Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Product description is misleading, too.
I have several of the HexBug Nanos, and I have a great time playing with them. They really do resemble tiny, fast moving bugs that race around their habitat. The problem is that the product description for this toy says, "Hexbugs are designed with two touch-sensitive antennae that sense obstacles and direct them to reverse and change direction on their six articulated...
Published on January 31, 2011 by R. S. Home

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Batteries don't last long.
I got these for my children as stocking stuffers. They enjoyed them immensely, making an obstacle course in a big box to watch these little guys maneuver around. They also loved that they glowed in the dark. Until the batteries ran out.. I would say total play time was an hour. I didn't have more batteries, so that was that. I know these can come as a pack with lots of...
Published on January 17, 2012 by kiki


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Product description is misleading, too., January 31, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: One Hexbug Nano Glow-in-the-Dark Micro-Robotic Creature (colors may vary) (Toy)
I have several of the HexBug Nanos, and I have a great time playing with them. They really do resemble tiny, fast moving bugs that race around their habitat. The problem is that the product description for this toy says, "Hexbugs are designed with two touch-sensitive antennae that sense obstacles and direct them to reverse and change direction on their six articulated legs. They re even sound-sensitive! Clap your hand, slap the table or make some other loud noise and your Hexbug will stop and change direction." While that is true of some of the larger HexBugs, it is NOT true of the Nano. The Nano has no antennae, and does not respond to touch or sound. You cannot control where it will go. It can't stop or back up. The Nano has 12 rubber, non-articulated legs which are curved so that the vibrations its body makes produce rapid, forward movement. It has a wedge-shaped head which will cause it to turn slightly when it meets with an obstacle, keeping it from getting stuck against things. The result is a very life-like movement, similar to that of a beetle or a very small hamster. This may not sound very appealing, but they are actually quite charming. Their frantic movements give you the impression that they are "exploring" their world, and you want to see what they "do" next. You can buy one of the specially designed "habitats" for them, or create an obstacle course for them out of a shoebox and small things they can "play" with. (We like to put a small, rubber ball and an empty toilet paper tube in a shoe box and see how long it takes the random motions of the Nano to push the ball through the tube!) These are mesmerizing little toys that are good for hours of fun. A perfect "pet" for a child who is not yet ready for the responsibilities of owning a living animal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hexbug Nano is worth it., January 10, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Hexbug Nano Glow-in-the-Dark Micro-Robotic Creature (colors may vary) (Toy)
Bought about 7 Hexbug Nanos for nephews ages 3 to 10 and they loved them! We made tracks and mazes and raced them. The Nano is quite tiny (about 1" x 0.5"), and they can end up in very tight places if you let them get away. One got between the dishwasher and the kitchen cabinet and had to be surgically removed! Also, you will need a magnifying glass to read the instructions or change the battery (really).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product - Read the product description, December 17, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: One Hexbug Nano Glow-in-the-Dark Micro-Robotic Creature (colors may vary) (Toy)
This item was exclusive to Brookstone until about December 15th. Brookstone originally listed this product with photos of all available colors. The product description however states that you are getting one Hexbug in a random color. Nowhere on the listing does it say set or set of 5 etc. It is not fair for those who ordered without reading the product description and simply assumed they were getting a set because one of each color is illustrated in the photographs. Red Rocket Hobbies contacted Amazon to have their photos of singles shown and to get the listing updated to make sure people didn't assume.

Amazon has full control over which seller gets to have product information shown on product pages, even if they are wrong. If you want to complain to a company you should contact Brookstone who listed the product in the first place. I hope this helps shed some light on this description problem.

The glow in the dark Hexbugs are very cool toys and are in very limited supply this holiday season. I've never seen them sell for $5 as stated in another review. The market and demand always sets the price everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Batteries don't last long., January 17, 2012
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Hexbug Nano Glow-in-the-Dark Micro-Robotic Creature (colors may vary) (Toy)
I got these for my children as stocking stuffers. They enjoyed them immensely, making an obstacle course in a big box to watch these little guys maneuver around. They also loved that they glowed in the dark. Until the batteries ran out.. I would say total play time was an hour. I didn't have more batteries, so that was that. I know these can come as a pack with lots of batteries included, for lots more money. If you are going to purchase them, I would recommend buying them with lots of extra batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Save $, create enclosures w/ blocks instead of buying a habitat, January 18, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: One Hexbug Nano Glow-in-the-Dark Micro-Robotic Creature (colors may vary) (Toy)
5 year old son wanted the larger spider & ant & another insect I forget. But after I reviewed that product & other similar toys, these bugs seemed like the clear winner to me based on reviews. I followed suggestions to buy at least 2 to see how they move together, more interesting than just one bug people said. Also bought glow in the dark per reviews.(Very Cool) The habitats seemed pretty popular (& add ons for them as well). But I thought if we already have small wooden blocks and big cardboard "bricks" why not use what toys the kids already have? This way we're not adding to a landfill in a few years. Also, by not buying anything to contain these little buggers, the kids would have to spent more time building/ creating their own habitats. This has worked out FABULOUSLY! They build long runs & mazes side by side, with each bug having its own identical space, and then watch the bugs "race" through their creations to see who the winning bug is. This is fun, simple, creative, and saves $$ I don't have to shell out for a habitat that doesn't have any other useful purpose. Now my 7 yr old son AND my husband want to get their own bugs. Everyone is taken with such a clever little gadget. They truly seem like real insects. Even the cat is fascinated by them. As for batteries, we have not had to change them yet, & they've had a LOT of play time. For what it's worth, my husband is a diabetic & his pump runs on these batteries. So if anyone out there is a diabetic w/ pump, you have an unlimited supply of these batteries at your finger tips, just remove them before discarding your pump. Store them so they do not touch each other, so they do not drain their energy. We tape ours to a piece of cardboard. This is not an educational toy, it's just pure fun. Building your own structures to contain these little creatures does add a smidge of educational value, right? Found this toy @ WALMART for much cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grandson and Grandma entranced, April 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Hexbug Nano Glow-in-the-Dark Micro-Robotic Creature (colors may vary) (Toy)
These little bugs scurry around in a random fashion and we discovered we could sit for ages and watch them. While they have a tiny little off-on switch, my 9 year old grandson had no problem with them and carefully turned them off when not in use. You do want to get spare batteries in bulk (Amazon carries them) so you don't have to head for a nearby store and pay much higher prices. Grandson decided he needed another hexbug, so I ordered him another. They're great, and I still can't believe how entertaining they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why glow inthe dark hexbugs are cool, March 15, 2011
By 
Kathy Kloske (Fort Pierce, FL United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Hexbug Nano Glow-in-the-Dark Micro-Robotic Creature (colors may vary) (Toy)
THIS IS AWSOME THIS IS AWSOME THIS IS AWSOME perfect additition to your collection + perfect starter bug.the pattern is really cool and the glow is really strong.BUY THIS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clearly this is a cat toy, August 7, 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Hexbug Nano Glow-in-the-Dark Micro-Robotic Creature (colors may vary) (Toy)
Three kitties were immediately interested and now have it cornered. It's nice that it doesn't make a lot of noise. We'll probably need to get more when this finds its way under the furniture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My cat likes it... somewhat, March 25, 2012
By 
Abe (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Hexbug Nano Glow-in-the-Dark Micro-Robotic Creature (colors may vary) (Toy)
I don't have any kids. I got this for my cat to play with. It doesn't move fast enough for her to chase, but she likes watching it, and walking over to bat at it when it gets stuck or goes behind something.

It's annoying that it tends to go in circles. You can pull gently on the legs in a certain way to make it meander more in a straight line, but I feel like I'm always doing this.

It's super cool how it bounces off of obstructions and continues in a different direction, without any electronics or sensors at all, just elegant mechanical design.

It looks cool glowing in the dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT TOY, December 18, 2011
A Kid's Review
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: One Hexbug Nano Glow-in-the-Dark Micro-Robotic Creature (colors may vary) (Toy)
This toy is realy fun. I suggest that you have more than one or it could get boring plaing with it. Over all its a great toy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.