Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Get Ready for the Winter Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Black Friday Deals Shop Now DOTD
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Henry Stone Presents... The Best of T. K. Soul Singles

1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, February 28, 1995
"Please retry"
$59.95 $19.99

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Why Can't We Live Together - Timmy Thomas
  2. Clean Up Woman - Betty Wright
  3. Baptize Me In Your Love - Clarence Reid
  4. Funky Nassau - Begining Of The End
  5. The Best Part Of A Man - Wilson Pickett
  6. Friends And Buddies - Milton Wright
  7. Rockin Chair - Gwen McCrae
  8. Jazz Freak - Paulette Reaves
  9. Party Down - Little Beaver
  10. What You Won't Do For Love - Bobby Caldwell
  11. Party Freaks - Miami
  12. Hey Sexy Dancer - Rocky Mizell & The Sugar Rock Band
  13. Let's Straighten It Out - Latimore
  14. Honey, Honey - David Hudson
  15. Dreams - Tropea
  16. Shotgun Shuffle - The Sunshine Band
  17. Oh, That's My Man - Fire
  18. Ain't Nothin' Wrong - Paul Revere & The Raiders

Product Details

  • Audio CD (February 28, 1995)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Hot Productions
  • ASIN: B000001QJQ
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #610,291 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Va-Tk Soul Store

Visit Amazon's Va-Tk Soul Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Music Fan Jeff on April 29, 2005
Format: Audio CD
I must admit that I was puzzled when I first came upon this disc 10 years ago. Nearly all of the biggest hits found here were not even issued on the T.K. label itself but rather other imprints of T.K. founder Henry Stone, such as Alston and Glades. But what seemed stranger to me is that most of the tracks on this disc were far from hits. One listen to many of them reveals why they didn't become better known. Still, there are some prime tracks here, including Timmy Thomas' "Why Can't We Live Together" (in its full length version), Gwen McCrae's "Rockin' Chair", Betty Wright's "Clean Up Woman", Beginning of the End's "Funky Nassau" (either the album version or a special edit of both sides of the 45 put together; I never owned the lp, so I'm not sure), Bobby Caldwell's "What You Won't Do For Love", and Latimore's "Let's Straighten It Out".

The reason for my 4-star rating is that these hits sound better here than they do elsewhere on cd. Whoever mastered this collection (the cd lists the "producer" of the compilation, Paul Klein, but not the remastering engineer) got the midrange of these recordings right, giving them a nice sense of realism; there might be a tad bit of excess in the upper frequencies, but not as much as on Rhino Record's reissues of this same material.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category