Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids who are too old for kids books
Henry Reed is an unforgettable character, a strange mix of can-do entrepreneurialism and good-hearted goofiness who would make any parent proud.

This is the first book in a terrific series, and is a perfect transitional novel from children's reading to more adult fare. At 239 pages, it weighs in as a longer book than most readers will have tackled to date, and...
Published on March 17, 2005 by Matt Hetling

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Check your copy...
It's a good story, but check your copy. I ended up with a copy of a book with mixed up pages, and put it upon my bookshelf without knowing for quite some time (unexpected).
Published 1 month ago by Shannon in Oregon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids who are too old for kids books, March 17, 2005
This review is from: Henry Reed, Inc. (Puffin books) (Paperback)
Henry Reed is an unforgettable character, a strange mix of can-do entrepreneurialism and good-hearted goofiness who would make any parent proud.

This is the first book in a terrific series, and is a perfect transitional novel from children's reading to more adult fare. At 239 pages, it weighs in as a longer book than most readers will have tackled to date, and the writing is slightly more sophisticated than you would see in a Hardy Boys or early Judy Blume book, for example. I would compare it to the series "The Mad Scientists Club," which has the same type of humor and level of sophistication.

As for the story, it is presented as Henry's journal entries over the course of a summer that he spends with his uncle and aunt. He comes up with schemes that young teens will find exhilarating, because they are just wild enough to be exciting, and yet just realistic enough to be believed and emulated. Some of the plans are purely to make money-such as his attempts to find valuable truffles in the neighborhood. Some of them are research, as when he sends a large balloon up into the air bearing a pigeon to measure weather conditions. All of them are humorous and fun to read about, as he often bites off more than he can chew.

This is a terrific series that will not only entertain, but also inspire children to think about their own start-up businesses and scientific research. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Henry Reed, Inc., November 5, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Henry Reed, Inc. (Puffin books) (Paperback)
Henry Reed, Inc. is the first book in a whole series, written by the American author Keith Robertson. The story begins when 14-year old Henry Reed,the son of an American diplomat stationed in Naples, Italy, arrives in New Jersey to visit his aunt and uncle. Henrys teacher has given him a summer project; to report on American "free enterprise". Henry combines his interest in biology with business, and together with the 12-year old neighbor girl Midge sets up a business selling worms,turtles etc. During the summer Henry and Midge expand their business and are constantly in search of new products. Their business ventures include drilling for oil, hunting for truffles (an expensive mushroom) and developing a weatherbaloon that they plan to sell to the armed forces! Most of the people in the small town are very positive and cooperative about their business. They do, however, encounter some trouble with the quarrelsome Apples, who complain bitterly about Agony, Henry's dog, interloping on their property, and "Henry Reed, Inc". violating zoning laws. This leads to suspicion by Henry and Midge that the Apples are involved in deep criminal activity, but in the end it turns out that the Apples are only interested in safeguarding their own business interests. Although Henry Reed, Inc.is written in diary form it's not introspective. In each chapter Henry relates the days happenings. Te book takes place during about two months in Grovers Corner, New Jersey. The autor only briefly describes characters, landscape, and setting, but instead focuses on the hilarious stories. "Henry Reed, Inc." is an excellent sink-down-in-bed-and-relax book. The text is easy to understand and once you start the book it's not easy to put down. Please e-mail me with further questions and information about the other books in the series. (I haven't been able to get hold of them yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read Reed!, March 20, 2001
This review is from: Henry Reed, Inc. (Puffin books) (Paperback)
I loved the Henry Reed books so much as a little girl that I couldn't resist reading Henry Reed, Inc. again before I gave it to my nine-year-old nephew for Christmas. What a pleasure to read it again! My nephew laughs out loud at Keith Robertson's deadpan descriptions of the innocent but intricate adventures that Henry Reed attracts like a magnet. Henry and his audacious friend Midge provide encouraging role models for children interested in science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Adventure Book, January 2, 2004
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Henry Reed, Inc. (Puffin books) (Paperback)
(Review by a nine-year-old third-grader, who read this book for a home school assignment)
Henry Reed's story starts out when, for vacation, Henry goes to the USA. He has all kinds of adventures. Henry starts a research business. Then he meets a girl named Midge who wants to be part of his business. She says that she will give him two rabbits if he lets her join, but she only has one.
One adventure happens when Midge and Henry make a balloon and their dog and the neighbor's cat and a dead pigeon go up in the balloon. The cat jumps on his owner's roof and stays there for about a day.
I liked this book because their adventures are very exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars my review of henry reed, inc., January 22, 2002
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Henry Reed, Inc. (Puffin books) (Paperback)
Henry Harris Reed is a kid from Italy that comes to America to visit his aunt and uncle in NJ. The book is his journal of the works and experiences he has in America. In the book Henry starts a research center called Henry Reed Inc. He patched up his old barn and his mini property owned by his mother. He mostly keeps animals. The other main character in the story is a girl named Margaret Glass. The sign on the barn later reads Reed Glass Inc, but only after a long series of events.
When Margaret joined Henry Reed Inc, Margaret and Henry made a deal. The deal was to give Henry two rabbits for the business. The only problem was the second rabbit was missing and had been missing for the past 6 weeks. One-day Henry's beagle Agony saw the rabbit. The rabbit was white as the snow in Aspen. The dog dashed after the rabbit through the whole neighborhood. Eventually the chase led to the grouchy Mr. Apple's lawn and the stamped over a section of his grass. After everything was said and done Margaret and Henry was spying on Mr. Apple. They saw Mr. Apple planting new grass and treating it with much care. What could he be doing?

The Main Moral of the book is never judge a book by its cover. This is because Margaret and Henry thought Mr. Apple was a psycho or something, and really he was just protecting his invention. I really liked this story, i liked because it had alot of action. I gave this book 4 stars out of 5, its not the best book ever but i still would recomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Go back and reread these, November 25, 2008
By 
Michael P. McCullough "moik" (Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Henry Reed, Inc. (Puffin books) (Paperback)
These Henry Reed books were some of the first books I have ever read, and I enjoyed them much, and of course I wished there were more than three (there are, but the newer ones weren't available back then). Every time our family went to the library I would go directly to the Keith Robertson section and see if there were any new titles. They are the typical children's novels, a smart boy figures out things the adults around him are unable to. The best is *Henry Reeds Journey* - a picaresque.

I recently went back and reread what I first consider the first "real" book I read while I was a child: *The Year of the Jeep* also by Keith Robertson. considered it my first real book because it didn't have any illustrations, even on the cover (in the copy I originally borrowed from the Oak Lawn Library.)

I have a review of it here, somewhere.

(If you are an adult) I would strongly advise going back and finding the "first book I ever read" and rereading it. Fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great summer reading, June 17, 2006
This review is from: Henry Reed, Inc. (Puffin books) (Paperback)
"Henry Reed, Inc." is the first of a series of books about a fourteen-year-old boy who is the son of a diplomat. The book was written in the late fifties and is Henry's journal about what happens when he is sent to New Jersey to spend the summer with his relatives. His teacher gave him an assignment to report on the free enterprise system in the United States, so Henry starts a business. Soon he has acquired a dog and a business partner in the form of the girl next door, Midge. Their adventures are hilarious and innocent. All of the Henry Reed books are really entertaining and to me epitomize what a summer vacation should be about. They would be perfect for readers over ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars entertaining and lighthearted, May 26, 2011
This review is from: Henry Reed, Inc. (Puffin books) (Paperback)
This book is perfect summertime reading. So many books (especially for boys) are just... books. This book is good natured and funny, with action and great relationships among the people. Happy little illustrations.

Main character is an oddball boy; girl sidekick. No love interest (yay).

This book is told in a first-person journaling style. It may be fun to have your older child try writing in a similar way. Simply great storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flashback!, July 7, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Henry Reed, Inc. (Puffin books) (Paperback)
Although I am now 28 years old, I read and loved this series of books in 4th and 5th grade. I encourage parents of 9-10 yr olds who like funny, adventuresome (if maybe a little dated!) books a la Henry Huggins. I now have a 2 yr old and look forward to putting these in his collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun read for just about anyone!, October 1, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Henry Reed, Inc. (Puffin books) (Paperback)
I thought Henry and Midge were great 30 years ago, and my 9-year old enjoys him today. I also rank these characters right up there with Beverly Cleary's Henry, Beezus and Ramona. I appreciate that the stories are well-written and appropriate for him. Best of all, they are entertaining!! (Maybe the publisher will reprint the rest of the series!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Henry Reed, Inc. (Puffin books)
Henry Reed, Inc. (Puffin books) by Keith Robertson (Paperback - May 1, 1989)
$6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.