Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Get it
So much easier than working through everything and got it on sale for 8 bucks. Even better. If you plan on spending time on the game, I'd say buy this and start enjoying it faster. PtW? Nah, Pay to Enjoy
Published 3 months ago by ColinB

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great initial effort, but now an orphaned title.
As a long time FPS gamer (since Wolfenstein 3D and Doom), and a veteran Tribes player (I still have my original Starsiege Tribes and Tribes 2 CDs from the mid 1990's), I was initially delighted that the franchise had made a comeback. Sure, there were a LOT of changes from the original Tribes, but the graphics were good, and they'd nailed the skiing mechanic, and had the...
Published 9 months ago by Reef Blastbody


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great initial effort, but now an orphaned title., October 12, 2013
As a long time FPS gamer (since Wolfenstein 3D and Doom), and a veteran Tribes player (I still have my original Starsiege Tribes and Tribes 2 CDs from the mid 1990's), I was initially delighted that the franchise had made a comeback. Sure, there were a LOT of changes from the original Tribes, but the graphics were good, and they'd nailed the skiing mechanic, and had the jet packs at about 95%. (the original game had much better maneuverability while in flight, Ascend once you're airborne, you're more or less going in a straight arc, and they made some very questionable decisions with the physics model that severely limits acceleration and top speed)

The weapons balance, initially, was also good. The heavy armor classes packed the biggest punch, but were limited in mobility compared to the lights and mediums. I didn't particularly care for them having 3 variations of each armor class (light, medium, heavy), and sure as hell didn't care for the reduction in weapons loadout to a primary and secondary, and a belt item (i.e. a grenade or mine). I know it was an incentive to drive people to cough up real money via micro-transactions to skip the grind of unlocking each classes optional weapons and so forth, but that doesn't mean I have to like it. However, after they started releasing new weapons (well, some were genuinely new, others were variations of the freebie guns that were textured with different colors and with slightly tweaked range/damage/splash radius/whatever) that were MASSIVELY overpowered in some manner, then later "nerfed" (nerfing is a term for reducing something's overall effectiveness.) due to the high volume of complaints from the user base. Examples are the Raider's plasma gun. When it first came out, the range/speed of the projectile, and the relatively massive size of the hit box (the size that the game engine uses to determine how close to the enemy you're shooting at to decide if you hit or not) gave the Raider class (and those who'd whipped out the credit card to buy some Tribes Gold to purchase it) an overwhelming advantage for a couple of weeks, until a patch was pushed out to nerf the plasma gun. This pattern repeated with every single new unique weapon that was released for each class. And some classes never got any new weapons that weren't re-colored variants of their original day one weapons. Mostly the heavy armor classes. Definitely created an atmosphere of "pay to win" on a free to play game.

The lack of a map making tool is also a serious oversight. Hi Rez states that end users lack the necessary "talent" to make maps that pass muster, but I would disagree. Many of my all time favorite maps in online FPS were those created by the community by people who loved the game and knew what worked (and was fun) and what didn't (and wasn't). Hi Rez is a krill larvae of a game company when compared to the blue whales like Electronic Arts, Sony Online or Blizzard, so it's somewhat understandable that since they struggle to get just one game at a time out and update it in a timely fashion (they only have *1* coder, after all), that their judgement would be colored thus, but still a blatant mistake. Does every person playing Tribes have the skills to make a good map in UnrealEdit? No. But all it takes is a handful to invigorate the game with new maps.

Which leads us to the present state of Tribes Ascend: it's pretty well abandonware at this point. Hi Rez has already stated that no further development will be done on Tribes Ascend. This is a nontrivial matter. The game is NOT stable or optimized well. If you have the misfortune of having an internet connection that's more than a couple of hops away from the (over taxed) servers, your gaming experience will be frustrated by high latency (lag) and dropped connections to the server. Cheating is also relatively common, as there are numerous UnrealScript scripts that allow unethical players to exploit programming mistakes left in the game by Hi Rez. One example is the "hitscan impulse" script: most of the bullet type weapons are "hit scan" i.e. wherever your crosshair is pointing when you click the fire button, it instantly hits, instead of the game calculating a simulated projectile path where the target could have moved out of the way by the time the projectile arrives. In Tribes, the force of the impact is given to the server by the game running on the end user's PC. With a hack, the cheater can have the game tell the server that his/her projectile hits it's target with enough force to send the other player flying across the map. Hi Rez has known about this cheat for months, but hasn't (and won't) do anything to fix it.

So, the TL:DR (too long: didn't read) summary of Tribes Ascend: almost, but not quite, and not likely to get fixed by Hi Rez. Play it for free, and if you're really that jazzed by it and willing to accept the risk that Hi Rez may well pull the plug on the Tribes servers at any time in the near future, plunk down the $30 or so (or wait for a promo like the recent $0.01 Game Of The Year deal they offered to Amazon's German customers) and get the Game Of The Year which unlocks all the weapons and skins, and blast away. It's still a fun game, but it almost hurts knowing how much *BETTER* it could be if someone with actual talent had it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get it, March 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
So much easier than working through everything and got it on sale for 8 bucks. Even better. If you plan on spending time on the game, I'd say buy this and start enjoying it faster. PtW? Nah, Pay to Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best game out there, March 18, 2014
By 
Adam C "AC" (The Marshall Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tribes: Ascend [Download] (Software Download)
Number of players is dwindling, the map rotations are dwindling, like every game it seems to be going slowly to its grave… But read the headline again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Nevermind, February 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tribes: Ascend [Download] (Software Download)
Glitchy. Evidently, would not load right. Some features were unresponsive. I uninstalled it. Looked like it could have been fun, though. Oh well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tribe: Ascend is the best in class for first person shooters., November 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tribes: Ascend [Download] (Software Download)
Tribe: Ascend is a great first person shooter (FPS) game. The best part is that you can jump into the game for free. The level design is very good and the maps are very big as well. The game offers 9 classes for you play around with. Each class has unique weapons and how can you go wrong with a game that has jetpacks? So whether you are flying or driving you will have a good time with Tribes: Ascend.

Thank you for reading my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Play free version it is the best and most rewarding., September 19, 2013
This review is from: Tribes: Ascend [Download] (Software Download)
I'm an avid gamer for the last 20 years. Tribes ascend is one of the most rewarding game plays to date. I can't disagree more with the reviewer--I've invested 380 hours on this game so far and I'm still learning and developing new skills. The weapon reward system and achievements in the game is the best I've ever seen and it keeps the game fresh. Yes there are a limited amount of maps, however character and skill development is endless in this multi-player setting. It's more challenging and rewarding earning experience for upgrades than purchasing the game or buying gold so...you don't need to spend a dime on this game--just download the free version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, July 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tribes: Ascend [Download] (Software Download)
PLAY WHAT LOAD OF BALONEY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best games I have ever played. Tribes Ascend lives up to its expectations, October 21, 2013
I am no stranger to the FPS genre, and I have played the Tribes franchise since Starsiege. (the game before Tribes 1)
Tribes revolutionized the FPS genre, and its speed, intense gameplay, and ingenuity influenced games to come. Hardcore Tribes players were becoming aggravated by the fact that no good sequel to Tribes 2 was coming out, and finally in 2011, Tribes Ascend became that game.

Pros:
High speed intense gameplay
Skill is a massive requirement
The game is NOT pay to win(spending 20 dollars unlocks every item, and if you don't spend it there is no large penalty)
The weapons and classes are balanced fairly well
There are levels and weapons to unlock, making the game more fun to play for a long period of time
You are rewarded based on skill, not grinding, but if you grind with no skill you still do get rewards as well
It has almost all of the good points from the older Tribes games, and it eliminated some of the bad ones

Cons:
There are very few maps (Only 18 different maps for Capture the flag, and only about 60 maps total)
The vehicles completely suck, it doesn't ruin the gameplay in any way, but it is a bit of a letdown since the older Tribes games had vehicles that were great fun to fly around in and bomb the enemy base with.

Overall Tribes Ascend is an amazing FPS game that will keep players entertained for hours on end. You can literally play Tribes Ascend for 2 days straight only taking bathroom breaks and still not even be close to getting bored with it.
This game is meant for hardcore players who want to get the very most out of an FPS game. If you are not a competitive player you may have trouble with this game. Once again, the gameplay is SO FAST and it has a vertical aspect that will lead to your death every time if you do not think on 3 axis.

Play Tribes Ascend... you will not be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for f2p..., July 14, 2013
Quite fun for a little while, but the lack of maps really, really kills it after a while, in concert with uninspiring game modes.

This is a huge problem with the f2p business model, it doesn't allow user created content, which quickly makes for a boring and repetitive game.

So it's fun for about... 5 or 7 hours, I'd say? You'll level up the class you love most, and then get rather bored due to lack of maps, bad game modes, and lack of depth and teamwork. Lack of VOIP is also unforgivable in this day and age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MUST go to home page to register before playing, December 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tribes: Ascend [Download] (Software Download)
I almost went nuts trying to register from the registration page/sign-on portal that comes up after I finished downloading the game and opening it. My cursor wouldn't appear in the boxes so I could register.

You have to go to the homepage to register,and then come back and log on. Once you do that things work fine.

I haven't played it yet,just watched some of the classes,so I just hit 4 stars because it seems interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tribes: Ascend [Download]
Tribes: Ascend [Download] by Hi-Rez Studios
$0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.