Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must See DVD
If you're reading this review you're probably already familiar with the show, and most likely a fan. However, you may not be familiar with how "Here's Lucy: Season One" has been packaged and presented in this new release, so I'll use this review to provide my opinion in that regard. Let me say right off the top, if you are a Lucy fan, I highly recommend that you purchase...
Published on August 26, 2009 by Gregory A. Moorehead

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lucy shines for the most part.
Lucy Helps Craig Get a Driver's License - Lucy and Desi work off each other for great laughs in a realistic classic eposide.

Lucy and Tennessee Ernie's Fun Farm - It has a classic family skit with Harry, Lucy and the kids and most of the singing is entertaining, but Tennessee Ernie Ford butchers "God Didn't Make Little Green Apples" by singing it too slow...
Published on July 8, 2010 by William


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must See DVD, August 26, 2009
By 
Gregory A. Moorehead (New Brunswick, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Here's Lucy: Season 1 (DVD)
If you're reading this review you're probably already familiar with the show, and most likely a fan. However, you may not be familiar with how "Here's Lucy: Season One" has been packaged and presented in this new release, so I'll use this review to provide my opinion in that regard. Let me say right off the top, if you are a Lucy fan, I highly recommend that you purchase "Here's Lucy: Season One". I received my copy in the mail yesterday. I'll first address the packaging. The outer package is the familiar, clear, plastic, clam-like box, with the artwork inserted. The discs are stored inside on a spindle, which is hinged to the spine of the box. Because of this design, when you open the box, you can see the episode titles listed for each disc, appearing on both inside panels. Specifically, this means that you do not have to remove the discs to read the titles listed on the inside panels. The discs are one-sided with colorful labels featuring the "Here's Lucy" logo and the familiar marionette. The menus are very easy to navigate, and the discs are void of other product promotions. You can select to watch the episodes with or without a filmed introduction by Lucie Arnaz, Desi Arnaz, Jr. or the episode's guest star. The quality of the video is absolutely sensational. The images are crystal clear, and the colors are probably more vivid than they appeared when originally broadcast. The extras alone are worth the money. I don't want to give away too much but they include: Desi Arnaz, Jr.'s screen test for his mom's 1968 theatrical film, "Yours, Mines, and Ours"; creation of the opening credits; and film of the Queen of Comedy golfing with The Great One himself, Jackie Gleason. If you are a Lucy fan, buy this dvd set, you'll not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "At Last! Lucy's Best TV Series on DVD!!!", May 21, 2009
By 
Terrance Richard "Terry Richard" (Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Here's Lucy: Season 1 (DVD)
Lucille Ball began her third weekly series on CBS on September 23rd, 1968. After selling "The Lucy Show" to Paramount, Lucy wanted to own her own show, so she created "Lucille Ball Productions" to produce her new sitcom. Lucy had already finished an amazing run on CBS with her "I Love Lucy" show in the '50's, and her 1962-1968 series "The Lucy Show" never went out of the top 10. It was very important for CBS to keep her as the network knew Lucy had a loyal fan base that wanted to watch her week after week. "The Lucy Show" finished its final season in 1968 at #2 in the national Nielsen numbers, so expectations were high that "Here's Lucy" would be an even bigger hit. Lucy had nothing to worry about: both the fans and critics loved her new show, with "Here's Lucy" staying in the top 10 in its first three years.
"Here's Lucy" was different than Lucy's other two series in that she cast her real-life children, Lucie Arnaz and Desi Arnaz Jr., as her on-screen kids Kim and Craig. Lucy also brought back the marvelous Gale Gordon as her brother-in-law Harry and boss at the Unique Employment Agency in Los Angeles, which was the setting of the series. Lucy played Gale's crazy secretary. The wacky redhead continued to make viewers laugh for six more years on CBS, and many fans, including this one, believe "Here's Lucy" was Lucille Ball's best television work. Lucy has even admitted that out of all her shows, this one was her favorite.
As the 1970's arrived CBS wanted to change its image as the "rural network" by canning shows that featured longtime tv personalities like Ed Sullivan. Lucille Ball was a different story however. "Here's Lucy" would continue well into the '70's as CBS' top-rated show. In 1970-1971 "Here's Lucy" finished the year as CBS' #1 program!
In 2004 "Here's Lucy" made its debut on DVD with a 24 episode boxset featuring the best episodes of the series. That boxset has a ton of special bonuses including commentary by Lucy's kids, rare network TV promos for the show, a much more. In this new "Here's Lucy" Season One Boxset special features will include new videotaped interviews never seen before and new introductions by both Lucie Arnaz and Desi Arnaz Jr.. Other rare gems are Featurettes, Screen Tests, home movies, making of the main title, and a rare interview with Gale Gordon. It is wonderful to see MPI bringing back this beloved show that has been rarely seen on television in the past two decades. The series had a CBS daytime run from May-November 1977, and in 1982 "Here's Lucy" went into national syndication. The sitcom has rarely been seen on cable stations as it surprisingly does not bring in good ratings. In the late '90's PAX TV aired the show for awhile then it disappeared. The studio also promises to release every season in individual boxsets so that is something to applaud.
This boxset contains all 24 shows of the first year uncut and digitally remastered from the studio's 35 mm negatives for excellent video and audio clarity. A total of 144 episodes of "Here's Lucy" were produced. The first three seasons were fimed at Paramount studios in Hollywood, but the last three years were shot at Universal. The most famous episode was the season premiere of the third season in 1970 featuring Liz Taylor and Richard Burton. That episode catapulted "Here's Lucy" to the top of the ratings and put Lucy and the Burtons on the cover of TV Guide that week.
In the show's first season boxset many stars are featured including Jackie Gleason, Shelley Winters, Jack Benny, Wayne Newton, and more. The pilot of "Here's Lucy" is included called "Mod, Mod Lucy", where Lucy has to perform in the place of her daughter in a band. Lucy tries to sing, albeit with her mouthing the words to a record, and she proves she is quite a dancer. You will laugh hysterically when Lucy comes out donning a black wig, trying to be a teenager. She really fits in with the younger generation!
Many other celebrities graced "Here's Lucy" over its run including Eva Gabor, Carol Burnett, Ann-Margret, Johnny Carson, and more. Vivian Vance also made many guest-star appearances over the years as Aunt Viv to the delight of fans everywhere.
Don't forget too that "The Lucy Show" makes it first-time debut on DVD in July with the Complete First Season boxset. That series too is excellent.
UPDATE: "HERE'S LUCY-THE COMPLETE SECOND SEASON" ARRIVES IN STORES NOVEMBER 3rd, 2009!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HERE'S LUCY, SEASON 1 IS HERE!, May 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Here's Lucy: Season 1 (DVD)
This Summer of 2009 is a Lucy Summer! In July we are getting the first season of The Lucy Show, thanks to CBS/Paramount and on August 25th, we are getting the first season of Here's Lucy, thanks to MPI Home Video. Some of the great shows of Here's Lucy have already been on dvd by Shout!Factory, and it is a great set, but now we finally get to have all of it complete!

When I heard Here's Lucy Season 1 is being put out by MPI Home Video, I immediately contacted MPI for more information- especially about the quality of the video! For anyone who is familiar with MPI Home Video's quality of their dvd's, you know they can be horrible or superb. MPI put out the first season of The Beverly Hillbillies, The Honeymooners 6 sets and Hullabaloo's- all very poor quality, loaded with graininess and scratches. MPI also put out The Doris Day Show- all 5 seasons and Family Affair's all 5 seasons, and the quality is superb, very clean and crystal clear! MPI is also known for putting out all of a show's seasons separately and then in a complete set later on. I spoke to MPI directly to find out the quality they are putting into Here's Lucy Season 1, and they assured me that they are remastering the original 35 mm film, in exactly the same way they did for Doris Day and Family Affair. This means the dvd's will be absolutely superb in color, crystal clear sharp picture and a clean film! As a huge Lucy fan, this was great news for me! They also stated, that on June 30th, 2009, they are putting out the first of The Lucille Ball Specials dvd. These are two specials that Lucy made after Here's Lucy, starring with Dean Martin and Jackie Gleason. Both Here's Lucy and The Lucille Ball Specials will have extra's included. I was really happy to see that the film quality is absolutely superb on this first season! The perfect picture, gorgeous color and detailed sharpness are beyond my expectations!

Here's Lucy was Lucille Ball's third television show, that premiered on CBS on September 23,1968. The show started out with weaker than expected ratings, but gradually picked up during it's 6 season run, from 1968 to 1974. Lucy played a widower, Lucy Carter with 2 teenage children Kim and Craig Carter. The children were played by her real-life children Lucie Arnaz and Desi Arnaz Jr.. Their Uncle Harry was played by Gale Gordon and Vivian Vance also made guest star appearances in this show. Lucy, as a single mom, worked at the Unique Employment Agency, which allowed her to sing, dance and act with the many wonderful special guest stars she featured on this show. In this first season alone, some of the guest stars were Jack Benny, Jackie Gleason, Shelly Winters, Eva Gabor, Wayne Newton, Van Johnson, Wally Cox, Carol Burnett, Cesar Romero, Victor Buono, Howard Keel and Tennessee Ernie Ford. This show never got the number 1 ratings that I Love Lucy received, or even the number 2 position that The Lucy Show finished with, so it was rarely syndicated on tv, making many of these great shows rarely seen for decades. For Lucy fans, the summer of 2009 is one we will never forget, as we will finally have The Lucy Show, Here's Lucy and the first of The Lucille Ball Specials dvd, to watch whenever we want after so many years of wishing!

Here are the 24 Episodes of Here's Lucy Season 1:
You can choose to play each episode with or without introductions by Lucie Arnaz and her brother Desi Arnaz Jr.! These new introductions to the episodes are GREAT!
1. 9/23/1968 MOD, MOD LUCY
2. 9/30/1968 LUCY VISITS JACK BENNY (with cameo by Jackie Gleason)
3. 10/7/1968 LUCY THE PROCESS SERVER
4. 10/14/1968 LUCY AND MISS SHELLY WINTERS
5. 10/21/1968 LUCY THE CONCLUSION JUMPER
6. 10/28/1968 LUCY'S IMPOSSIBLE MISSION
7. 11/11/1968 LUCY AND EVA GABOR
8. 11/18/1968 LUCY'S BIRTHDAY
9. 11/25/1968 LUCY SELLS CRAIG TO WAYNE NEWTON
10. 12/2/1968 LUCY'S WORKING DAUGHTER
11. 12/9/1968 GUESS WHO OWES LUCY $23.50? (Van Johnson guest stars)
12. 12/16/1968 LUCY THE MATCHMAKER (Vivian Vance guest stars)
13. 12/30/1968 LUCY AND THE GOLD RUSH
14. 1/6/1969 LUCY THE FIXER
15. 1/13/1969 LUCY AND THE EX-CON (Wally Cox guest stars)
16. 1/20/1969 LUCY GOES ON STRIKE
17. 1/27/1969 LUCY AND CAROL BURNETT
18. 2/3/1969 LUCY AND THE GREAT AIRPORT CHASE
19. 2/10/1969 A DATE FOR LUCY (Cesar Romero guest stars)
20. 2/17/1969 LUCY THE SHOPPING EXPERT
21. 2/24/1969 LUCY GETS HER MAN (Victor Buono guest stars)
22. 3/3/1969 LUCY'S SAFARI (Howard Keel guest stars)
23. 3/10/1969 LUCY AND TENNESSEE ERNIE'S FUN FARM
24. 3/17/1969 LUCY HELPS CRAIG GET A DRIVER'S LICENSE

Also Included are all these wonderful BONUS FEATURES:
SPECIAL FEATURES:
Meet The Carters-Lucie Arnaz and Desi Arnaz Jr. talk about how the show came about.
Let's Talk To Lucy-From Lucy's Radio Show, Lucy interviews Gale Gordon on November 3, 1964 while he was playing Mr. Mooney on The Lucy Show. Wonderful Audio Interview with wonderful photos as you hear them talk!
Making The Main Title-Silent footage of how the main title was being made.
Lucy At LAX-Silent footage from the 1968 LUCY AND THE GREAT AIRPORT CHASE.
Lucie And Desi Jr. Screen Tests-Lucy's children's screen tests for the 1968 movie YOURS, MINE AND OURS!
HOME MOVIES:
The Lucille Ball-Desi Arnaz Show-1957 and 1958 silent home movies taken at the end of the Lucy-Desi Comedy Hour.
Lucy The Model-Silent home movies of Lucy modeling fur coats.
Golfing With Gleason-Silent home movies of Lucy, husband Gary Morton with Jackie Gleason and wife golfing in the 1960's.
The Chase-Lucy and husband Gary Morton make their own home movie while on vacation in beautiful Monte Carlo in 1968.
Slide Show-Photo's.
Production Files- Lots of interesting Lucy information and biographies of the cast.
Here's Lucy Promo's-Promo's from the Here's Lucy Season One Shows.
Other Promo's-The Lucy Specials: Lucy Gets Lucky/Three For Two, Lucy Calls The President, Lucy Moves To NBC, Happy Anniversary And Goodbye/ What's New Catherine Curtis?, The Mothers-In-Laws, Lucy And Desi:A Home Movie and The Doris Day Show.

For this complete and perfectly restored Here's Lucy Set with so many GREAT Bonus Features, THANK YOU MPI!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MPI Has Done This Right!, August 25, 2009
This review is from: Here's Lucy: Season 1 (DVD)
This is a superior product. I can't imagine how a DVD set could be produced any better than this one. Not only are all 24 episodes fully restored and uncut, for crystal clear image quality, but you are given the option to view each episode with a filmed introduction by either Lucie Arnaz, Desi Arnaz, Jr., or a guest performer in that episode. This is a very cool feature as you get a bit of background on each episode by someone who was in it. And just wait until you see the extras! I was left speechless when I saw all the goodies that have been included. It's going to take me awhile to get through them all. But these include press releases from 1968, read by Lucille Ball's own secretary, Wanda Clark; lots of home movie footage, including home movies shot on the set of several of the Lucy-Desi Comedy Hour episodes, and movies from vacation and leisure time; an episode of Lucille Ball's radio interview series, "Let's Talk to Lucy"; lots of behind-the-scenes footage; and much more. For what you're getting on this set, it's a HUGE bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who does not love Lucy?, October 18, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Here's Lucy: Season 1 (DVD)
Here's Lucy showcased her talent for comedy as well as her Children's talents. This was Lucy's third show.. I Love Lucy/Lucy Desi Hour was first. Then there was the Lucy show. This third incarnation bring her real life children (Lucie and Desi) playing her kids.

The Amazing part is the show meshes so well. The real realationship blend as the reel ones does. This version had great slapstick comedy that Lucy was known for. However it usually also focused more on musical and dance numbers proffessionally thrown it and it worked. Gale Gordon was Lucy's foil as her brother-in-Law Harry. He was Lucy's rock in comedy and kept her grounded.

One of the extras I enjoys is introduces befor the episodes usually either by Lucie or Desi. On the forth disk, this is chock full of extras from how the made the open titles to a clip of the Lucy Radio show she did in 1962 with Gale Gordon.

If you loved Lucy as we all do..if you are fan of good comedy, get this quality set. I hope the second season is as good as this

Bennet Pomerantz AUDIOWORLD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Knowldege of late 1960s makes "Here's Lucy" even better, February 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Here's Lucy: Season 1 (DVD)
If you love the comic genius of Lucille Ball (like I do), buy this DVD of "Here's Lucy", season one.

Have a modest knowledge of what was going on in our country in the late 1960s, and you will better appreciate the humor in this DVD set. You will see the influence of the popular secret agent movies of that time ("Lucy and the Great Airport Chase"). You will know when, in one episode, Lucy is referring to her then-recent hit film, "Yours, Mine and Ours" ("Guess who Owes Lucy $23.50"). You will recognize Jackie Gleason's signature quote and his successful television character ("Lucy Meets Jack Benny"). Being "hip" in your late 1960s knowledge will also help you appreciate references to hippies, Sonny and Cher, and the then-popular "Here Comes the Judge!" quote.

Lucy is in a class by herself doing slow-motion physical humor ("Lucy's Safari".) Her co-star, Gale Gordon, is Lucy's perfect foil, particularly with their great slapstick in "Lucy The Fixer". Gordon, himself, is hysterical with his birds-and-the-bees monologue in "Lucy the Shopping Expert". Lucie Arnaz' show-stopping talent is displayed as she does an impression of Wayne Newton in "Lucy Sells Craig To Wayne Newton". And Desi Arnaz, Jr. showed that he carried, not only his father's good looks, but also a flair for the drums as well. (Don't miss his drum solo in "Mod Mod Lucy"). There are many more sparkling moments in this 1st season of "Here's Lucy". Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's Lucy with many guest stars., October 15, 2009
By 
James McDonald (Lancaster, California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Here's Lucy: Season 1 (DVD)
Here's Lucy" (1968-74) is Lucille Ball's third tv series on CBS, her second solo situation comedy.
We knew her as "Lucy Ricardo" from her first tv series, I Love Lucy: Complete Series (34pc Full Gift) (1951-57), which continued on the "Lucy-Desi Comedy Hour" (1957-60) in new one-hour long episodes.I Love Lucy - The Complete Seasons 7-9 After Lucy and Desi Arnaz divorced, she came back in The Lucy Show: The Official First Season (1962-68) as Lucille Carmichael" with Vivian Vance as "Viv". Gale Gordon played "Mr. Mooney" beginning in Season 2.
After six seasons, Lucy decided to end "The Lucy Show" and try a new concept with a new tv series, "Here's Lucy".
Lucy's character was now "Lucy Carter" (age 57) with her teenage children, Kim and Chris (played by Lucy and Desi's real children, Lucie Arnaz (age 17) and Desi Jr. (age 15)). Gale Gordon (age 62) was now "Uncle Harry Carter". Vivian Vance would make visits.
Each episode begins with an "Introduction to Lucy" with Lucie Arnaz (Luckinbill) and Desi Arnaz Jr or a surprise guest. They will describe the episode you are about to watch. They are spoilers.
If you want to be surprised instead of what guest star will come through the door, you may choose not to see the introductions, but can watch them later.

There is one special episode, broadcast in 1969, not to be missed that was completely filmed on location at LAX--The Los Angeles International Airport.

Many guest stars and familiar faces: Doris Singleton, Lew Parker, Jack Benny, Sid Gould, Jackie Gleason, Jonathan Hole, Reta Shaw, Shelley Winters, Jack Collins, Tim Herbert, Ray Kark, Joseph Ruskin, Peggy Rea, Eva Gabor, Victor Sen Yung, Wayne Newton, Van Johnson, Vivian Vance, Wally Cox, Bruce Gordon, Mary Wickes, Whit Bissell, Carol Burnett, Carole Cook, Sid Haig, Mary Jane Croft, Cesar Romero, Victor Buono, Howard Keel, Tennessee Ernie Ford, Jack Gilford.

Disc 4 contains more episodes and the Special Features.

If it wasn't for staying over at grandma's house I probably would have never seen "Here's Lucy" then, including many other CBS tv shows.
Now as an adult, I can sit back and enjoy the surprise of which guest star is going to come through the door and situations Lucy is going to get herself into next.
As a youngster, I did not like the character that Gale Gordon played, but when I got older and saw Gale Gordon in one of his last interviews, I realized how much of a gentle soul he was. After watching this DVD set and now middle-aged myself, I find the Gale Gordon character so funny to watch when he is flustered in a comedic way. The facial expressions and mannerisms that Gale Gordon acted with was a trademark of his own.
Wayne Newton makes an appearance in episode 9. Vivian Vance makes an appearance in episode 12.

Here's Lucy: Season Two is now available. Vivian Vance makes an appearance in episode 18 & 19. Wayne Newton makes an appearance in episode 22. Carol Burnett makes an appearance in episode 24.
Here's Lucy: Season Three is now available. Vivian Vance makes an appearance in episodes 23 & 24.
Here's Lucy Season 4 is now available. Vivian Vance makes an appearance in episode 23.
Here's Lucy: Season Five is available. Ruth Buzzi makes an appearance in episode 13.
Here's Lucy Season 6 will be available December 18, 2012. Steve Lawrence, Eydie Gorme, Andy Griffith and Frankie Avalon make an appearance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lucy must have, September 15, 2009
By 
barry (Boston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Here's Lucy: Season 1 (DVD)
I am 48 and have been a huge Lucille Ball fan my entire life. When I was a teenager HERE'S LUCY was the Lucy creation currently airing. Of course I was enraptured by the repeats of I LOVE LUCY and THE LUCY SHOW. But when I think of my youth this show was a staple. It was always my favorite show and Lucille Ball always had me so enraptured it was as if she was a part of my family.

This summer is providing huge treats for Lucy fans as we get the beginning of the complete series of both THE LUCY SHOW and HERE'S LUCY. I am always amazed at how each series after I LOVE LUCY had a basic plot synopsis that was very real and believable while being very different from I LOVE LUCY. She was always LUCY, the madcap lovable persona who always got into trouble by trying to do the right thing. But Lucille Ball always stayed true to the basic plot of each series which was actually a stage for her to use her unique and original comedic gifts.

Here she plays Lucy Carter, a widow with two children and it is such fun to see her with her own children Lucie and Desi Jr. She works for her grumpy, penny piching brother in law Harrison Carter who became a unique and perfect comedic partner for Lucy in many of her antics. Yes, the slapstick is a little different here. It is not as loose and doesn't appear as improvisational (We all know she never improvized and rehearsed like crazy.) She is older than I LOVE LUCY and uses different aspects of her comedic skills. Her comedic timing and expressions are priceless and just as hilarious as any splapstick situation. Believe me, the slapstick is still here but we get a little more of a mature LUCY and all it does is show even further how gifted Lucille Ball was.

There are 24 glorious episodes in this season one of HERE'S LUCY and they are brilliantly remastered. The color and clarity are crystal clear. This is what all of us Lucy fans have been waiting for. To see the great comedienne in color is a gift in itself but this set is put together with such loving care. It is overflowing with extras. Each episode has an intro. There are Lucy home movies, Lucie and Desi Jr. screen tests and many featurettes and interviews. Lucille Ball managed to make the entire carnation of the character LUCY starting with I LOVE LUCY to always be vulnerable, intelligent with a certain innocence and always hilarious with a true heart of gold. She managed to make sure the antics never went over the top so the viewer can always root for LUCY. This series is a part of television history and the true comedic legacy that is Lucille Ball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Here's HERE'S LUCY Season One", September 14, 2009
This review is from: Here's Lucy: Season 1 (DVD)
I have just finished viewing "HERE'S LUCY: Season One" and I am very pleased and impressed. The episodes have beautiful picture and sound quality. The opening theme is trimmed to eliminate Roy Rowan saying "brought to you by...," but considering we got a taste of the full length opening in Shout Factory's best of HERE'S LUCY episodes, we can live with that. The episode featuring Cesar Romero is a little too tall. I could tell that from the opening episode credits after the main theme. The heads get cut off a little and the image looks slightly off centered vertically, but it looks better from the party scene on. None of the commercial breaks are trimmed as with "THE LUCY SHOW: The Official First Season," so it makes for a very pleasant experience watching these shows from beginning to end. We get plenty of great extras thanks to Lucie Arnaz, Desi Arnaz, Jr., and many other participants. I can't wait for season two this November and I am also awaiting MPI's release of THE MOTHERS-IN-LAW later this year. If you love HERE'S LUCY, you will love this DVD collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, CRYSTAL CLEAR QUALITY!, September 5, 2009
By 
DanManTN (Johnson City, TN USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Here's Lucy: Season 1 (DVD)
I hesitated to buy this DVD as a fear of quality issues. The only time that I had seen this series over the years was during late night reruns. The quality was always terrible in those old re-runs and I feared it would show up here. As a matter of fact, those old reruns actually gave me a reason to NOT buy it.

I WAS SUPRISED to see crystal clear remastering of this great show. The quality of the DVD is SO good, it gives new magic to the show! The additional interviews with the children and other former guests make it even more entertaining and a way to learn some of the behind the scenes info on the actors. It's a bit strange (in a good way) to see Lucy in more modern backdrops that what we're accustomed to seeing on DVD.

Again, brilliant remaster, and seems almost like "new" films. One episode was even filmed on location at the L.A. airport...wild to see how much that place has changed and the brilliance of the quality (can even read vintage ads in the background). I'm viewing this on a 1080p TV with a 1080p true upconverting DVD player--but it looks great even on a regular television.

Yes, Lucy is older, comedy is a bit old fashioned and antics sometimes corny, but any Lucy fan will enjoy this great new DVD...I'll be waiting for Season 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Here's Lucy Season 1
Here's Lucy Season 1 by Jack Donohue
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.