Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid work of research and clinical practice. I simply love this book!
The great complement to Herbal Antibiotics. With those two books you are very much set as far as protecting your body from infections. Stephen Buhner has done excellent researches for this book again. The book ends with 50 pages of bibliography p. 333 to 385. For example, he is offering 42 references on Lomatium Dissectum (I have a thing for that root!).
This book is...
Published 15 months ago by Tauocaros

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good information but real guidelines are missing.
I am missing a certain kind of simplicity and clear guidelines how to use the book and what to take in case
of illness or other difficulties in the environment.
Published 12 months ago by Nina Larisch-Haider


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid work of research and clinical practice. I simply love this book!, September 27, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Herbal Antivirals: Natural Remedies for Emerging & Resistant Viral Infections (Paperback)
The great complement to Herbal Antibiotics. With those two books you are very much set as far as protecting your body from infections. Stephen Buhner has done excellent researches for this book again. The book ends with 50 pages of bibliography p. 333 to 385. For example, he is offering 42 references on Lomatium Dissectum (I have a thing for that root!).
This book is scientific, with solid evidences, and written by someone with good humor that actually use the plants mentioned in the book.
The book is well organized. It starts with an introduction to viruses and discuss the threat that they represent to our health.
Buhner goes on to describe several viruses and offers treatment options for each of them.
The Viral Materia Medica is very complete with 137 pages with an exhaustive description of each plant.
Honestly, I cannot find anything missing in there!
Chapter 6: Strengthening the immune system is particularly interesting. Then, he incorporates a brief discussion on herbal making.
I simply love this book and I recommend it to every herbal enthusiast whether you are novice or expert.
Thank you for this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unique, October 30, 2013
This review is from: Herbal Antivirals: Natural Remedies for Emerging & Resistant Viral Infections (Paperback)
I have several of Buhner's book and appreciate all of them, particularly his books on fasting, plant intelligence and herbal antibiotics. They are thorough, hugely knowledgeable and cover everything relevant, as far as I can tell.

He writes with a dry sense of humor which lightens what would otherwise (inevitably) be a somewhat tedious read. He's practical and clear on what only works at the very onset, and about popular remedies that don't work at all. He recommends specific herbs for fever, for headache, for cough. As usual, he explains how to make the herbal goodies and is particularly keen on invasive plants, for very good reasons, as he makes clear.

My one negative thought about this book is the large list of herbs he recommends for colds, flu and the like. They seem more like a stew. For example, his antiviral tincture formulation is equal parts of Chinese skullcap, isatis, licorice, houttuynia, lomatium, red root, yerba santa, elephant tree, osha, and either immortal or pleurisy root.

Buhner does address this. He writes that for nearly 30 years he tended to use formulations that contained only 3 herbs, occasionally 5. With the emergence of more intense forms of influenza he has found that a more complex formulation works better. (He thinks a major factor is aging.)

I hope he's wrong, even though I consider him a master herbalist! I shrink at the cost of buying 11 different tinctures; if any of the sources he recommends towards the back of the book (I have used one or two and would happily use any recommended by Buhner) provide this "Buhner special", he doesn't mention it. The most likely to offer this in the future is probably Dry Creek Herb Farm, which already offers "Stephen Buhner's Option #2", a 13-herb powder mixture (1lb weight) for $52.50 which they created when the author became very sick with Hepatitis C.

He's very keen on fresh ginger juice tea (stressing that dried ginger is useless). I'd love to try it but juiced raw ginger always give me heartburn. However, if you'd like to try this, Buhner's mixture is 4 ounces of raw juiced ginger plus 6 ounces of hot water mixed with a quarter of a lime, a large tablespoon of honey and one-eighth teaspoon of cayenne.

Later note: I've discovered that true cinnamon leaf oil has powerful healing qualities: 2 drops a day for 105 days eliminates all infections, including bacteria, virus, fungus and parasite. Try it for yourself, it's both cheap and easy - but make sure to dilute it in some juice or oil, otherwise it will burn your mouth. Also, many other supplements will work against it - visit lyme-symptoms[dot]com for the full protocol.

You need to look for a products that states it's true cinnamon (zeylanicum or verum, ideally from Sri Lanka) and leaf (it's the oil from the leaves of the cinnamon bush that has the necessary eugenol as the main component) and also "steam distilled"; in my experience, the NuKira brand worked.

Cinnamon bark oil gives the true cinnamon smell and flavor, while leaf does not, it smells like cloves. So it depends on what you want the oil for - smell and flavor or healing...

Also, avoid cassia, or any bottle that does NOT say cinnamon zeylanicum or cinnamon verum AND "steam distilled" on the label, not just the website (some will tell you it doesn't need to be on the label!). They taste and smell somewhat similar but do not work the same way. Cassia is legally allowed to be called "cinnamon" so it's easy to get the wrong kind, which I did initially.

The few alternative oils for this healing protocol are:
- Marjoram (Origanum majorana) aka sweet marjoram
- Thymus Mastichina also known as Wild Marjoram, Mastic Thyme and Marjoram Spanish
- Mandarin (Citrus reticulata) from South Africa

Within an hour of taking the first drop of true cinnamon leaf oil in some juice my breathing became easier (for over a decade I had Babesia, a cousin of Malaria which eats red blood cells - these cells carry oxygen throughout the body; unfortunately, there are lab tests for only a few of the many types of babesia, so rely on a distinctive pair of symptoms: air starvation plus recurring low grade fever, usually afternoon or evening). Ugh, the juice failed to mask the taste, just as strong and as bitter as clove oil and oregano oil.

However, after a couple of months several of us (around the same time, some with Lyme and also several coinfections - by then we were all free of symptoms) doing the essential oil protocol together became intolerant of the cinnamon leaf oil - as we had with oil of oregano that we'd been using some years ago for tooth abscesses. As one of us also has a citrus intolerance, we all changed to thymus mastichina from Spain, steam distilled from the leaves and flowers, for the remainder of the 105 days.

I was then left with an abscessed tooth and on re-checking the lyme-symptoms finally noticed that this protocol does not eradicate:
- parasites
- amoebas (one-celled protozoas
- treponemas (a spirochete type of bacteria, including those that cause abscesses in teeth/gums) - I've just started Japanese Knotweed tincture for this (as recommended by Buhner for spirochetes like Lymes) but it's too soon to tell if it's working.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Written with a wicked sense of humor, October 10, 2013
By 
Elskabar (Patersopn, New Jersey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Herbal Antivirals: Natural Remedies for Emerging & Resistant Viral Infections (Paperback)
Love this book. It is so packed with amazing information it needs to be in every home care and alternative medicine collection. I cannot undserestimate the value of the book, especially when you are given the small number of good sources of information out there. It is precise, informative and covers just about every aspect of the plant, including giving all the genuses of the plant along with their antiviral values as well. It clearly states which plants to use and which to avoid. It got me to Alibaba.com where I was able to order 20:1 extract of Chinese Skullcap root. I am officially following through with the information and locating sources for the plants.

The most important thing is that plants are also rated by over all strength and the pathogens against which they are effective are all listed. Get this now before it goes out of print and disappears from the book stores!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Valuable Work! Curious Question?, December 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Herbal Antivirals: Natural Remedies for Emerging & Resistant Viral Infections (Paperback)
Well done! Highly informative and serves an important purpose in these present times of emerging viruses. However, I have a question. On page 20 the author lists five "major alterations affecting the planet that researchers have identified as being behind the emergence of so many new(and old) pathogenic viruses. I wonder why in a such a fine and comprehensive work the author nowhere mentions as a major alteration the immense amount of virus oriented biological warfare elements which have been researched, developed and distributed over the past forty years by the world powers? In the absence of such a revealing admission he continues to reason: "The disruption of healthy ecosystems by human incursions and the resultant loss of host species into which they jump is us (or the animals that survive well with us: pigeons, mice, pigs and chickens- from whom they then easily move into us)."

I believe it is a well known fact that certain researchers, to the utter anathema of other noted scientists, have engaged in experiments crossing long established natural barriers and evolved lines of separation which have prevented species from sharing diseases. Curiously, after research for biological war purposes had reached certain immune threatening thresholds in the late 1960's the emergence of new viruses had begun to appear with widescale and devastating results. Discussing these facts might perhaps be outside of the scope of the author's purpose and might cause his valuable work to be associated with conspiracy theory which he may wish to avoid. No doubt his research is much needed at this time and will assist us in strengthening our immunity in the new battle zone ... our bodies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good information but real guidelines are missing., December 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Herbal Antivirals: Natural Remedies for Emerging & Resistant Viral Infections (Paperback)
I am missing a certain kind of simplicity and clear guidelines how to use the book and what to take in case
of illness or other difficulties in the environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, an in-depth look at herbal anti-virals, November 30, 2013
By 
Byron E. Butchart (Charlottesville, VA, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Herbal Antivirals: Natural Remedies for Emerging & Resistant Viral Infections (Paperback)
Author does a great job of surveying the field of herbal anti-virals. You will learn something new regardless of your current knowledge of herbs, and if you only think pharmaceuticals are useful for virus infections you will learn a very great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must have, November 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Herbal Antivirals: Natural Remedies for Emerging & Resistant Viral Infections (Paperback)
so easy to read very clear and helpful a must have for anyone who cares about our species as human beings before we are no longer able to reproduce because of all of the CRAP in and around us.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, if not scary book that can prepare you for the future, April 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Herbal Antivirals: Natural Remedies for Emerging & Resistant Viral Infections (Paperback)
The beginning of the book was very well written, and easy to understand even for someone with very little medical/viral/bacterial knowledge. Towards the end, medical jargon will alienate a lot of readers - but I'd say you'd only be interested in this last bit if you were a medical professional anyways.

The book clearly explains how the epidemic of viral infections has come about, and how, according to the author the world is unprepared to deal with the next great outbreak.

After the prologue, the author gives very easy to follow instructions on how to cultivate seven anti-viral herbs. He also lists, in detail how to extract the medically valuable materials that grow within the plant, variations of plant species and their potency, and dosage information.

I value this book and plan to grow a garden containing at least these seven herbs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, August 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While it has some very relevant information the book only covered a few herbals--far below my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to survive the next big pandemic virus. Swine flu, SARS and Ebola included, September 30, 2014
By 
Sarah (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Herbal Antivirals: Natural Remedies for Emerging & Resistant Viral Infections (Paperback)
Everyone needs a copy of this book. This book is a reference of how viruses take over your body and make you sick or kill you.

The Spanish Flu in 1918 killed 100 million people worldwide. This virus was virulent and caused bleeding very similar to Ebola.

There are many herbal options to prevent and treat viral infections. If you understand the process of how the virus invades and kills, you are prepared to take the appropriate herbs to survive. It is simple. There is no downside to taking herbs to treat viruses. The herbs do more than kill viruses, there are many benefits to taking them.

Do not wait until you have bad symptoms to take your herbs. You can often knock out a virus in the first 24 hours if you are aggressive and take the right supplements.

Viruses mutate. You might already know that. However, the author explains that some viruses mutate as they reproduce. That means that you might have dozens of different strains of the virus inside you. You can't wait for immunization to save you. Even if you believe it would, they cannot possibly have an effective vaccine to save you when it is already mutating after it invades you. There will be another strain coming shortly, which will probably be worse than the first round.

My advice is to go through this book and pick the herbal remedies that address the most factors associated with viral replication. Buy the supplements and have a big stock of them.

I'm an herbalist and I'm recommending this book to everyone who will listen. It offers insight into why viruses are so deadly and what to do about it. It's a fascinating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Herbal Antivirals: Natural Remedies for Emerging & Resistant Viral Infections
Herbal Antivirals: Natural Remedies for Emerging & Resistant Viral Infections by Stephen Harrod Buhner (Paperback - September 24, 2013)
$24.95 $19.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.