Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Hey Jude
Safety Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars11
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$18.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 20, 2002
A Fantastic (if not the best) Pickett LP. Great Muscle Shoals musicians and recording. Not a bad song on the whole record. Also includes Duane Allman and Bobby Womack. A first rate late 60's soul lp!!!!!!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2013
Wilson Pickett does a very good job on this Beatles number. He gives the song a soulful slant and manages to in some way make the song his own. No easy feat considering it's origins. The remainder of the cd has Wilson giving fine performances on some good soul numbers. A must for any Wilson Pickett fan.

John Walsh
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2009
Three giants come to mind when you think of R&B and Soul, Sam Cooke, Otis Redding, and the man singing the Beatles standard, Hey Jude... Wilson Pickett records this and other rough and ready tunes starting with, SAVE ME, BACK IN YOUR ARMS, TOE HOLD, NIGHT OWL, A MAN AND A HALF, SEARCH YOUR HEART, and Steppenwolf's, BORN TO BE WILD. Duane Allman takes the lead and a tight back up studio band, the Sweet Inspirations are all here for "Wicked" Pickett as the gritty singer eases through each song on this short eleven song compilation... recorded in Muscle Shoals, Alabama "Hey Jude" stands tall on it's own will and power - people make the world, people like Wilson Pickett made the music... my favorite soul album. Atlantic records, 1969, excellent audio.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2013
Bought the album on just hearing the title track on a program about the Allman bros. The whole album is great with a funky vibe and a great 60s recording sound.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2015
Wilson Pickett's version of Hey Jude is simple amazing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2014
Thanks to Duane Allman for the concept & background to this groundbreaking song!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2015
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2010
Indeed this is Duane Allman on some tracks including Hey Jude and Born to be Wild. When Eric Clapton was asked if he would mind id Allman stopped by the studio he was working at, Clapton responded, you mean the guy that plays the solo on Pickett's Hey Jude? And thus Derek and the Dominoes/Layla was born. Great licks on this album, unfortunately they are very limited and short lived, hence even they can become tedious after a decade or so. But one never gets tired of the emotion in his wailing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2006
frankly, i can't speak for the quality of this entire record becuase i've never heard it. of the individual songs, "man and a half" is a fine, perfectly serviceable number and "hey jude" is a geat take on the song, but neither of them really matter, not compared to what waits at the end of this album. "people make the world (what it is)" is certainly wilson pickett's most unjustly ignored song - try finding it listed on a standard greatest-hits package - but it's also one of the greatest soul songs ever recorded. the rest of this album could be recordings of cars being crushed into cubes and you would still get your money's worth. you could buy this, tape that single song and just listen to that and it would be worth it. better yet, go find a copy of the 45, which features "man and a half" on the a side. this will save you invaluable time because you can spend the time you would be wasting on the other songs appreciating the greatest soul sound ever set down on wax. and i say this not as a casual listener, but as an enormous fan of wilson pickett's music.

sadly, i only discovered today that wilson picket died january 19th, 2006, and i can only hope that in the future when his entire oeuvre is given the attention that it deserves this song will finally find its way into the lime-light. i can't think of any song so utterly perfect in its craftsmanship, so wrenching in its delivery, or so unshakeably, impossibly catchy as this one, and frankly i doubt we'll ever hear anything like it ever again now that mr. pickett is gone. i only wish i could have heard him sing it live.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2014
Horrible. Very strange mix
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.