Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timelessly Entertaining!
As with the previous books, Henry and the Paper Route is written in chapter book style where each chapter is almost a short story in-and-of-itself and which all wind their way toward the ultimate goal (each book Henry has that ONE thing he's got to get or do) which makes for interesting reading, wondering how each part will ultimately work out with the end goal. It's...
Published on December 23, 2006 by Amy Aldrich

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Its a Pretty Good Book
This book is about Henry who wants to get a job delivering papers. A funny part of the book is when is goes to apply for the paper route. On the way, he stops at a rummage sale where there is a box with four kittens for sale for 5 cents each. He buys them all and tries to hide them in his shirt when he applies for the paper route. When he knocks on the door of the man who...
Published on February 27, 2007


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timelessly Entertaining!, December 23, 2006
By 
Amy Aldrich (Scottsdale, AZ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Henry and the Paper Route (Henry Huggins) (Paperback)
As with the previous books, Henry and the Paper Route is written in chapter book style where each chapter is almost a short story in-and-of-itself and which all wind their way toward the ultimate goal (each book Henry has that ONE thing he's got to get or do) which makes for interesting reading, wondering how each part will ultimately work out with the end goal. It's clear from the title that this volume in the Henry Huggins series is all about Henry and his desire to get a paper route all his own and as the chapters go on, we see how he goes about proving he's ready to do that! With this book we also get to read more about Beezus and Ramona, Scooter, Ribsy and more!

Henry and the Paper Route is six chapters of boyishly good adventure geared toward Henry obtaining the paper route of his dreams! We start out with Henry in hot water over bringing home four kittens...this chapter is all about him making an interesting first impression with Mr. Capper (the newspaper guy). The second chapter is about his tireless search to find good homes for those kittens. Chapter three Henry engineers a clever plan to help his class get ahead in the school paper drive and in chapter four we find out if his plan was successful or not! Chapter five Henry meets Murph, boy genius and finds that Murph has transferred into the paper route he's had his eye on! Oh, no...in chapter six will Henry finally get that route or is he destined to only fill in and help Scooter out? Your young reader will love finding out!

I give this book five stars...though the Henry Huggins series was written in the 1940's and 50's and have a bit of a Leave It to Beaver feel with regards to the traditional family roles and quaint feel of the daily life of the kids in them...they are also rather timeless. Putting aside the money issues (yea, everything cost WAY less in these books than they do today), Henry Huggins is a clean cut typical boy looking for a bit of fun...but he's also honest, hard working, and clever in thinking of ways to get what he wants (the advertising thing for the paper drive for example)...and he's always respectful even when he's trying to scheme to get what he wants! Henry and the Paper Route (and all the other books in this series) are well worth reading...these are kids classics for a reason, because they are timelessly entertaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monkey Business, March 18, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Henry and the Paper Route (Henry Huggins) (Paperback)
I am 8 years old. I like all of the Beverly Cleary books. This book is funny. I especially liked the part when Ramona pinned a jump rope to her overalls and pretended she was a monkey. She went to the store with her family, and some people joked around and thought she was a new species for sale. Then she thought they were not joking and she ran away from the store. Ramona is four in this book, and she is my favorite character in the Beverly Cleary books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its a Pretty Good Book, February 27, 2007
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Henry and the Paper Route (Henry Huggins) (Paperback)
This book is about Henry who wants to get a job delivering papers. A funny part of the book is when is goes to apply for the paper route. On the way, he stops at a rummage sale where there is a box with four kittens for sale for 5 cents each. He buys them all and tries to hide them in his shirt when he applies for the paper route. When he knocks on the door of the man who hires people for the job, a dog is at the door. The dog growls at Henry and one of the kittens pops out of his shirt. He pushes the kitten down, and it scratches him. The whole thing is a fiasco and he is told to come back in a year or two when he is older. It you want to know more about other funny things that happen to Henry or if he gets the paper route, I recommend you read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Adventure Book for Boys, November 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Henry and the Paper Route (Henry Huggins) (Paperback)
My 8 yo son was sad that this was the last book about Henry Huggins. He throughly enjoyed each one of the books about Henry's adventures. All the Henry Huggins books are wonderful for boys to read they really grasp their attention and keep it. When I asked my son what book he wanted to read next he said he wanted to read the Henry Huggins books over again. I would highly recommend this book as well as the others in the Henry Huggins series and don't forget Ribsy's book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charming and light, gold-hearted characters, February 26, 2005
This review is from: Henry and the Paper Route (Henry Huggins) (Paperback)
Henry Huggins is part of the world of Ramona and Beezus Quimby, a pair of sisters who have launched a dozen or so books by Beverly Cleary.

In this outing, Henry is fixated on becoming a paperboy, but Mr. Capper won't hire him because he's only ten, and you need to be eleven to deliver papers. Henry tries scheme after scheme, but nothing works, and then matters go from bad to worse when a boy genius moves into the neighborhood and picks up the route that Henry wanted. Henry is confounded by this development, but finds that he is better than the genius at one thing: dealing with Ramona, who is determined to sabotage the route at any cost.

Since Henry Huggins first rode his bicycle onto the scene fifty years ago, the world has moved on, making his aw-shucks manner and quaint problems seem antiquated and distant from your savvy modern pre-teen.

That being said, the stories are still amusing for young readers, and some of the elements, such as dealing with young pests, are universal. If you like other books by Beverly Cleary, this one will go down nicely, and if you're a boy thinking of giving Cleary a try, you might feel more comfortable starting with this one, which features a boy protagonist (although I think all of the books appeal to both genders).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Henry Huggins stories are a big hit at our house., July 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Henry and the Paper Route (Henry Huggins) (Paperback)
Ditto other reviews of Henry Huggins from Grandson's point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still as good as I rememebered, March 25, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Henry and the Paper Route (Henry Huggins) (Paperback)
We bought my six year old a boxed set of Beverly Cleary book at a warehouse store, and there were some that were not included. This was one of them. These books are pretty timeless, and are just as good as I remember them being when I was in elementary school. These make GREAT bedtime reading for our voracious young reader, and I look forward to reading them again with my daughter when she's older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beverly Cleary: a master at her craft, March 23, 2014
The audiobook contains about a 10 minute interview with the author which is very inspiring, revealing that Ramona was created rather accidentally. Neil Patrick Harris does a great job as narrator, really gets into all the characters and he does a stellar job as the teacher (can't remember her name). I was a little annoyed with all the kitten scenes in the beginning, but I got over it eventually. The whole story kept bringing a Disney movie to mind, The Paper Brigade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as vivid as Ramona, but still worthwhile!, February 12, 2014
By 
Swank Ivy "Ivy" (Tampa, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Henry and the Paper Route (Henry Huggins) (Paperback)
I'd have to say I don't enjoy it as much when Beverly Cleary writes boys--it doesn't seem quite as clear as when it's got a girl main character--but this was still a great book for kids to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Henry and the Paper Route  (Henry Huggins)
Henry and the Paper Route (Henry Huggins) by Beverly Cleary (Paperback - September 1, 1990)
$6.99 $6.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.