Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


112 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally someone gives up the truth
This book is no revelation to me. As a police officer, I looked at the evidence - evidence that was overwhelming albeit poorly handled. I always knew Simpson was a killer and it makes me sick to my stomach to know his attorney's knew this as well. Simpson told his first attorney Robert Shipero the truth and Shipero was going to try and get him the best plea deal he...
Published on May 21, 2008 by alan kaye

versus
91 of 112 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars RICK "SHAQ" GOLDSTEIN SAYS: "**EXTRA! **EXTRA! ** "HEY O.J. YOU CAN STOP GOING TO THE GOLF COURSE TO LOOK FOR A MURDERER!"
There doesn't seem to be anything published in the last fourteen years regarding the O.J. Simpson double murder case that doesn't come across as being coated in sleaze, debauchery, or simply self-serving. This book written by Mike Gilbert fits directly into that mold with the additional feel of a "Sybil-like" multiple-personality disorder suffered by the author. After...
Published on May 18, 2008 by Rick Shaq Goldstein


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

112 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally someone gives up the truth, May 21, 2008
By 
alan kaye "FIREDET" (edgewater, fl United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How I Helped O.J. Get Away With Murder: The Shocking Inside Story of Violence, Loyalty, Regret, and Remorse (Hardcover)
This book is no revelation to me. As a police officer, I looked at the evidence - evidence that was overwhelming albeit poorly handled. I always knew Simpson was a killer and it makes me sick to my stomach to know his attorney's knew this as well. Simpson told his first attorney Robert Shipero the truth and Shipero was going to try and get him the best plea deal he could, something he was known for. Then along came Johnny Cochran and the rest of the "dream team" who said "we can get him off if we attack the investigation." Knowing he was guilty - how do these people sleep at night? They lied to the court and to the world - their sin is as bad as Simpson's. With this book in print and obviously from an insider with first hand knowledge, I believe the feds should charge Simpson with a civil rights violation and try him again. Thanks Robert for finally telling the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How I Helped O.J. Get Away With Murder, May 12, 2008
By 
This review is from: How I Helped O.J. Get Away With Murder: The Shocking Inside Story of Violence, Loyalty, Regret, and Remorse (Hardcover)
I found this book to be an emotional rollercoaster. I have to believe what was written in this book, because the author wasn't trying to clear himself of any wrong doing, he was laying it out as it was, putting himself up as a target. I can only imagine what Mike Gilbert has had to live with all these years in the name of loyalty. Very good reading, hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still sickening after all these years...., September 4, 2008
This review is from: How I Helped O.J. Get Away With Murder: The Shocking Inside Story of Violence, Loyalty, Regret, and Remorse (Hardcover)
Anyone who has followed this story knows OJ did it and knows OJ got away with it. The question remained: how did he get away with it? This book fills in the details to the questions the public always wanted to know.

First off let's start with the author, Mike Gilbert. He puts himself up on the chopping block and rightly so. He did everything in his power to make certain his childhood idol, OJ, did not go to prison. He is not the only one. There are endless people in OJ's circle who did whatever they could to make sure he never went to prison and that his money and assets were carefully shipped off or put in other's names so the Goldman family received as little money as possible.

This book is truthful and telling, but be careful what you wish for. Knowing the truth in details about this fateful night will still make your stomach turn, perhaps even more so. It is sickening how fame and celebrity can corrupt people. Gilbert speaks of how everybody in OJ's circle KNEW he was guilty, they just never wanted to deal with it. That plus they didn't want their MEAL TICKET shipped off to prison as most of the people who helped him get away with murder depended on OJ for their income.

Some of the highlights are:

AC and the supposed Bronco chase:
When OJ was originally arrested for the murders, he was let go. (still can't figure that one out) He was told he could turn himself in a few days later. On the day he was to turn himself in, he had AC (Al Cowlings) drive him to Nicole's grave where he was going to kill himself. After AC was sitting in the Bronco for a few minutes, not hearing a gunshot, he went over to OJ and asked him what he was doing. OJ told AC, to more or less, give him a couple minutes because he was trying to kill himself. OJ couldn't go through with it and returned to the bronco. OJ then told AC that he remembered his religious family members telling him that if he committed suicide he would go to hell. He didn't want to go to hell, he wanted to be in heaven with Nicole. Upon leaving the cemetary, AC called Los Angeles Police Department telling them that OJ was ready to turn himself in and that he was suicidal. The LAPD then sent an ESCORT to follow them to OJ's Rockingham Estate.

The whole supposed chase was not a chase at all but a police escort back to OJ's home so police could meet him there to arrest him. This would explain why police never went over a certain speed limit or tried to run them off the road and why AC was NEVER CHARGED with aiding a wanted fugitive. And why AC was never called to testify at the trial. Neither side wanted this little bit of info to get out.

The Glove:
OJ was apprehensive and anxiety ridden over putting on the gloves at trial (which he knew about before it happened). Mike Gilbert suggested a neat little trick that would work which OJ didn't quite get at first. OJ has had terribly arthritis for years and when he doesn't take his arthritis medicine, his hands swell up, especially his knuckles. OJ stopped taking his medication a few days before he was to try on the gloves and Voila! it worked.

Business Deals Behind Bars:
Little known to the average person is that apparenly one can do business while in jail at the LAPD. Well, celebrities can. Mike G., author and OJ's memorabilia dealer, visited OJ every single day and reported they made over 3 million from OJ autographing various items. Some of the guards even lifted some of the merchandise and Mike nor OJ said anything because this was just part of the deal.

OJ and Nicole:
another revealing element of the book is the turbulent relationship between the two. OJ was abusive to Nicole from the start of their nightmare relationship. The basic elements of their relationship were fighting, sex, chaos and drama, and both were addicted to it, according to the author. What is equally disturbing is how Nicole's family knew that OJ was abusing Nicole, but looked the other way and even encouraged Nicole to get back with him. The author writes that these same people who are now supporting "nicole" causes after she is dead, never gave her that much thought when she was alive. Also noted is that Nicole's father and sister both sold Nicole pics and items to the tabloids. He says Nicole's family was living the glamorous life with OJ and got all the VIP treatment perks that came along with OJ's money and fame.

Hiding of Property:
A tip from an LAPD guard to OJ's circle let them know the sheriff was coming to collect from Rockingham and elsewhere via the Goldman's lawyers and judgements against OJ. Everyone flew into high gear and got all the items worth anything out of the estate. Replaced by cheap knock-offs. Mike Gilbert admits doing all he could to make sure the Goldman's got NOTHING. He says of all the people he wants forgiveness from Fred Goldman is at the top of his list.

Double-Edged Sword:
I commend this author for doing the right thing, telling the truth about what happened. He is relieving his conscious and his debt to society. This book does not make you feel bad for him, or even sorry for him, in fact this man makes my skin crawl at the lengths he was willing to go for dirty deeds done dirt cheap. I believe what the author is saying to be true. I believe OJ confessed to him and others. I believe the details of the trial and all the missing pieces he provides.

However there is one thing I don't believe him on: Feeling bad about his part in all of this. Don't get me wrong, I think he does feel bad and this has haunted him for years, but lets get to "levels" of feeling bad. He says hiding OJ's money from the Goldmans is the one of the things he feels the most regret about, so he feels bad enough to write this book, yet not bad enough to give any of the proceeds to the Goldman family??

Let's face it, no one and no amount could ever give back to the families who lost so much, but it sure as hell couldn't hurt to give something, anything, right?

Nicole and Ron:
Of this entire saga, these two people are actually the least mentioned in all of it. Everything from racism to lawyers to football legacies to lawsuits to amounts to Broncos and everything else in between has been discussed. Yet two human beings were butchered and a murderer walks free. And this murderer is set for trial this month (september 08) for breaking into a hotel room in Las Vegas. He stands to serve time for this. Only in America can celebrities go free for murder yet end up doing time for something much less. The author of this book does not believe OJ will do time for this either.

OJ may have out smarted and conned his way past a double murder. He may have escaped the repsonsiblity of an Earthly court, but he still has to answer in God's court.

I hope and pray the families of both victims find resolve and make peace with all of this. I hope OJ comes clean, finds God and starts doing something worthwhile with his time left on Earth. It is really a shame how our justice system does not work sometimes. ( in this case, there might as well not have even been a trial, he's OJ, he's cool, he's a legend, so what if he did it, he's a celebrity and people like him) It is also a shame how millions are blinded by wealth and fame.

To Nicole and Ron: RIP

* ( I refused to contibute to this man's pockets ( no matter how sorry he may or may not be), so I got my copy from the public library)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, May 12, 2008
This review is from: How I Helped O.J. Get Away With Murder: The Shocking Inside Story of Violence, Loyalty, Regret, and Remorse (Hardcover)
This book, surprisingly, is not trash at all, but reads like a great tragic American novel. The characters are unbelievably twisted but at the same time human and real and vivid. I actually could not put it down and read it all the way through this morning. People are grabbing it from my hands. Not only because of the staggering info it contains about OJ and the case but because of the way it is written. It is actually heartbreaking, in parts. Try to read it before you make promises of vomiting on it or burning it. The PR it has gotten does not do it justice. It is a real book--not just a cheap OJ slammer. It's complex and requires that you engage your heart, from page 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally The Truth, May 12, 2008
By 
This review is from: How I Helped O.J. Get Away With Murder: The Shocking Inside Story of Violence, Loyalty, Regret, and Remorse (Hardcover)
I finished the book in one day. Finally the truth after so many years. This book answered so many questions that I think many of us had about O.J.'s trial. It also gave rare insight to what happened behind the scenes. It was written with passion and conviction. A truly entertaining and exhilerating read. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to know what really happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 112 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars RICK "SHAQ" GOLDSTEIN SAYS: "**EXTRA! **EXTRA! ** "HEY O.J. YOU CAN STOP GOING TO THE GOLF COURSE TO LOOK FOR A MURDERER!", May 18, 2008
This review is from: How I Helped O.J. Get Away With Murder: The Shocking Inside Story of Violence, Loyalty, Regret, and Remorse (Hardcover)
There doesn't seem to be anything published in the last fourteen years regarding the O.J. Simpson double murder case that doesn't come across as being coated in sleaze, debauchery, or simply self-serving. This book written by Mike Gilbert fits directly into that mold with the additional feel of a "Sybil-like" multiple-personality disorder suffered by the author. After reading this book my feelings are even stronger than they were before I read this book, that there was no possible benefit to humanity by publishing this. Prior to the release of this book I had pledged to never put a penny in the hands of any of the people involved with Simpson either in the crime or the cover-up. You're probably asking how can that be so if I bought this book? Ah-ha! Good question! And here is where the multiple-personalities regarding integrity and lack of same by the author and publisher. On the inside book cover "jacket" it states: "PROCEEDS FROM THIS BOOK ARE GOING TO THE "MARCH OF DIMES" AND TO SEVERAL OTHER CHARITIES WITH WHICH GILBERT HAS LONG BEEN ASSOCIATED." That is why I took a chance buying this book, because I figured in the worst set of circumstances at least "ALL" of my money would go to charity.... BUT!! When I got home, I noticed that at the bottom of the back of the cover, a small black square similar to the warning on a pack of cigarettes states: "A PORTION OF AUTHOR PROCEEDS FROM THE SALE OF THIS BOOK WILL BE DONATED TO THE "MARCH OF DIMES" AND OTHER SELECTED CHARITIES." Well which is it? All... or a portion? And if it's a portion how much?? Now with that bad taste in my mouth and the stench that goes with being mislead, I will now share with "possible" readers the personality and loyalty swings of the author.

Gilbert throughout the book boasts over and over how O.J. was his idol growing up and how he absolutely loves O.J., and it was tantamount to gospel, that O.J.'s inner circle should be loyal at all costs, and anyone trying to hurt O.J. by whatever means, such as the poor mourning Goldman's, were the enemy. The author lambasts former friend Ron Shipp as "the first Judas." Shipp's crime was that he told the truth. I feel this would be a good place to go back in time and share with the potential reader how Gilbert got O.J. as a client, and how he treats the friend in this book that arranged it.

Gilbert's first big client was former Oakland Raider and Kansas City Chief Hall of Famer Marcus Allen. Marcus's mentor and friend was O.J. Simpson. Since Gilbert was always... and I mean always telling anyone within earshot how much he idolized Simpson since he was a kid, Marcus arranged an introduction and O.J. became a client. So the reward Marcus gets from Gilbert is to be constantly harangued throughout this book, and in addition to baring all his dirty laundry, the author also summarizes that if it wasn't for Marcus there probably wouldn't have been a double murder on June 12, 1994. He starts off my saying: "part of my job for Marcus included creating smokescreens that allowed him to more easily cheat on his lovely wife, Kathryn. I would leave false messages on his answering machine at his request-asking him to appear in fictional contexts, to give him an alibi and cover for his trysts with other women." I ask the potential reader: Why is this necessary to bring up 14-20 years later? Then the author decides to pour some sleaze on himself by saying: "Pretty soon, I became an illusion myself. I started cheating on my own wife, even though I loved her more than anything in the world." Another personality of the author, which I'll call the WALTER-MITTY-SYNDROME" starts to emerge where he by inflection, starts to include himself as part of the "Dream-Team" legal defense by saying: "Here's how we manipulated it... "First of all, we leaked the information about the sock... "And we kept going: a sock has four sides... "We then launched a seething attack on the man who collected the vial of O.J.'s blood... All of these "We's" are just from one page!

Gilbert beats his chest with enormous pride when he relates how he spearheaded the operation to screw the Goldman's and Brown's out of property that was legally theirs from the civil settlement. They worked all night taking possessions out of the Rockingham house and later out of other residences in other parts of the country to beat the movers coming for the belongings. Yet by the end of the book Gilbert says how much he wants to apologize to the Goldman's. One of the more distasteful claims by the author, and there are so many, it's hard to choose which ones to highlight in this review, is the fact that during Simpson's ENTIRE incarceration in jail he was signing autographs, clear up to the day of the verdict. "Business was booming. In fact, business had never been so good. He was signing footballs, jersey, posters, lithographs, serigraphs, movie scripts-you name it, he signed it. It's hard to calculate exactly how much we made during O.J.'s incarceration, but it was probably in excess of $3,000,000.00."

The author's loathsome mea culpa is, "WE KNEW HE WAS SPIRALING DOWNWARD, WE KNEW HE WAS IN TROUBLE, ESPECIALLY IN THE DAYS RIGHT BEFORE THE MURDERS. I SOMETIMES FEEL AS IF HIS CIRCLE OF FRIENDS UNDERSTOOD THIS, UNDERSTOOD THAT O.J. WAS A *VICTIM OF SOMETHING OUTSIDE HIS CONTROL*, BUT THAT HE COULD NEVER ADMIT IT, PARTIALLY BECAUSE O.J. DOESN'T LOSE CONTROL. HE'S O.J., REMEMBER?"

In summary, not only do I feel there was no reason to publish this book, I also feel there should have been no pictures included. Why would a person (Gilbert) who is now pleading for forgiveness want to print pictures with his buddy O.J. smiling with his arm around him? Why would a Father want a picture of his son with O.J. pretending to choke him? Perhaps the most repulsive picture is of O.J. giving Nicole a Christmas present of a fur coat and a handful of "stacks" of hundred dollar bills. Gilbert owes an apology to more than the Goldman's, he owes it to society as a whole.

Last but not least, if the author had any integrity at all he would give the entire amount of income from this book to charity and have it legally documented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars skeptic no more, May 18, 2008
This review is from: How I Helped O.J. Get Away With Murder: The Shocking Inside Story of Violence, Loyalty, Regret, and Remorse (Hardcover)
As someone who never thought OJ was innocent, I was only interested in this book to judge whether it was a "get rich quick", another involved cronie of OJ's or Nicole's, thrown together, it should be a crime, book.
After reading Bugliosi's book on the trial, I didn't think I'd need even more validation that I've been right all along about OJ. I picture Mr. Gilbert as someone who once said "I would never do something like that," referring to everything he did to protect his hero. This book couldn't be anything but the truth. It's one of those things one could hardly make up. It all makes sense. It's a great read; to the point. Although a little maudlin in a couple areas, there isn't any other way for Mike Gilbert to tell his story. If only he could reach the millions of young people who are caught up in the same hero worship. This is a great read, and a great lesson. While Mike Gilbert made so many bad decisions, who among us would have done differently? Rationalization is the root of all piece of mind. If you're interested at all in OJ Simpson, the real story, read this book. Shame on everyone in Nicole's life who didn't come forward to encourage her to leave OJ a long time before her death. What a great point Mr. Gilbert made in his book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I think happened too!, January 19, 2009
This book explains a LOT, and it's exactly what I believe happened with O.J. Many questions that I have had all along were answered in this book, and how sad it still is for the Browns and the Goldmans. It's just a shame that the author didn't come clean until it was too late. I will recommend this book to everyone that is interested in knowing the truth. I was impressed at how candid and honest Mr. Gilbert is with the writing of this book. Personally, I loved this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Illusions, May 30, 2008
By 
H. Windsor "lunchlady" (California, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How I Helped O.J. Get Away With Murder: The Shocking Inside Story of Violence, Loyalty, Regret, and Remorse (Hardcover)
This book is sort of a purging of this guy's conscience. Who knows whether or not his motivation for writing it is pure or not. Nevertheless, it does show on a large scale the illusions we create around other mere mortals, like O.J. Simpson. We live in a consumer driven society of celebrity worship and hunger to "see how the other half lives". He thought he was "someone" when he was initiated into that lifestyle. To give up O.J was to give up his own identity in some ways. He wanted to believe in the illusions, not the truth of O.J as a flawed, narcissistic, sociopathic personality. Obviously for this guy, he held on to O.J.'s hero image like the life preserver of a drowning man. Coming to terms with O.J. made him look at all of his own demons. It just took him a long time to finally do it. All he did for O.J and for what? The O.J. he loved and protected so fiercely was only an illusion, who could never really love him or anyone else in a real way anyway. Sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "If the gloves don't fit..." it's because Simpson didn't take his arthritis medication., February 3, 2009
By 
K.C. (San Diego, California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How I Helped O.J. Get Away With Murder: The Shocking Inside Story of Violence, Loyalty, Regret, and Remorse (Hardcover)
I've always been convinced of Simpson's guilt. However, like most people, I've always wondered why those bloody gloves didn't fit when, in the courtroom, Simpson was told to put them on. Now I know the reason.
Simpson told Gilbert, his then confidant and business agent, that for whatever reason he did not wish to put the gloves on in court. In response, Gilbert reminded Simpson that whenever Simpson failed to take his arthritis medication for a few days it would result in his hands (especially his knuckles) swelling to twice their normal size. Apparently, Simpson took Gilbert's advice.
Gilbert's book has the ring of truth to it. As an insider who is not bound by the attorney/client privilege, Gilbert is able to fill in a number of details that were previously unknown. If you have an interest in this case, this book is definitely worth reading.

If you are interested in a very interesting and detailed critique of how badly the prosecution of this case was handled by the District Attorneys, I highly recommend Vincent Bugliosi's book, entitled "OUTRAGE". (Note: Bugliosi is the former Los Angeles D.A. who prosecuted Charles Manson.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.