Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Shop Women's Clothing Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 1, 2000
I'll never forget when I fell in love with Audrey Hepburn. I was 16 and home sick from school. My mother had rented a bunch of old movies for me and Breakfast At Tiffany's was one of them. I knew, from the first strain of "Moon River" as Holly Golightly stepped out of the cab in front of Tiffany's, that I was hooked. I watched the movie three times in the next two days. I was completely enamored of Audrey's grace, style and beauty. Breakfast At Tiffany's has been my all-time favorite movie ever since (a great cure for the mean reds)! I still cry at the final sequence in the rain.
Over the next few weeks I rented every Audrey movie I could get my hands on, I have seen them all numerous times by now and own most of them, and Sabrina and Roman Holiday are two of my other favorites. Roman Holiday was Audrey's first American film for which she won an Oscar. She and Gregory Peck are truly magical in this sweet movie about a Princess out in Rome for a day of no responsibilities. Sabrina is the ugly duckling into a swan story, although ugly duckling is as far from Audrey as you can get! While Humphrey Bogart is my least favorite part of this movie (he and Audrey reportedly did not get along on the set), Audrey shines and her wardrobe is something to see in and of itself.
I can't recommend Audrey Hepburn or her movies enough. If you've never seen her movies, start with this trio. If you know nothing about the woman, find out. She was not only a wonderful actress but a phenomenal humanitarian. Her work with UNICEF should be her greatest legacy.
I know that there will never be another Audrey. But I am thankful that her movies will allow her beautiful personage to live on forever. But don't take my word for it. Watch this trio of movies and see for yourself. And while you're at it, pick up Funny Face, Charade, How To Steal A Million, My Fair Lady...
0Comment| 113 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICEon September 10, 2006
What could be more pleasurable than watching screen legend Audrey Hepburn in her most career-defining roles? This is a great three-movie set at a great price, as all three are deserved romantic comedy classics directed by masters - William Wyler, Billy Wilder and Blake Edwards. Her natural charm and grace are pervasive throughout and further proof that she was among the most consistently affecting of actresses. In my humble opinion, there will be no one like her again.

In a beautifully restored print, 1953's "Roman Holiday" provides a most enchanting introduction to the then-24 year old actress thanks mainly to director William Wyler's expert direction and Dalton Trumbo's sweetly observant script. In hindsight, it is a modest performance compared to Hepburn's later work, but Wyler knew enough to let her natural breeding serve its purpose in conveying the carriage of a princess. It works wonderfully, as she is perfectly believable as a royal who experiences her first glimpse into the world outside her hermetically sealed world. The revelation here is really Gregory Peck, handsome and stalwart as always but in this movie quite relaxed with a surprising light comedy touch. It is actually his Joe Bradley that goes through the dramatic character arc that makes the ending so bittersweet. Even though this film is hardly mentioned in the same breath as his other classics like "The Best Years of Our Lives", Wyler's humanistic touch is everywhere - from the comic haircutting scene with the smitten barber to the famous Mouth of Truth scene where Peck pretends to lose his hand to the concluding press conference, which turns into a dance of acting nuance and unspoken feelings. This DVD has the most extras, including an excellent documentary on the production itself (watch for Hepburn's first Hollywood screen test) and other short films on the film's restoration process and Edith Head's contribution to Hollywood costuming.

With its cynical humor and the European-based sensibilities around different classes, 1954's "Sabrina" is most definitely a Billy Wilder picture. The film is not quite in the same league of other Wilder classics like "Sunset Boulevard", "Some Like It Hot" or "The Apartment", but on its own, it's an airy souffle of a comedy served on a perfectly lovely warming dish. What I like most about this movie is that Wilder keeps the fairy tale trappings of the story grounded in mordant wit and shrewd observations about business mergers, bribery and class snobbery. This is what keeps this movie surprisingly fresh. Torn between the characters played by her leading men, Humphrey Bogart and William Holden, Hepburn as a chauffeur's daughter is charming. This was her first introduction to Givenchy fashion onscreen, and the difference in her appearance between "Roman Holiday" and "Sabrina" is actually more startling than the one in the movie itself. It is no wonder she became such a style icon from that point forward. While Bogart is too dour in his role of older brother Linus (a role pegged for Cary Grant who canceled at the last minute, damn the luck), Holden is hilarious as shallow, ne'er-do-well younger brother David. The ending is inevitable, but leave it to Wilder to mix sweet and sour better than a Cantonese restaurant. There is a brief making-of documentary on this DVD.

1961's "Breakfast at Tiffany's" has the most contemporary and provocative story of the three, yet it seems the most dated perhaps because director Blake Edwards tries awfully hard to capture the upscale bohemian atmosphere of early sixties New York. In a role that author Truman Capote wanted to cast Marilyn Monroe, Hepburn is delightful as the aptly named Holly Golightly and somehow dances around the fact that her character is a high-priced call girl through her sense of style, fun and vulnerability. Holly's fear of commitment is the crux of this story, even though she is hopelessly drawn to a failed writer played by George Peppard, who is kept in fine style by a wealthy matron played with conniving sophistication by Patricia Neal. I still think Peppard is the weak link here as he doesn't have the light touch required to keep up with Holly's shenanigans. The rest of the cast can be best described as eccentric, in particular, Buddy Ebsen (pre-Jed Clampett) as Holly's backwoods first husband and Mickey Rooney as the Japanese neighbor upstairs. As a Japanese-American myself, I have to admit I find Rooney's Japanese make-up a bit much, but his accent is spot-on and his casting consistent with the loopiness of this film. Henry Mancini's romantic music provides the perfect accompaniment, and Hepburn's plaintive, ukelele-strummed version of "Moon River" is still the most definitive. Of the three films, this one has the most romantic ending, and the rain-soaked kiss in the alley is just about as lovely a scene as you are likely to see in movies. Sadly there are no extras on this DVD other than the trailer.

This set is highly recommended obviously for fans of Hepburn but also for those who can appreciate Hollywood classics in the romantic comedy genre.
55 comments| 91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2002
Hey, I was just looking to pick up a copy of Roman Holiday, when I found that someone had packaged three of Audrey's best movies together. And I said, "Three?! Thats it??? Why not six? Oh, well...it will have to do." So I upgrade Breakfast at Tiffany's from VHS to DVD, and I finally pick up Sabrina, which, despite a small crush on Julia Ormond, I must admit is superior to the remake.
Its easy to see why Audrey Hepburn has remained such a popular film star, and why so many actresses fail miserably to be the "next" Audrey Hepburn. There was only one actress who combined the sense of innocence, sweetness, beauty, humor, grace and charm into one. And don't we all wish she had made more movies? And don't we all wish they could still make movies like the ones that Audrey starred in? No wonder she's still our favorite!
So, in chronological order...we get Roman Holiday(1953), Audrey's breakout Oscar winner where she guaranteed she would be a star, then her next movie, Sabrina(1954), which cemented her as Hollywood's sweetheart, then Breakfast at Tiffany's(1961), simply one of my favorite movies of all time. I would have liked to have seen Charade, My Fair Lady, and Funny Face included, really I would...will there be a Volume 2?? It would be quite a nice cure for the mean reds. If you haven't fallen in love with Audrey Hepburn yet, then buy this nice set and you will!
0Comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2003
If you love Audrey Hepburn and enjoy watching classic love stories of a by-gone era, get this collection. While by no means a definitive Hepburn film collection, it will give you the three most popular (and my personal favorite) DVD's, illustrating the pinnacle of Hepburn's work. If you're not that familiar with Hepburn (where have you been..?!), this is a splendid beginning for a lifetime's love affair with the classically stunning actress who stole all our hearts and made us believe in grand, Hollywood-movie style love. "Roman Holiday" is a Cinderella-type story, except Hepburn is the Princess looking for her average-Joe Mr. Right (and she doesn't do too shabbily with Gregory Peck!). "Sabrina" (this is the best version--but see the re-make with Harrison Ford & Julia Ormond to compare) is Hepburn's rags-to-riches tale come to life with the help of great actors, Bogart and Holden. The story will sweep you off your feet as you watch the tale of young girl who comes to learn the meaning of true love in the most unexpected way (I can only say SO much without giving the story away!). And, of course, "Breakfast at Tiffany's" is a lovely story about a young woman who expends all her energy trying to live a glamourous & fabulous life to hide the fact that she is missing the one thing she wants most (take a wild guess what that is). Even the most jaded of you will leave these movies with a sparkle of romance ignited in you. By no means a "chick-flick" set, this is a collection not to be missed by fans and movie lovers alike. A great set--don't miss it! If you want more Hepburn movies along the same plot lines, check out "Funny Face" (with Fred Astaire), "Charade" (with Cary Grant; this was recently re-made with Mark Wahlberg under the title "The Truth About Charlie") & "My Fair Lady" (with Rex Harrison). To explore more of Hepburn's range in acting, I'd recommend "The Nun's Story" (awesome!), "The Children's Hour" (with a young Shirley MacLaine), and "Wait Until Dark" (super, super film!).
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Audrey Hepburn was -- and remains -- the perfect illustration of elegance and sophistication in Hollywood. A lot of actresses have tried to imitate her look, but they couldn't manage the same onscreen grace and skill.

And the "Audrey Hepburn Collection" brings together three of the films that helped shape that image. Okay, they're not her most impressive. But all three are all funny, charming, romantic movies, and they are also the ones that Hepburn is still best known for doing.

Bored young Princess Ann (Hepburn) goes on a "Roman Holiday," when she gets upset, is sedated by a doctor, and has an odd reaction to it. Soon she has wandered out of the palace and into the streets of Rome, where she is found by struggling American journalist Joe Bradley (Gregory Peck). Since she appears to be drunk, he takes her home.

When Joe realizes that he has the missing princess in his apartment, he takes her on a whirlwind tour of Rome, with his pal taking photographs for a full article. But he doesn't count on falling in love with Ann. And Ann has a tough choice to make -- should she give up her royal life and stay with Joe, or fulfil her responsibilities as a princess?

"Sabrina" (Hepburn) is the daughter of the chauffeur at the palatial Larabee estate. She's also in love with the ne'er-do-well second son, David (William Holden), but is sent away to Paris to attend a cooking school. And with the help of a fairy godcount, she gains sophistication, ambition, and confidence... as well as the ability to make a souffle properly ("A woman unhappily in love, she forgets to turn on the oven!").

When she returns to the Larabees' estate, David is instantly smitten. But even if marrying a chauffeur's daughter were okay with his family, his brother Linus (Humphrey Bogart) has arranged a business marriage for David. And to make sure David doesn't run off with Sabrina, Linus begins wooing her too... and falling in love for real.

"Breakfast at Tiffany's" is a daily ritual for Holly Golightly, a social butterfly who hosts parties, entertains drunken men, and dreams of owning a horse farm in Mexico. When Paul Varjak (George Peppard) moves into a neighboring apartment -- courtesy of his rich patroness -- he is instantly enchanted by the ditzy, sweet-natured Holly.

But for all Holly's fun, Paul starts to realize that all is not well with her. She's desperate to marry rich, visits a notorious gangster, and hides that she was an illiterate teen bride. As Holly's life starts to deteriorate, Paul sets out to show her what her life will be like without real love.

Yes, they are all romantic comedies, completely unrelated except that all three have Audrey Hepburn. But all three are fun, well-written ("You can't live here! I live here!" "Hi, neighbor!"), and charming. They're good for daydreaming as well, since they take place in chic apartments, palatial mansions and the streets of Rome.

Unlike many actresses, Hepburn's best-known roles were NOT all alike, nor were they all carbon copies of her. Even when we shouldn't really like the characters, she gave them warmth, sensitivity and likability that can't be faked. And she could be very funny too -- it's hard not to laugh when Holly yells "Timber!", as a drunken guest keels over.

The Audrey Hepburn Collection is the ideal trio of movies for people who are just falling in love, or who appreciate a good romantic comedy. Charming, cute and sweet.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Audrey Hepburn is one of those rare actresses who remains untarnished by time. A lot of actresses have tried to imitate her look, but they couldn't manage the same onscreen grace and skill.

She also was absurdly good at romantic comedies of all kinds, whether playing a polished ingenue, a damaged party girl or an earnest nerd-turned-model. "The Audrey Hepburn Collection" brings together three of her most beloved comedic turns -- "Funny Face," "Sabrina" and "Breakfast at Tiffany's" -- which show Hepburn at her most charming and enchanting. The clothes aren't bad either.

"Sabrina" (Hepburn) is the daughter of the chauffeur at the palatial Larabee estate. She's also in love with the ne'er-do-well second son, David (William Holden), but is sent away to Paris to attend a cooking school. And with the help of a fairy godcount, she gains sophistication, ambition, and confidence... as well as the ability to make a souffle properly ("A woman unhappily in love, she forgets to turn on the oven!").

When she returns to the Larabees' estate, David is instantly smitten with the poised young lady. But even if marrying a chauffeur's daughter were okay with his family, his brother Linus (Humphrey Bogart) has arranged a business marriage for David to finance a newly-patented glass formula. And to make sure David doesn't run off with Sabrina, Linus begins wooing her too... and falling in love for real.

"Breakfast at Tiffany's" is a daily ritual for Holly Golightly (Hepburn), a social butterfly who hosts parties, entertains drunken men every evening, and dreams of owning a horse farm in Mexico. When Paul Varjak (George Peppard) moves into a neighboring apartment -- courtesy of his rich "patroness" (Patricia Neal) -- he is instantly enchanted by the ditzy, sweet-natured Holly.

But for all Holly's fun, Paul starts to realize that all is not well with her. She's desperate to marry rich to fulfill her fantasies, visits a notorious gangster, and hides that she was an illiterate teen bride whose first husband is still skulking around the place. As Holly's life starts to deteriorate, Paul sets out to show her what her life will be like without real love.

And finally, "Funny Face" finds a place in high fashion when fashion queen Maggie Prescott (Kay Thompson) decides that the new look (aside from pink) will be highbrow and intellectual. So she and her gang invade a pretentious little bookstore for the shoot and leave it in shambles. Photographer Dick Avery (Fred Astaire) has a brief discussion with the nerdy bookstore owner Jo (Hepburn) -- and decides that she would make a perfect model.

Jo hates the fashion industry ("It is chichi, and an unrealistic approach to self-impressions as well as economics!") but is willing to be their new model if it gets her to Paris, so she can meet philosopher Emile Flostre (Michel Auclair). Of course, Dick and Jo begin to fall in love -- but his irreverence towards the milieu that she adores might drive a wedge between them, especially the not-so-intellectual Flostre.

Each one of these movies is pure fantasy -- of being a real-life Cinderella (with no approaching midnight), of being scooped up to be a model, and of being the glamorous Holly Golightley (with the assurance that you'll find REAL love by the movie's end). There's nothing deep or serious about any of these movies, except whatever complicating action might get in the way of the romantic ending.

And Audrey Hepburn is, oddly enough, perfectly suited to all three of them -- elegant, quirky and beautiful, but not in an obvious way. And while her "transformation" as Sabrina is... well, mostly a new hairstyle and wardrobe, she works well as all three -- a dancing bohemian, a chic young cook, and a sprightly socialite. Admittedly Jo's pseudo-philosophical gibberish sounds a bit clunky in her mouth, but she pulls off the slightly awkward smart-girl thing as well as she does singing "Moon River."

The "Audrey Hepburn Collection" brings together three frothy little romantic comedies, with Hepburn pulling off three different chic fantasies. A pleasant way to pass an afternoon.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2015
Buyer beware! I almost ordered this because of Mr Uyeshima's review saying that Roman Holiday is in the 3 disk set. Look carefully at the picture of the blu-ray box - it has Funny Face printed right on the front lower right corner. Bad work by Amazon, putting the DVD set reviews on the page for the blu-ray set. THEY ARE NOT THE SAME! It's not Mr Uyeshima's fault. The USA and EU blu-ray boxes both have Sabrina, Funny Face, and Breakfast at Tiffany's. The DVD set Mr Uyeshima has reviewed contains Roman Holiday, Sabrina, and Breakfast. I have seen a web post that Roman Holiday has been released on Blu-ray in the EU, and I thought this 'region free' EU release box would be the only way to obtain it, but no - not so. Also, be aware that the aspect ratio of Sabrina is supposed to be different for the EU release than the US release - 4:3 in EU and the correct 1.75:1 in USA. As always - pay attention before buying - errors in listings do occur.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2014
The superb quality of the transfers on these three amazing films almost takes your breath away. Even the black & white 'Sabrina' is as crisp and clear as is humanly possible. 'Breakfast at Tiffany's' and 'Funny Face', both in color, meet every expectation. A marvelous set...one that should be in the library of every Audrey Hepburn fan.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2016
Until a year or so ago I'd never watched any Audrey Hepburn films.
I'm not going to lie, the constant references to her, and Breakfast at Tiffany's, scattered all throughout the ABC-Family mystery/drama, Pretty Little Liars piqued my interest. So I watched BaT when it was still streaming on Netflix and I fell madly in love with it. Everything about the movie was amazing and full of well written humor. It could also see the connection between Holly Golightly and "Alison" on PLL, however Holly is much more likable. Now I'm planning on purchasing the Copte books also to add to my ever growing book collection.

I've never seen either of the other two films that came with it, but I'm sure that I'll enjoy them just as much as Tiffany's. Audrey is just one of those actresses that are classic and wonderful and you can't help but feel some sort of connection to.

The packaging was nice and the discs, and cases were all in great condition. The only reason I left a star off was because the outer box was dented, warped, and even scratched despite the shrink wrap that came on it.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2007
I bought this 3 discs in one case collection over her other collections because each movie had special features. This is a great price for these 3 movies.

Breakfast A Tiffany's - Color, Romantic comedy. Probably her most famous and best role, Holly Golightly, is based on Truman Capote's novella. She is a carefree New York playgirl with an unstructured lifestyle. Holly befriends a nameless cat and a struggling writer(George Peppard)who is "sponsored". Widescreen Version, Enhanced for 16.9 TVs, SPECIAL FEATURES: "Making of a Classic", Commentary by Prouducer, "It's So Audrey: A Style Icon", "Audrey's Letter to Tiffany", more.

Roman Holiday- Black and White, This is Audrey's American debut in film. A great picture, it was nominated for ten Academy Awards. Audrey received an Oscar for her portrayal of a modern day princess overwelmed by her duties decides to escape for a holiday in Rome. She meets Gregory Peck a newsman, who pretends he doesn't know who she really is so he can get an exclusive story. Eddie Albert is Peck's fun loving cameraman pal. The screenplay was written by a famous writer blackballed during the McCarthy era. Directed by William Wyler. Features: "Remembering Roman Holiday,", Restoring Roman Holiday", "Edith Head- The Paramont Years", more.

Sabrina- Black and White, Romantic Comedy, Hollywood's great stars Humphrey Bogart, Audrey Hepburn, and William Holden team up for this Cinderella story. Bogart and Holden are mega rich brothers and Audrey is the chauffeur's daughter, who is in love with the youngest brother. Special features include "Sabrina" Documentary.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$10.19

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.