Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a lot of fun, and ideal for the hearing impaired. Probably suitable for some vision impairment.
Hidden Mysteries--Buckingham Palace is a pretty, if short, little game. It's mostly a hidden object game (HOG), with a few relatively easy puzzles thrown in. Many of the puzzles may be solved for you if you wish, and the unique hint system for the hidden objects is worth noting. While there are enough searching locations to avoid boredom, in my opinion, only the crowns...
Published on July 18, 2009 by critters

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you like Hidden Object Games you'll like this game
In "Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace - Secrets of Kings and Queens" your mission is to search for jewels hidden in Buckingham Palace. You search for hidden objects, letters, and play mini-games. The game has 12 acts and 48 levels.

While "Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace - Secrets of Kings and Queens" does have some mini-games in it, it is essentially a...
Published on June 19, 2012 by drebbles


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a lot of fun, and ideal for the hearing impaired. Probably suitable for some vision impairment., July 18, 2009
This review is from: Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace - Secrets Of Kings And Queens (Video Game)
Hidden Mysteries--Buckingham Palace is a pretty, if short, little game. It's mostly a hidden object game (HOG), with a few relatively easy puzzles thrown in. Many of the puzzles may be solved for you if you wish, and the unique hint system for the hidden objects is worth noting. While there are enough searching locations to avoid boredom, in my opinion, only the crowns move, so it's not the hardest HOG around. This is a plus to me because I was looking for a relatively easy, non-brainbusting game. The informational tidbits about the rooms were fun and weren't, to my recollection, repeated even when the room itself was.

"Buckingham Palace" is fine for the hearing impaired because there is no dialogue, and the informational tidbits are fully captioned for all. I'm not even sure whether I put the sound on at all, although I usually try to do so at least once. It would probably be fine for a pretty large amount of vision loss as well because the hint bubbles are nicely large, and the objects tend to be so as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but Fun, October 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace - Secrets Of Kings And Queens (Video Game)
I enjoyed Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace, in spite of some negative aspects. Since we are all different, with varied tastes and backgrounds, I'll list my negative impressions, followed by the things I liked about the game...

1. It was way too short. I finished it in less than three hours my first time through, playing in Relaxed Mode.

2. The music was repetitive and annoying, but I was able to turn it off in the Options section. The sound effects in outside scenes consisted of repetitive car honks and bird calls. The indoor scenes were silent.

3. There is very little animation. Clouds move across one scene, and a bird flies a short distance. Other than that, everything is fixed.

4. There is no interaction with characters, though there are letters to read, written by historical people long dead.

5. There is no congratulations at the end of the game, making the ending feel incomplete. There is also no ranking or points given, so you can't have the challenge of trying to better your score.

6. There is no extended game where you can remove all the items from the scenes and see them "cleaned up."

Now for the positive...

1. The varied puzzles at the end of each level are fun, different and challenging, but not too hard. You solve the puzzels by using some of the items collected at different sites. (There are no jigsaws or matching puzzels--relief!) If you get stuck, there is a Solve button to push.

2. The graphics are nice. The Buckingham Palace rooms are eye-popping, even littered with objects. And close-ups of important objects that go into inventory are really nicely done, as well as the beautiful gemstones to be collected.

3. Each scene has two hidden crowns to be found, that give extra hint points. You can also click around without being penalized. The hints are three-fold: one point gives a shadow shape, two points give a picture of the actual item, and five points will find the item for you.

4. Interesting historical facts about the palace and grounds are presented throughout the game, and the storyline is compelling enough to keep one curious. The game is based on historical facts...real political intrigue during the time of Queen Anne.

Hope this helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a lot of fun, January 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace - Secrets Of Kings And Queens (Video Game)
I have played it at least 4 times since I got it.
i love it, it is pretty easy and I like that since I am a senior citzen
who loves computer games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you like Hidden Object Games you'll like this game, June 19, 2012
By 
drebbles (Arlington, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace - Secrets Of Kings And Queens (Video Game)
In "Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace - Secrets of Kings and Queens" your mission is to search for jewels hidden in Buckingham Palace. You search for hidden objects, letters, and play mini-games. The game has 12 acts and 48 levels.

While "Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace - Secrets of Kings and Queens" does have some mini-games in it, it is essentially a hidden object game. You do learn some history but basically you go from location to location looking for hidden objects. You have two choices in playing the game: relaxed mode (no timer and no penalties for random clicking) and timed mode (play against the clock and you get penalized 30 seconds for random clicking). I played the timed mode with no problems - I solved each level in under five minutes. You do have to use of hints -finding and using the hint is a nice unique touch. You start off with ten credits towards your hints; to get additional hints you need to find two crowns in each scene (these crowns are in various shapes and usually cleverly hidden). You have three ways of using the hints: for one credit you can see the silhouette of the item you are looking for; with three credits you can see what the item looks like; for five credits the hints will show you exactly where the item is. One thing to keep in mind is that these hints do not carry over from act to act so use them wisely. There is a lot of revisiting certain rooms and finding the same object which gets tedious after awhile. The few mini-games aren't very challenging. While there was a sort of storyline, this is basically a hidden object game where the only skill you need is the ability to find them.

If you like hidden object games you'll love "Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace - Secrets of Kings and Queens" but if you are looking for a game with a real storyline and some strategical thinking you might want to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PC Hidden object games, December 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace - Secrets Of Kings And Queens (Video Game)
This is a good buy for your money. If you like royalty, you will enjoy the Buckingham Palace game.
The other included game is not my style, but if you are a civil war buff, you will enjoy it (Civil War Secrets). I wasn't fast enough when clicking on the clue button, so I wasted them! Anyway, I paid well under $10 for 2 games, so I cannot complain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buckingham palace secrets, April 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace - Secrets Of Kings And Queens (Video Game)
i think its wonderful to play this game without ads and no time limits, and its in excellent condition. thank you Sandra
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buckingham Palace Hidden Mysteries, December 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace - Secrets Of Kings And Queens (Video Game)
It is okay for a hidden object game but not very challenging! Would recommend it to someone who is just starting to play hidden object games. The service was great and I received it pretty fast. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace, January 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace - Secrets Of Kings And Queens (Video Game)
I loved the game. It was fun to do and seeing and learning about the various rooms and areas of Buckingham Palace was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buckingham Palace, June 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace - Secrets Of Kings And Queens (Video Game)
This is an interesting game, with views of the interiors of selected rooms of Buckingham Palace and some historical facts about the British monarchy. Some of the articles are well hidden and there are a few puzzles to solve that are not too difficult. There is no way to save your game as you go along, except to quit the game and then it will save automatically. If your computer finds an error and suddenly stops the game, you will have to start over from the last time you quit the game. I found this a great inconvenience. Otherwise, this game is fun and gives a few hours of entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hidden objects, June 22, 2014
By 
Joann Costa (union grove al) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace - Secrets Of Kings And Queens (Video Game)
Love the game,its not as hard as most.Really enjoyed this one.If you are like me and are not in the mood for a disappointment this game will be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace - Secrets Of Kings And Queens
Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace - Secrets Of Kings And Queens by Game Mill Publishing (Windows XP Home Edition)
$29.99 $0.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.