Hidden Treasures

December 21, 2010 | Format: MP3

Song Title

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: May 7, 2007
  • Release Date: May 7, 2007
  • Label: Parlophone Catalogue
  • Copyright: (C) 2007 Capitol Records Inc This label copy information is the subject of copyright protection. All rights reserved. (C) 2007 EMI Records Ltd
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 45:52
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B004DLRZA0
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (59 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #44,697 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 59 customer reviews
Get this one..it's a must have for any Megadeth fan.
WHen you listen Angry again, you must see that your bought worth the money.
Estanislao Higareda
This album has cover songs and songs that are off movies.
Absolute Power

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Justin G. TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on July 25, 2006
Format: Audio CD
The 1995 EP Hidden Treasures collects the various tracks that Megadeth contributed to soundtracks and tribute albums throughout the early 1990's. Here's what you get:

1. No More Mr. Nice Guy - This one is a cover of the Alice Cooper classic, and comes from the soundtrack to the movie Shocker.

2. Breakpoint - This is an original Megadeth track, and comes from the soundtrack to the movie Super Mario Brothers.

3. Go To Hell - Another original Megadeth track, this time from the Bill & Ted's Bogus Journey soundtrack.

4. Angry Again - Another original Megadeth song. This one is from the Last Action Hero soundtrack.

5. 99 Ways to Die - Yet another Megadeth original, this time from the Beavis & Butthead Experience CD.

6. Paranoid - An ultra-fast cover of the Black Sabbath classic, taken from the Sabbath tribute album Nativity in Black.

7. Diadems - Another original Megadeth song. This one comes from the soundtrack to the movie Tales from the Crypt: Demon Knight.

8. Problems - A Sex Pistols cover that is exclusive to this EP.

This is a nice collection of material that saves Megadeth fans from tracking down half a dozen otherwise crappy albums (though to be fair, the Last Action Hero soundtrack was pretty good). I fully expected these songs to be included on the recent Megadeth remasters, but to my surprise they were not. Hidden Treasures remains the best way to get these songs. It's too bad the disc is out of print.

NOTE: There is a Japanese import version of Hidden Treasures that contains a few demos as bonus tracks. They're just demo versions of existing Megadeth tracks, so they may not be worth the Japanese disc's hefty price tag.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By A. Stutheit on October 11, 2005
Format: Audio CD
This fan pleasing C.D. is comprised of eight "hidden" Megadeth gems, which are rarities, covers, and b-sides/songs from soundtracks. If you're new to Megadeth, I wouldn't recommend starting here, but every song on here is enjoyable, making this a great and essential inclusion in your collection. The album opener, "No More Mr. Nice Guy" is an Alice Cooper cover, and it is quite catchy. Next, "Breakpoint" (from the "Super Mario Brothers" movie) has four nice, but very brief guitar solos, and "Go To Hell" (from the movie "Bill And Ted's Bogus Adventure") which kind of sounds like a b-side from "Countdown to Extinction," has a great, five part solo. But "Angry Again" is the real highlight, here. It's from the "Last Action Hero" soundtrack and is one of Megadeth's most recognizable songs, because it is also very catchy. This song (which remains a staple of Megadeth's live shows) also has a nice solo (this one has four parts to it). "99 Ways To Die" has another guitar solo which flares up, and uses (what sounds like) arpeggio guitars. "Paranoid" originally appeared on the first Black Sabbath tribute album, and this Megadeth cover is probably the best version of this song ever recorded (aside from the original, of course). "Diadems" is taken from "Tales From the Crypt Presents Demon Knight" soundtrack. This cut is rather unremarkable (if you ask me), except for the speed change around the middle. Finally, "Problems" is quite fast and catchy. The only problem with this EP is that it's short (less than half an hour long!) Plus, it's pretty rare now-a-days, so I'd order it online if you don't already own it. All in all, however much "Hidden Treasures" costs, it's worth it if you're a Megadeth fanatic and/or collector.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By howzat on August 29, 2007
Format: Audio CD
Hidden Treasures (1995. (Re-released 2007.)), a collection of Megadeth rarities

The year 2007 has seen a number of great releases for the thousands of Megadeth fans out there. The band's new studio album, `United Abominations', is a fantastic release and the `That One Night, Live In Buenos Aires' DVD is excellent concert footage. To put the icing on the cake, the band's rarities collection `Hidden Treasures' was given a remaster and re-release. `Hidden Treasures' was originally released in 1995 however it had eventually gone out of print and had become increasing difficult to get hold of in CD format. The re-release (albeit only currently available outside the US) gives a new lease of life to very much an excellent `Megadeth fans' release. The work has been certainly remastered - the first eight tracks which formed the basis of the original CD sound crisp and clear with excellent bass depth and intensity. 3 Demos and a radio of `A Tout Le Monde' are also included on the CD. The tracks themselves span very much the `classic' period of Megadeth's career from 1989-1995 and are mostly releases for film/computer game soundtracks. Apart from the first song on the album, each track features the line-up of Dave Mustaine, Dave Ellefson, Nick Menza and Marty Friedman. Below is a little about the songs.

`No More Mr. Nice Guy' opens the collection. This is a fantastic cover of the 1970's Alice Cooper classic and is the only Megadeth song recorded as a 3 piece. It was recorded in 1989 during the band's search for a second guitarist to replace Jeff Young. Megadeth's version is faster than the original and contains some excellent vocals and guitar work from Mustaine. `Breakpoint' is a good follow up with some express riffs and a humorous interlude mid-way through.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?