft, color-rich, almost translucent kind that takes place mostly at night under florescent lighting.

In the first ten minutes I was so put off I knew I could not put myself though this hodgepodge of demoralizing images for another 90 minutes and then spend another two days trying to work myself out of the funk this movie would put me into.

Just to be fair I fast-forwarded the film and watched a few scenes here and there to see if it was going to get any better. I can pretty much say it doesn't get any better. There was one or two short, bizarre, stupid looking sex scenes that resembled something like human centipede. (If you're into that type of thing.) But pretty much stays the same. The same look and mood the entire way through - morose, hopeless and dreary. I don't imagine there is a milli-second of humor, joy, hope or fun in the entire film.

My whole point in writing this non-review is so that other like-minded folks don't get fooled by the cover art and title for this Amazon bait and switch deal. In all fairness - this bait and switch probably has nothing to do with Amazon.

The film is not represented at all by the pretty, anima-like girl in the cover art. This film is exactly what you'd expect a very depressing ultra-artsy-farty foreign film to be like.

Help Me Eros isn't like an Ingmar Bergmann art film either, whose film's I actually like, have amazing photography, and mean something.

I suppose there is an audience for Help Me Eros. Folks who will tout its daring-ness, realism or style. Please - my review is not for you!

So...here is some great advice from me. If you still think you're interested in buying or renting Help Me Eros. Look up Help Me Eros on Wikipedia and read the plot. Wikipedia has an excellent synapses of the film, If you like what Wikipedia describes, well, don't listen to me. Watch away and enjoy.

Note - I hate giving a film zero stars but this film is not what it appear to be and then there were animal-torture scenes. From what I understand the fish torture scene is played twice. From what I read there is another ugly scene involving a dead baby bird dropped into boiling oil. I did not need to seek out these scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting to say the least., April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Help Me, Eros (Amazon Instant Video)
It's such an art house type of movie. Something I would see at a film festival....in fact I think it was shown at a film festivial here where I live. Later when I found out the main male character was also the director, I kind of questioned his motives for making the movie other than trying to tell a story.....I mean the sex scenes were pretty gratuitous in my opinion, but I can "see" how it can be artful. Who knows....maybe I missed a lot of the messages being conveyed, but I must say the cinematography is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rawr and wow, September 13, 2008
This review is from: Help Me Eros (DVD)
visual magic! it may drag to some, and you might not understand it right away, but when you do... wow!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Foreign Film, December 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Help Me, Eros (Amazon Instant Video)
and I mean foreign. It was very interesting and certainly provided some unusual entertainment, but it was one of those films where the customs of the characters are so remote from our experience as westerners that it is hard to figure out what is going on. Here is an example: betel nut girls. Who knew? or eels...in the bathtub? BTW, it really isn't erotic. In fact the nudity is confined to brief glimpses and a couple of derrieres, so if your looking for that kind of fare, look elsewhere; unless you dig eels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky-kinky-romance..., March 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Help Me, Eros (Amazon Instant Video)
This is a quirky slightly kinky romance, with a lot of gritty glimpses of eeryday life on city streets in Taiwan.
A very entertaining movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bangbang wo Aishen, June 6, 2008
This review is from: Help Me Eros (DVD)
Anyone familiar with the Taiwan New Cinema movement of the past 20 years, or comparatively the films of Iranian filmmaker Abbas Kiarostami (TASTE OF CHERRY), or even select works of Michaelangelo Antonioni (L'AVVENTURA), will be better apprised of how to palate Lee Kang-Sheng's sophomore effort, HELP ME EROS (2008), with it's long uninterrupted shots (30sec-5min), navigation of peculiar but banal human experience, dire scarcity of dialogue, metered accumulation-based narrative arches, and social commentary mostly devoid of irony (reminiscent of Italian Neorealism). The addition of EROS's more abhorrent sexual leanings seats it on the mantle of recent permutations of the Taiwan filmic movement (THE WAYWARD CLOUD, I DONT WANT TO SLEEP ALONE) that delve into the marginalized mire of modernity, and makes it very much of the modern generational context, a new floating socio-political context that garners old wounds. Those new to such labored undistracted tenets of filmmaking may be affronted by the patience required, but their design is such that each moment is held extensively and deliberately so that every detail within it can become accessible to the viewer, burgeoning an experiential and dimensional understanding almost by force.

HELP ME EROS is an ambitious and unrelentingly beautiful film, that is also unfortunately at odds with itself, suspended somewhere between prose and grit but uncomfortable in such tonal ambiguity. EROS unfolds in a world of too little or too much gravity; a stagnant orbit of emotionally starved semi-dimensional characters, fluorescent light, sexual escapism, and commerce, suffering incongruity alongside boldness and brilliance. While writer/director Lee Kang-Sheng mostly overstates his existential meanings with non-diegetic songs that spell out woes like a bludgeon, and falls short in terms of blending his content and aesthetics as a whole, he does succeed marvelously within visual moments, of which there is no shortage. It is these moments of perfectly framed peculiarity, poignancy, comedy, and loneliness in collage, rather than blending, that buoy HELP ME EROS to success. Lee Kang-Sheng's visual language is his strongest asset, with notable thanks to Tsai Ming-Liang as production designer, and helps to enhance if not mask what is otherwise a rather conventional narrative arch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Help Me, Eros, December 31, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Help Me, Eros (Amazon Instant Video)
This movie is 90 minutes of boring, pornographic nihilism pretending to be something more. Keep moving, folks. Nothing to see here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Help Me, Eros
Help Me, Eros by Kang-sheng Lee
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.