Customer Reviews


1,137 Reviews
5 star:
 (812)
4 star:
 (208)
3 star:
 (54)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


385 of 437 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To everything there's a season and a time to every purpose
What if you discovered that you had a superpower -- great strength, flight, teleportation, or amazing healing? And what if you could use it to save the world?

Superheroes are everywhere in entertainment, from comic books to movies. But few manage to be as intelligent, geeky and well-written as "Heroes," a solid comic-book style TV series that explores the...
Published on May 19, 2007 by E. A Solinas

versus
23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great show, NOT truly Blu-Ray quality
The show is great...watched it on DVD once already. But I'm very disappointed in the supposed Blu-ray quality of the discs. Scenes are granulated and few scenes are truly Blu-ray'd out. They were so much more expensive, but you can just about get the same quality on DVD...certainly not enough of an upgrade to justify the price increase.
Published on September 5, 2008 by LovePortofino


‹ Previous | 1 2114 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

385 of 437 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To everything there's a season and a time to every purpose, May 19, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heroes - Season One (DVD)
What if you discovered that you had a superpower -- great strength, flight, teleportation, or amazing healing? And what if you could use it to save the world?

Superheroes are everywhere in entertainment, from comic books to movies. But few manage to be as intelligent, geeky and well-written as "Heroes," a solid comic-book style TV series that explores the repercussions of several "ordinary" people who discover that they have strange -- and sometimes dangerous -- powers.

It opens with Mohinder Suresh (Sendhil Ramamurthy) reflecting on the human quest for knowledge -- even knowledge that we shouldn't have -- right before learning that his father has been killed, possibly murdered. Suresh's dad believed that "special" people were cropping up, much like in X-Men.

And we are introduced to the "heroes": stripper Niki (Ali Larter) harbors a secret dark side, cheerleader Claire (Hayden Panettiere) heals from any injury, Japanese Dilbert Hiro (Masi Oka) can bend time and space, Senatorial candidate Nathan (Adrian Pasdar) is able to fly, his brother Peter (Milo Ventimiglia) can copy others' powers, a cop Matt (Greg Grunberg) can read minds, and junkie artist Isaac (Santiago Cabrera) sees the future. There are plenty of others that show up, but these start the ball rolling.

While Claire and Hiro explore the potential of their new powers, Niki and her son try to elude some hired thugs --and end up overwhelmed by her dark side, and framed. And Suresh searches for the answer to his father's death, only to find that his genetics research is involved with the "special people," and that a superpowered serial killer is targeting them.

Even worse, Hiro takes a trip to New York (five weeks in the future), and sees the city destroyed by a massive blast -- as does Isaac, through his paintings. How to stop it? As a future Hiro tells them, "save the cheerleader, save the world." The Heroes begin slowly coming into contact, in a haze of dreams, visions, murder, swords and death -- and to stop the serial killer and save New York, more sacrifices may be made...

Unlike most shows about people with superpowers, "Heroes" isn't really about the action or flashy battles. It's half epic save-the-world-as-a-team story, and half exploration of how real, ordinary people would react if they suddenly found out that they had superpowers, and how this would change -- or NOT change -- their lives.

The storylines are incredibly intricate and complex, since there are a dozen subplots and a lot of time travel, and plenty of hints at future events. The careful painting of all these storylines even further in two episodes, one of which shows the pre-Heroic lies of the characters (and how Syler became a murderous terror), and another that shows what the future will be like if they don't change it. It's not a pretty picture.

These complex storylines are enhanced by lots of suspense and tightly directed action, and the makers always know how to throw in a shocking twist, such as a sword-carrying future Hiro showing up.. But there is also some poignancy, and very dark humor from time to time (Claire waking up in mid-autopsy, or twisting her broken neck around). Not to mention some great, sometimes geeky dialogue ("Where did you learn all this?" "X-men No. 143 when Kitty Pryde time travels!").

The actors are pretty much all good -- Larter gives a great double performance, Zachary Quinto is a wonderfully twisted villain, and Panettiere gives a good performance as a teen whose adolescence has a lot more than hormones in store. Masi Oka is the standout, though -- his Hiro is sweet, endearing, geeky, heroic, sad, kindly, funny and thoroughly lovable. The scene where he arrives in New York is adorable.

The "Heroes" are only starting their journey, and the first season of this geeky hit is a must-see for fans of intelligent sci-fi drama. And I doubt their journey is over...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What TV is meant to be, July 25, 2007
This review is from: Heroes - Season One (DVD)
I cannot emphasize enough that this is a stellar example of the power of character driven TV that follows a continuous plotline. If you're looking for something that you can tune into and out of then this isn't the show for you. If, however, you're looking for TV that is engaging, intriguing, and innovative then this is the show for you.

My preferred activity is normally reading and I don't watch much TV because, frankly, I find most TV subpar. Imagine my delight when I tuned into this show mostly out of curiosity and ended the season a diehard fan. I never missed an episode and looked forward to each new one with great anticipation. I give most of the credit for this to where I feel the credit is due: the writing. The writers for this show did a masterful job of creating an involving story arc and in giving the viewer just enough information to keep him or her coming back for more. Answers to various questions were carefully dolled out over the course of the season so that the viewer never feels frustrated by too little story dragged out over too much time. The pacing of this season was, in a word, perfect.

The other reason to devour this show is the characters and, in particular, the endearing and wonderful Hiro. My favorite of the characters, Hiro exemplifies that childlike joy that some people possess when they discover they are particularly talented at something. He provides comic relief without being too silly and his earnestness make him very lovable. His faithful friend and sidekick Ando is certainly not to be overlooked either and these two make for a truly dynamic duo. As far as complexity goes, my vote goes to Claire who starts out struggling with typical teenager desires and grows and develops over the course of the season until she is easily the most sympathetic character.

Excellent writing and excellent characters would mean little without the acting to back them up, though, and this show has that in abundance. All of the actors imbue their characters with life and believability so that even though the bulk of them are possessed of superhuman powers they still seem like the kind of people who could be your nextdoor neighbors.

I simply can't say enough good things about this show. I encourage everyone who enjoys really engaging, story and character driven, and thought-provoking television to watch this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A review of the Blu-Ray version, January 14, 2010
By 
D. W. Knott (Red Wing, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm not even going to review the show, as many people countless times have said what I already think in other reviews. I'm going to cover the quality of the Blu-Ray, and whether you should upgrade from your DVD/HD-DVD. Needless to say, this season has great acting, a great story, great special effect (for TV), and great writing. It's a shame the series went crazy after Bryan Fuller left after this season, but when he returned in Volume 4 the show became good again. Here's hoping the show keeps the quality up!

VIDEO QUALITY: 3.5

Sadly, Heroes' video quality is pretty disappointing. That's not to say the video quality is bad by any means, but I expect better from a show with such high production value as Heroes.

I'll start off with the positive: The video quality is light-years ahead of the DVD release. Gone is the macro-blocking and over-sharpening of the DVD video, and in is the high detail and bright colors of the Blu-Ray video. With TV shows in general on Blu-Ray, the detail captured on faces in particular makes the difference night and day. Special effects shots are great even if a little blurry (an apparent move to try and hide the show's limited budget), and backgrounds are much more detailed than the HDTV broadcast. Colors like blue, red, and green all jump off of the screen and mesmerize you. Digital noise like artifacting is also kept pretty low for the most part, and the video has much better sharpening than the DVD release. The text for Hiro and Ando's conversations is also easier to read. They were slightly blurry on the DVD release throughout, but they stand out as clear as day in HD.

Now for the bad: The film grain. I'd estimate around 60% of shots in Heroes have noticeable film grain in them, which can obscure detail and sticks out like a sore thumb on white backgrounds. I don't know why such an absurd amount of shots have this, and the only reasons I can guess are: 1) Budgeting caused the producers to go with a lower grade of film. 2) Poor camera set up. 3) It's an artistic move to make the show look like it's on paper (i.e. like a comic book). Either way, the near constant layer of grain can be very distracting, especially in wide shots or shots with white backgrounds. Another major downside is that digital noise pops up randomly in black areas. This is the only place noise appears on a regular basis, and it mostly happens in scenes with Mohinder for some reason. For scenes with other characters like Matt or Peter, the blacks are rich and deep throughout. One last thing is that once in a while it is very obvious when they use digital noise reduction to reduce the amount of grain on the screen. In one shot in particular a white wall in the background had this bizarre flickering effect that none of the other walls in that scene had, and it was very distracting.

Despite the film grain and random noise, Heroes Season One on Blu-Ray is by far the best way to view the show. The colors and facial detail will definitely blow you away as I was when I popped the first disc in.

SOUND QUALITY: 4.0

The sound presentation of Heroes Season One is better than its video presentation, and again exceeds the original DVD audio by leaps and bounds. Voices and sound effects come through very clearly on the 5.1 DTS-HD MA mix, and the new detail from the LFE track helps punctuate the musical score and sound effects much better than the DD mix on the DVD release. Really, until you hear how much detail the LFE track adds to the viewing experience, you don't know what you're missing. My only gripe with the sound presentation is that the mix is mostly front heavy, and very rarely makes use of the rear speakers. I understand that this is only a television show, and that most people watch TV with stereo speakers, but Heroes was one of the shows at the front of the HD revolution when it premiered. Part of the HD revolution is surround sound, and having your show touted as being part of that revolution while not taking full advantage of it is disappointing. If you only have stereo speakers, this makes no difference to you, but it's a bit of a let down for those of us who've invested in surround sound.

PRESENTATION: 5.0

What Heroes Season One lacks in audio and video, it makes up for with a wonderful presentation. This release uses Universal Media's U-Control, which is a standard layout for menus and such for Blu-Ray releases. If you don't know how to use it, there's a little instruction pamphlet included with the packaging, so you don't need to go Googling for help on the internet. After the disc loads, it goes straight to the menu instead of having to sit through piracy warnings and stuff. Speaking of which, you actually have the option to skip all of the promos, warnings, and legal stuff unlike a lot of other Blu-Ray releases (and the original DVD), which instantly makes the presentation awesome. The packaging is also slightly bigger and heavier than the DVD release, but the artwork on the inside is better than the DVD release in my opinion. Because of the bigger space on Blu-Ray discs, the series comes on 5 discs instead of 7 like with the DVD and HD-DVD releases.

SPECIAL FEATURES: 3.5

Heroes Season One comes with all of the special features the DVD had with a few exclusives of its own. This includes deleted scenes for a lot of episodes, some behind the scenes features, audio commentary on the last 12 episodes, and a few PIP commentaries. The (yet again) disappointing part is that most of these special features come in 4:3 480i instead of 16:9 1080p. The hand full that come in HD are the original pilot, the BD-Live stuff, the Artwork Presentations (the Tim Sale artwork featured in Isaac's future paintings) and the Character Connections stuff (essentially a bio of each character on the show).

OVERALL: 4.0

Heroes Season One is the best season of the show so far. As I mentioned before, the show got really stupid for a long time after this until Bryan Fuller came back in the middle of Volume 4. Now Heroes is good again, and we have a pretty good Blu-Ray release of its best season to remember it by. With good video mastering and great audio coupled with good special features and awesome presentation, I recommend this Blu-Ray package to any Heroes fan out there. My only warning about buying this is the price. Right now the price is $50, which is way too much to be reasonable (like most other Blu-Ray releases at the moment). At most, I would only pay about $35 for this release. Anymore than $35 is a rip-off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great season with a packed DVD, May 24, 2007
By 
SRFireside "ZOOM!" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Heroes - Season One (DVD)
Looks like somebody took the whole superhero craze we have been getting over the past few years and came up with a truly innovative and compelling television series. Heroes isn't your standard comic book fan's television show. This is some serious writing with drama, depth and yeah... some fun and action as well.

What makes this show so great is the large cast of characters who all seem to have significance in the story. Even better is that all of these characters come from different backgrounds and approach life in different ways, but at the same time there is something special about them. Everybody has that fantasy of being special and this show has at least one character in it you can identify with.

The writing is almost pitch perfect with every episode giving you something to get excited about. The show is done in serial format so what happens in one episode resonates throughout the series, and Heroes takes it to a grand level. Sometimes you get a great cliffhanger styled ending and sometimes you just a cool revelation. Either way each ep is sure to please. That's especially for the last episode of the season, which answers a lot of questions, keeps the lesser questions still hanging, asks even more questions, and ties up the major loose ends nicely. So nicely that even if the show never made to the second season you would have a well-rounded story from beginning to end.

Now for the DVD. If you are going to do it this is the way to go! This DVD is packed. Here's what you get:

- An extended version of the pilot episode. 73 minutes long according to my sources. That's an extra 30 minutes AND includes footage of a never before seen character! Well... people saw it at the San Diego ComicCon last year, but that's besides the point.

- 50 (that's right... 50!!!) deleted and extended scenes.

- Making of Heroes featurette as well as specials on the stunts, special effects, and music score.

- Special profile of Tim Sale: the artist who does Isacc Mendez' paintings.

- A mind reading mini-game (don't ask me... that's what I heard).

This is going to be a killer DVD set. I also heard Heroes season 1 will come out on HD DVD. The buzz is they will include special features exclusive to the HD version in addition to all of the features already on the DVD. So if you have an HD-DVD player you will probably want to forego the regular release and get the HD version.

Anyway if you like the show you will love the DVD (or HD DVD if that's your thing). Doesn't matter if you're a comic book fan, sci-fi/fantasy fan, or whatever. If you like good stories in the serial format this show is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent show, June 2, 2007
By 
cp_mistyrose (NJ, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heroes - Season One (DVD)
The first time I heard about this show, I rolled my eyes. After all, it was by no means original. Every character (with the possible exception of Nikki/ Jessica) was already done by X-Men. Claire (Wolverine's healing), DL (Kitty Pryde), Peter (Mimic), Nathan (at least 5 characters)... I probably only watched it so I could see how it compared to X-Men. And then, I was hooked.

There is plenty of action to go around in the season. What had me just as hooked was the characters. They were by no means shallow. They had to deal with real problems - cheating spouse, living up to his parent's standards, fear of what parents would say if they knew who they really were... While some of them had deeper stories and personalities than others, I loved how the good vs. evil line remained blurred. For example: Was Bennet (Claire's dad), perceived as evil in the first few episodes, really bad? On the other hand, the "bad" guy felt guilty at the loss of innocent human lives. It was not a simple "we're good, you're evil, let's fight, good wins" type of show.

Fans of the X-Men will not be disappointed in this show. Any sci-fi fans, not to mention action/ drama fans will absolutely love it. It is definitely a must-see. I can't wait to see all the extras myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great show, NOT truly Blu-Ray quality, September 5, 2008
By 
LovePortofino (Wish I were in Italy) - See all my reviews
The show is great...watched it on DVD once already. But I'm very disappointed in the supposed Blu-ray quality of the discs. Scenes are granulated and few scenes are truly Blu-ray'd out. They were so much more expensive, but you can just about get the same quality on DVD...certainly not enough of an upgrade to justify the price increase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To everything there's a season and a time to every purpose, May 23, 2007
What if you discovered that you had a superpower -- great strength, flight, teleportation, or amazing healing? And what if you could use it to save the world?

Superheroes are everywhere in entertainment, from comic books to movies. But few manage to be as intelligent, geeky and well-written as "Heroes," a solid comic-book style TV series that explores the repercussions of several "ordinary" people who discover that they have strange -- and sometimes dangerous -- powers.

It opens with Mohinder Suresh (Sendhil Ramamurthy) reflecting on the human quest for knowledge -- even knowledge that we shouldn't have -- right before learning that his father has been killed, possibly murdered. Suresh's dad believed that "special" people were cropping up, much like in X-Men.

And we are introduced to the "heroes": stripper Niki (Ali Larter) harbors a secret dark side, cheerleader Claire (Hayden Panettiere) heals from any injury, Japanese Dilbert Hiro (Masi Oka) can bend time and space, Senatorial candidate Nathan (Adrian Pasdar) is able to fly, his brother Peter (Milo Ventimiglia) can copy others' powers, a cop Matt (Greg Grunberg) can read minds, and junkie artist Isaac (Santiago Cabrera) sees the future. There are plenty of others that show up, but these start the ball rolling.

While Claire and Hiro explore the potential of their new powers, Niki and her son try to elude some hired thugs --and end up overwhelmed by her dark side, and framed. And Suresh searches for the answer to his father's death, only to find that his genetics research is involved with the "special people," and that a superpowered serial killer is targeting them.

Even worse, Hiro takes a trip to New York (five weeks in the future), and sees the city destroyed by a massive blast -- as does Isaac, through his paintings. How to stop it? As a future Hiro tells them, "save the cheerleader, save the world." The Heroes begin slowly coming into contact, in a haze of dreams, visions, murder, swords and death -- and to stop the serial killer and save New York, more sacrifices may be made...

Unlike most shows about people with superpowers, "Heroes" isn't really about the action or flashy battles. It's half epic save-the-world-as-a-team story, and half exploration of how real, ordinary people would react if they suddenly found out that they had superpowers, and how this would change -- or NOT change -- their lives.

The storylines are incredibly intricate and complex, since there are a dozen subplots and a lot of time travel, and plenty of hints at future events. The careful painting of all these storylines even further in two episodes, one of which shows the pre-Heroic lies of the characters (and how Syler became a murderous terror), and another that shows what the future will be like if they don't change it. It's not a pretty picture.

These complex storylines are enhanced by lots of suspense and tightly directed action, and the makers always know how to throw in a shocking twist, such as a sword-carrying future Hiro showing up.. But there is also some poignancy, and very dark humor from time to time (Claire waking up in mid-autopsy, or twisting her broken neck around). Not to mention some great, sometimes geeky dialogue ("Where did you learn all this?" "X-men No. 143 when Kitty Pryde time travels!").

The actors are pretty much all good -- Larter gives a great double performance, Zachary Quinto is a wonderfully twisted villain, and Panettiere gives a good performance as a teen whose adolescence has a lot more than hormones in store. Masi Oka is the standout, though -- his Hiro is sweet, endearing, geeky, heroic, sad, kindly, funny and thoroughly lovable. The scene where he arrives in New York is adorable.

The "Heroes" are only starting their journey, and the first season of this geeky hit is a must-see for fans of intelligent sci-fi drama. And I doubt their journey is over...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Save a TV Season..., June 1, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heroes - Season One (DVD)
It seems like every show that I start to enjoy on TV lasts a few episodes and then gets promptly cancelled. Thankfully Heroes did not suffer that fate!

This ambitious show does not fit into the typical mold of a "hit TV show." What is more surprising is that it is on NBC, one of the "big" networks and not on a cable channel. With all that said, Heroes really delivered in it's freshmen season. It gave us interesting characters, fantastic powers, the right amount of humor, and the looming doom of catastrophe, all in a neat package.

Of course the show has it's critics, and I will agree that not every episode is hit out of the park, but they are all good in their own way. People have said that the stories and powers are unoriginal, taking things from Watchmen and X-Men, and all I can say to that is many movies and TV shows draw from other material and at least here they pay homage to great works of the past and use it interesting ways.

If you are looking for a new show with great flair and interesting characters and stories, check out Heroes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Save 5% off Heroes enter tvguide5, July 12, 2007
Once again we were late tuning in to a new hit show. After watching Heroes on NBC-HD we are looking forward to the HD-DVD release to see all the shows we missed.
I agree with the reviewer below that more information about the special futures are needed.
There is a list of special HD features on Tv Shows.com they claim to have confirmed, I can only assume their confirmation is correct, but I don't know any better than anyone else so please don't take my word as gospel on this.

"The following bonus material will be on the DVD and on the HD-DVD *Audio *Commentaries

*The 73-minute Un-Aired Original Series Premiere/Pilot from show creator Tim Kring (with optional audio commentary)
*50 Deleted Scenes
*Exclusive Behind-The-Scenes Featurettes:
*Making Of featurette
*Special Effects featurette
*Stunts featurette
*Tim Sale Profile featurette

*The Score featurette
*The following bonus material will be exclusive to the HD-DVD version ("Minder Reader" is in 480p; the other two are 1080p):
*Minder Reader (Interactive Activity)
*U-Control with the following:-Artwork Presentation -Character Connections -Helix Revealed -Genetic Abilities Test
*Connectivity Features -Download Center including User Registration"

Oh and the reason you probably bothered reading this at all: Save 5% off Heroes enter tvguide5

Promotion valid through August 31, 2007. Entitles buyer to save an additional 5% off Amazon.com's already discounted prices. Enter the code "tvguide5" during the checkout process (on the "Shipping & Payment" screen) to have the savings applied. The 5% discount will only be applied to the above titles, and can be used multiple times during the promotion period.

[...]
[....]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By far, the most intelligently thought out series in a loooong time, June 25, 2007
By 
Miss Linda (SF East Bay, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heroes - Season One (DVD)
I hate television. I never, ever watch tv. But I saw a preview for this show over the summer of 2006 while in a movie theatre. It totally caught my eye, and I decided to actually be home the day it came on and watched it - must have been the commercial-free pilot episode. It sucked me in. Maybe it was the fact that they cast a stunningly handsome Milo Ventimiglia as the empathic mimicrist Peter Petrelli - or the goofy and lovable Masi Oka as the time-travelling Japanese businessman with complete faith in saving the world? Not sure, but the brilliant writing hooked me.

Granted, there were moments throughout the season where some of the actors' lackluster acting skills had me groaning through some scenes, but it all melded together beautifully. The writing, each and every word, came together for some reason. Not a single thing in this series is put there for chance. EVERYTHING MEANS SOMETHING. And I love that they don't leave you dangling and wanting to hang yourself - the writers totally answer your questions (but also leave you asking several more....)

Sure... we all wanted to see more action with Sylar vs. Peter - but let's not forget... these are 'Ordinary People with Extraordinary Powers'.... you try dealing with this stuff in your life ;)

I don't understand why anyone would not like this show. As someone who has not enjoyed television for a long time, I can certainly say this series has been a breath of MUCH NEEDED fresh air. Definitely something for everyone - an intelligent, brilliant, edge-of-your-seat show that keeps you satisfied, yet wanting more after every show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2114 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Heroes - Season One
Heroes - Season One by Hayden Panettiere (DVD - 2007)
$39.98 $11.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.