Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you will LOVE this book!!!! hilarious, beautiful-- perfect for ANY dog lover, young or old :)
This is an absolutely wonderful book!!!!

A hilarious guide for dogs facing a host of common problems: humans who want them to go on doggy diets, humans who think dog costumes are a good idea, humans who think dogs should sleep on the floor, etc.!

So funny, and so very beautifully illustrated! I really appreciate children's book illustration, and...
Published on April 13, 2008 by N. Robinson

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Art
Wonderful art, great story idea, but the angry cat became more prevalent in the story as it went on and changes the upbeat tone of the book to one a little more...what? A story noir? I would love it with far less cat, but then I am a dog person. We purchased the book and plan to donate it to a library as we have no children at home. Absolutely LOVE Mr. Mutt...
Published on September 26, 2011 by Annette Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you will LOVE this book!!!! hilarious, beautiful-- perfect for ANY dog lover, young or old :), April 13, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an absolutely wonderful book!!!!

A hilarious guide for dogs facing a host of common problems: humans who want them to go on doggy diets, humans who think dog costumes are a good idea, humans who think dogs should sleep on the floor, etc.!

So funny, and so very beautifully illustrated! I really appreciate children's book illustration, and this book sets the very highest standard for art and humor.

This would be a wonderful gift for any adult or child who loves a dog.

Twenty thumbs up!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CALLING ALL DOGS, April 5, 2008
By 
It all starts with a weener dog on a forced diet; she's writing to Mr. Mutt to ask if she looks fat. Mr. Mutt's answer is, "Of course not!" He also recommends the doggie food pyramid which of course has no place in it for dry dog food. Because Mr. Mutt is a nationally known authority on interspecies understanding, he launches his canine counseling business as a way to help other dogs with people problems, writing out of his home in Dogwood, Delaware. He suggests ways small dogs using teamwork can obtain a wider diet option from atop the counters, and helpfully shares tips on how to encourage the baby to yield up extra treats. This book sounds like my dogs wrote it! The Cat (aka Her Majesty) interjects a note of her own after each reply from Mr. Mutt. Another dog seeks a way to fulfill his cravings for more Frisbee, less television from his people. A basset hound writes to complain about being dressed up by the kids, and Mr. Mutt advises three options (rip-and-run, play dead, grin and bear it) including how to get the kids to dress up the cat instead. Then a letter from a barker who is chastised for noisiness. Mr. Mutt's response includes illustrations of the human and dog brain (guess which is bigger) and other sound advice. A desperate note from a stinky cowdog, a few more repartees from the cat, and next thing you know Mr. Mutt is all tied up. Queenie the Cat takes over the advice column, and 101 woofers have to storm the house, come to Mr. Mutt's rescue, and get that pesky feline out of the picture. The Stevens team (mother-daughter) has captured the funniest expressions on the doggy faces, and insured that Mr. Mutt is destined for fame. Coincidentally , in the Salem Statesman Journal there is a weekly column written--allegedly--by a Rottie and a Poodle! This book would be a great start to a unit on advice columns and newspaper features for upper graders who could write their own Dear Abby and Dear Heloise columns from the dogged-point-of-view (imagine Walter the Farting Dog doing an etiquette column?) It would be fun to use with students in all grades because the various charts and graphs developed by Mr. Mutt lead students into basic math skills lessons; use it as a basis for a unit on letter writing, or nutrition, or geography (all the letters are postmarked). For the younger kids, the back cover includes a list of "hidden pictures" to find in the book, including tennis balls, actual dog hair, pink bunny years and lots and lots of dogs. What a fun book! This gets my WOOF WOOF WOOFER AWARD for funny, and is likely to be in high demand in every school and library family lucky enough to own it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound Parenting Advice--If You're a Dog, March 30, 2008
By 
Craig Case (Oklahoma City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First of all, it shouldn't be Mr. Mutt; it should be DR. MUTT because what we have here is sound parenting advice for dogs stuck in a world of clueless humans and arrogant cats. Following the good Dr.'s advice, dogs of all breeds can make their lives infinitely more enjoyable. Here we learn about various means of "obtaining" people food which is much tastier than the bagged styrofoam that dogs are forced to consume. We also learn about the mulitple uses for the toilet--not only as a source of liquid refreshment but also as a dunk tank for kitties. Caution to cats: you don't want to look at this. I would suggest that you find your own book--you don't fare too well here.
This will be one of the 10 funniest books I'll see this year (and it's only March). It's an absolute joy. 5 Stars each for the authors and 5 more for the book--that's 15 stars and they've earned every one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A PERFECT BOOK!!!, August 30, 2010
This book has provided sheer entertainment to my K-7th graders - and on several levels, too! Every time I've read it (with mesmerized children), it has received applause! And their teachers LOVE it, too! Afterwards, all the children were excited to learn or practice letter writing, using the lined and printed stationery I offered them. And most said they planned to create some fun graphs and charts, like the ones in this amazing book. Ms. Crummel's "Teacher's Tips" on her website are really wonderful. YOU MUST ADD THIS UTTERLY CHARMING BOOK TO YOUR COLLECTION!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book for Teaching Author's Point of View!, October 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am an elementary teacher and love this book for the classroom when it comes to teaching the reading skill "Author's Point of View." Kids love the story and the conflict going on between the dog and the cat. Cute illustrations, too! Students can write about what their dog (or a dog they know) might think about the "people world" as a great follow-up writing activity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVORITES, October 4, 2013
I have to tell you that each time I read this delightful book I have a smile on my face from the first page to the last. I also must admit to quite a few chuckles thrown in here and there.

Mr. Mutt writes an advice column for dogs. Other dogs from around the country send him their problems and Mr. Mutt deals out advice which is sound (if you are a dog), workable (if you are a dog) and extremely insightful if you are a dog wanting to know more of humans and (Blah!) cats!

Mr. Mutt deals out advice on eating (how to get the best stuff in the house), wearing of doggie clothing, drinking water and where to find it (you can imagine), how to get humans to play, how to handle barking "problems," how to deal with the dreaded cat in your life, how to find the best bed in the house to sleep in, how to avoid bathing, and much, much more.

The book is designed with a lead-in letter to Mr. Mutt, then Mr. Mutt's answer and then a quick letter from "The Queen," which is of course the dreaded cat who lives with Mr. Mutt. You get both sides of the story here and it is told in an extremely amusing way.

The art work in this one is great and quite eye catching and depicts many breeds of dogs in delightful situations....and some cats too.

I have yet to read this book to a child or a group of children that did not ask for multiple readings and as luck would have it....this is a very good book for adults because it is difficult to get tired of reading it over and over and over again.

I really could not find one single thing about this work that I did not like. Recommend this one highly.

Don Blankenship
The Ozarks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help Me, Mr, Mutt, September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the book for anyone who has loved an old smelly fat dog and/ or is tired of reading sweet fat bunny books to your children. My hat's off to the Stevens sisters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Mutt, Canine Counselor with lots of Bark!!, July 22, 2013
"Help Me, Mr. Mutt!" is about a canine counselor who puts an ad in the paper offering to give advice to his fellow four-legged friends when they have problems with their people. Mr. Mutt's clients include a range of funny characters, from a dachshund that was put on a diet to a blue heeler that was moving from a farm into the city and was concerned about his people turning him into a pampered pooch. Unfortunately, Mr. Mutt has a problem of his own, a cat referred to as "The Queen", who always has to put her two cents in, and ultimately puts Mr. Mutt out of commission! Luckily, Mr. Mutt has created quite a following and with some help from his friends, shortly goes back in action. This book also has fantastic illustrations and is chock full of extra funnies, such as the addresses on the envelopes, which usually involve some kind of doggy reference. Be sure and read each letter in a different voice to make the characters stand out, the kids will love it!

Read my full post here:
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious story with beautiful artwork!, July 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Help Me, Mr. Mutt!: Expert Answers for Dogs with People Problems (Hardcover)
I first checked this book out from the public library to use with my students. The book was a huge hit. In fact, I enjoyed it so much I read it to my husband and my adult children. We all laughed as we have 3 cats and 1 dog. The interaction between the dog and cat was so dear to our hearts. I will probably buy more of these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a riot-- literally., May 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is for those who have cats, or dogs, or children or grandchildren, or some combination of those. My husband and I have 2 cats, and we have learned to live with the imperial prerogatives of cats. I had a very large dog for many years, and he wouldn't have stood a chance with these critters.
The book is funny, sometimes screamingly funny, for adults and children alike, and the illustrations bring the mayhem to life.
If you have, or are, a cat, you'll recognize yourself in this book; and if you are, or have, a dog, you will learn when it's time to run for cover. In either case, you'll laugh, and whoever is with you will laugh as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Help Me, Mr. Mutt!: Expert Answers for Dogs with People Problems
Help Me, Mr. Mutt!: Expert Answers for Dogs with People Problems by Janet Stevens (Hardcover - April 1, 2008)
Used & New from: $1.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.