Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well built shoes, comfortable, unbeatable value.
This is my third pair of Hi-Tec shoes. I bought a pair of Hi-Tec shoes about 4 years ago at my local Dunham's store because they were on sale and seemed like a decent shoe for the price. I was amazed at how rugged and well built this brand of shoes are. I wore that first pair of Hi-Tecs as my regular shoes for about a year. During the winter I got them pretty dirty, so...
Published on June 14, 2012 by TVR

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars terrible shoe, falls apart quickly
I can't believe how quickly this shoe fell apart. the soles aren't even fully formed with rubber and within 2 months I had worn a few holes in them. I though hitech was a reputable shoe manufacturer. I haven't seen shoes of such low quality since buying a pair at wal-mart once.
Published on August 21, 2011 by D. patton


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well built shoes, comfortable, unbeatable value., June 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is my third pair of Hi-Tec shoes. I bought a pair of Hi-Tec shoes about 4 years ago at my local Dunham's store because they were on sale and seemed like a decent shoe for the price. I was amazed at how rugged and well built this brand of shoes are. I wore that first pair of Hi-Tecs as my regular shoes for about a year. During the winter I got them pretty dirty, so the following spring I designated them as my yard shoes to wear for mowing and working outside. I've worn them as my yard shoes for three full years. The tread is almost completely worn off the bottom of the shoes, but they are still holding up and are not showing any signs of coming apart. I am amazed at the beating those shoes have taken and are still holding up fine.

This is my second pair of "Berkeley" shoes, and I am very pleased with them. Here are the reasons why I like these shoes over other brands that I have tried.

1. They are comfortable. I have somewhat wide feet, and these fit me very comfortably.

2. The laces stay tied. I've had so many shoes that suffer from the problem of the laces constantly coming unraveled, which is very annoying. These shoes do not have that problem. I slip the shoes on and off, and have not had to re-tie the laces since I first bought them.

3. Lightweight. They are much lighter than a lot of the clunky trail/hiking shoes that you will find.

4. Water resistance. I don't think they are designed to be water resistant, but they do seem to have some water resistance. I have walked through wet grass and noticed that the water does not soak into the shoes and my feet stay dry. I doubt they would repel the water if I was going to spend a significant amount of time walking in wet grass, but just walking across the dew saturated yard a couple of times I have not gotten my socks wet. That definitely wouldn't happen if I were to wear my $90 Asics out in the wet grass. That's for sure.

5. Durability. I addressed this in my first paragraph. They are built very well and hold up to a beating. In my experience, they are like the Timex of shoes.

6. Breathable. The combination of leather and what I would call "meshy" material allows for a very breathable shoe. My feet to not get hot or sweaty in these shoes.

7 Price. I cannot believe how reasonable these shoes are priced. I have had many pairs of much more expensive shoes that did not perform or last half as long as these.

Overall an excellent buy and I am so glad that I discovered this brand of shoes. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars terrible shoe, falls apart quickly, August 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I can't believe how quickly this shoe fell apart. the soles aren't even fully formed with rubber and within 2 months I had worn a few holes in them. I though hitech was a reputable shoe manufacturer. I haven't seen shoes of such low quality since buying a pair at wal-mart once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for the money, July 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not the best running shoe out there, but ok for the money. Could be more supportive and responsive. If you want a basic trainer, this is it. This is the shoe for short trail runs. Not the shoe for those long high mountain runs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good shoes, August 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bought these for hubby who will not go to the store and buy his own shoes. Fit is good, lightweight, and are holding up well so far. He mows our lawn (over an acre) with a push mower and needed a durable, lightweight, comfortable shoe....this seems to be working out just fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked Awesome, September 27, 2011
By 
Weston (SAN JOSE, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I went and spent $100 at a specialty running store and got fleeced, I spent less than forty on these shoes and they are the best shoes for walking or running I have had in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good all-around shoe, November 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I may have worn this pair 400 miles so far. The only wear I see is on the heels.
Some shoes are inconvenient because the laces don't slide freely. These shoes go on and off easily.
Some shoe linings wear out quickly. These linings are holding up well.
Some shoes tend to come untied. These stay tied.
Some shoes are heavy. These are light.
Some soles collapse under the heels and balls of the feet as miles accumulate. These soles aren't caving in.
Some soles eventually separate from the uppers. These soles aren't coming loose.
Some soles bring grit and mud indoors. These soles don't bring much in.
Some soles are treacherous on slick surfaces. These soles hold well.
Some soles are cold in winter. These are warm.

Update: I won't buy Hi Tec shoes again.

From the time I started wearing these shoes, my toes were often numb at night. I didn't suspect the shoes because they were roomy. Six months later I was on my second pair. When I stopped wearing them for a week, my toes improved. Each time I wore them, I had trouble with numb toes afterward.

These shoes are loud. I now realize it's because they slam the balls of my feet to the pavement unlike any other shoes I've had. If I walk five miles, it's like slapping a concrete wall 10,000 times. It probably inflames blood vessels.

These would be great shoes if I didn't walk far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hi-Tec shoes about 4 years, February 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought a pair of Hi-Tec shoes about 4 years ago at my local Dunham's store because they were on sale and seemed like a decent shoe for the price. I was amazed at how rugged and well built this brand of shoes are. I wore that first pair of Hi-Tecs as my regular shoes for about a year. During the winter I got them pretty dirty, so the following spring I designated them as my yard shoes to wear for mowing and working outside. I've worn them as my yard shoes for three full years. The tread is almost completely worn off the bottom of the shoes, but they are still holding up and are not showing any signs of coming apart. I am amazed at the beating those shoes have taken and are still holding up fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good and reasonably priced off-road shoe..., July 29, 2014
This review is from: Hi-Tec Athletic Men's Berkeley Trail Running Shoe (Apparel)
I don't run regularly any longer, but my frequent hikes on the hilly, rocky terrain of fire rounds surrounding a nearby reservoir are well-served at walking speeds by these shoes.

They fit comfortably, even with thick socks. Nice shock absorption and they dry quickly after getting wet.

Good value for the price. While they may not fully meet the demands of performance-oriented runners, they are great for those whose current training regime places them firmly in the "Clydesdale" class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comfotable, Water Resistent, Easy Slip On\Off, June 4, 2012
By 
Scott from Detroit (Rochester Hills, MI) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I liked the styling of the shoe. The materials seem to be a of a good quality. It is comfortable. Easy slip on\off (I don't untie my shoes).

I accidentally got water on the mesh part of the shoes, but I was shocked to find that the mesh, while it does let the shoes breathe, it still rather water resistent! My feet were still dry.

The only negative I have with the shoe is that I got the D size, which should be normal width, and they seem just a smidge wider than most shoes. I have rather small feet, so perhaps it's just me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love them, March 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
You can't beat Hi-Tec products if you love to be outdoors and don't have tons of money to spend. My first pair of hiking boots came out of the box fitting, and these did as well. Comfortable, already broken-in: I highly recommend these shoes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hi-Tec Athletic Men's Berkeley Trail Running Shoe
$54.95 $32.69 - $63.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.