Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you should know about what you thought you knew
Paul Dickson has done it again! Here's a book that all baseball fans will love, even those modest folk who know everything there is to know about the game. "The Hidden Language of Baseball" is the book to read -- after you make it a most valuable gift to your kids, who have often asked you (as if you knew) what those goofy and not-so goofy signs mean, who dreamed them up...
Published on June 28, 2003 by Robert Skole

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I thought it was.
This is an interesting book but it's not what I expected. Somehow, I was expecting to see lots of examples of how the signs are used between manager, catcher, pitcher, and the other players. It's not that it's a bad book, it just doesn't do what I thought it would.
Published 17 months ago by John P. Robinett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you should know about what you thought you knew, June 28, 2003
By 
Robert Skole (Boston, MA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Paul Dickson has done it again! Here's a book that all baseball fans will love, even those modest folk who know everything there is to know about the game. "The Hidden Language of Baseball" is the book to read -- after you make it a most valuable gift to your kids, who have often asked you (as if you knew) what those goofy and not-so goofy signs mean, who dreamed them up and how come the other team doesn't steal them, which, of course, they try their darndest to do. Paul Dickson takes the reader through baseball sign language from its very earliest recorded years to the wild and wooly "Golden Age" of flagrantly outrageous stealing and to today's signing in full view of the ever-improving intrusiveness of high-tech TV lenses. The book is full of wonderful anecdotes - a Dizzy Dean classic will have you roaring with delight. Like "The Dickson Baseball Dictionary", this book is a must for baseball fans of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprising & fascinating look at behind-the-scenes basebal, June 30, 2003
By 
William B. Mead (Bethesda, Md. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Forget the simple theory that Bobby Thomson benefitted from a stolen sign when he hit the historic homer off Ralph Branca in 1951. Dickson gives us the real story--a much more colorful and fascinating peek at baseball's most memorable moment. That's just one of many new and interesting facts and anecdotes in this first-of-its kind book. I've written baseball books myself and I tip my hat to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play Ball!, July 16, 2004
By 
A short but thorough history of baseball as seen through the development of signs, sign stealing and tip-off reading. Includes some delightful photographs, numerous anotations, a lengthy bibliography and index. Paul Dickson's approach to baseball makes me wonder if the recent homerun records aren't more a case for renewed talent in sign stealing / tip-off reading than for new technology for bats or performance inhancing drugs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine chronology of player signals, October 7, 2005
This review is from: The Hidden Language of Baseball (Paperback)
During any given nine-inning baseball game over a thousand silent instructions are given between players and from umpires to coaches. You've seen the hand signals - now understand their meaning in the first examination of their history, evolution and methods. Baseball games are surveyed past and present to gain a fine chronology of player signals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An other great one., January 11, 2011
By 
W. Rikkelman "Big Bill" (Monnickendam The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hidden Language of Baseball (Paperback)
Here Paul Dickson tells you all about things that you thought were there but that you know for sure when you finish this ones again fantastic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the book from an excellent vendor!, April 24, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bought for my husband and he LOVEs this book! Excellent for any baseball fan! Thanks for a quality purchase, San Fran Goodwill!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Describes points that are not commonly known, October 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It wouls be good if tv coverage and announcers would show some of the game within a game that the author describes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boy do I, November 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hidden Language of Baseball (Paperback)
This is a nice read. Excellent condition, perfect size for carrying a book around in hand or your purse. I am enjoying this read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Language fo Baseball, September 18, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hidden Language of Baseball (Paperback)
Totally love this Book. For the casual fan, it's very revealing. For the rabid fan, it,s still fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book!, June 7, 2010
By 
R. B. Bishop (Southern California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a fantastic book for baseball lovers. My son is in high school and just loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Hidden Language of Baseball
The Hidden Language of Baseball by Paul Dickson (Paperback - April 1, 2005)
$15.00 $13.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.