Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film
Finally this film will be available for purchase!

This is a beautiful film about growing up in the "school of hard knocks" in Venezuela. A tough but tender film with an ending that will leave you breathless with surprise. A must see for all aficionados of Latin American Spanish-language drama.
Published on October 27, 2012 by Chuquicamata

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching for the ending
One of those movies that gets your interest at the beginning, but then sort of drags in the middle. I started watching it and shut it off half way through as it lost my attention in the middle of the movie. I was glad I finished it the following night as the ending was a bittersweet surprise.
Published 22 months ago by Sandra L. Koeller


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film, October 27, 2012
This review is from: Hermano (DVD)
Finally this film will be available for purchase!

This is a beautiful film about growing up in the "school of hard knocks" in Venezuela. A tough but tender film with an ending that will leave you breathless with surprise. A must see for all aficionados of Latin American Spanish-language drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Outstanding movie about brotherhood and a cautionary tale about the consequences of revenge. This is a very worthwhile movie to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Heart-Wrenching from an Unfortunately Common Condition, October 6, 2013
By 
Bernardo (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hermano (DVD)
The beginning of the film, the find of an abandoned infant, is as emotionally striking as the ending of the film; and through the story it weaves through the many times told scenes of the tough, brutal, and lawless lives of poor communities throughout Latin America and other parts of the world, yet told with a different nuance, naturalness and vividness which makes the viewing interesting. The film's acting, cinematography, and staging is remarkable; and, since it is centered around soccer, it provides a very close insight about the passion of the game, in very well choreographed scenes and shots, of film and of the ball, and presents it as it is, one of the only routes out of the characters predicament. But the movie is not about soccer, it is about human character, its vicissitudes, and its redeeming aspects from within our humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How the other half lives in Caracas, April 24, 2014
This review is from: Hermano (DVD)
I was surprised to find such mediocre ratings of this film on Rotten Tomatoes, where many of the professional critics disparage the film for some of its cinematic cliches and hard to believe plot twists. Had I not lived in Venezuela for 5 years, I might have agreed with them, but sadly, the violence in this film is a pretty accurate reflection of life in the barrios of Venezuela, especially Caracas. The film, full of references that Venezuelan audiences would get, also relates themes such as honor, love of family, and vigilante justice which are very much the essence of Venezuelan culture. I'm also not a particularly huge fan of 'futbol', but the soccer scenes in this film are quite enticing. That is not to say that non-Venezuelans would not appreciate this film - if you can look beyond some of the melodramatic coincidences and empathize with the current experiences of people trying to make a living in places like Catia, I think you will also find this a very poignant and powerful film about the trade-offs between sacrificing on behalf of loved ones who died versus sacrificing for those loved ones still alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice film!, July 16, 2013
This review is from: Hermano (DVD)
Nice film of two brothers who play football to get out of their poor life in Venezuela. Really moved pictures, for ones who like films with brotherhood. This is a very worthwhile movie to see. Excellent how they catch the interest of the viewer. Everyone who looks for a film for a film night with the brother - perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "We wake up everyday, knowing that it's still a game of Zero-Zero, Zero Zero.", July 31, 2014
By 
Kafishna (California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hermano (DVD)
If you like football, are sensitive to tragedy, and fond of human spirit, I think you will like it.
It's not exactly about football in the end, often about gritty struggle of survival and about either listening to the call of the wild, or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HERMANO movie, January 11, 2013
This review is from: Hermano (DVD)
HERMANO: Excelent movie. Very moved. And very priced. Congratulations to Director Marcel Rasquin and also the actors. Good luck! And more movies...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wonderful Film!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching for the ending, April 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of those movies that gets your interest at the beginning, but then sort of drags in the middle. I started watching it and shut it off half way through as it lost my attention in the middle of the movie. I was glad I finished it the following night as the ending was a bittersweet surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hermano
Hermano by Marcel Rasquin (DVD - 2012)
$29.95 $14.99
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.