Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon April 6, 2008
Andrea Hampton is used to the safety and security of her big city job. However, nothing will keep her from running back to her sister's side after Rachel is involved in a horrific accident. But helping Rachel and her grandmother open up a bed and breakfast? Ridiculous...and yet that is the position she finds herself in. Carpenter Cal Burke seems willing to help. Just what is going on with this rash of accidents plaguing the inn and its owners?

I read the first two books of The Three Sisters Inn series out of order, but the overall beauty of this series remains intact; HIDE IN PLAIN SIGHT is the first book and an excellent start to the series.

Marta Perry creates such beautiful settings for her tales. HIDE IN PLAIN SIGHT is set in the heart of Amish country. The peaceful setting provides a sharp contrast to the increasingly dangerous attacks on the Hampton family. In fact, the atmosphere accentuates the danger that lurks in this seemingly tranquil environment.

Marta Perry develops characters the reader wants to revisit over and over again. Andrea's transformation over the course of the book is a joy to behold. The issues of faith are sensitively addressed through the eyes of both Andrea and Cal. The importance of family and friends is especially notable in HIDE IN PLAIN SIGHT.

HIDE IN PLAIN SIGHT is yet another fantastic book from Marta Perry. I am quickly becoming a fan of both Marta Perry and the Love Inspired Suspense line as both evoke such strong emotions. Easily recommended!

COURTESY OF CK2S KWIPS AND KRITIQUES
11 comment| 686 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2009
I found this book to be an easy, enjoyable read with likable main characters set in the lovely Amish country. This book is part romance, part mystery. To be honest, I tried this book because it was free and ended up enjoying it!
11 comment| 273 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2011
I'm not an evangelical Christian. I'm probably high on their list of people going to hell, so I'm rather stunned at finding myself having to defend this book's Christian slant. But those who left the one star negative reviews seemed to have failed to read the product description that clearly identified this as one of the Amish Country/inspirational stories. I found most of the reviews were knee-jerk reactions to being upset at the book being Christian based and basically just Christian-Fiction bashing. No, the grandmother falling asleep reading the Bible wasn't "random". She was clearly established as a woman of faith. Incorporating a character's faith into the story isn't nonsense. And there was nothing sexist about it. The main character was seeking security her whole life and realized that for her that didn't mean the big corporate job. She didn't give up her career, she just decided to change gears and open her own small firm in a place where she could be close to her family. How is that sexist?

That said, this doesn't have the strongest plot nor is it a great work of literature, the same can be said of 99% of books published. Most people don't read because they want to explore the themes, structures and intricacies of literature. Most people read for information or to be entertained. There were some loose ends that were never tied up. A big deal was made about the gazebo, but it never went anywhere. The ledgers being found in the oddest places being blamed on the sister just sticking them wherever, seemed a bit lame and I expected it to go somewhere but it didn't.

But it's a nice little story and as a free read it was worth the few hours of mind candy entertainment it was.
44 comments| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2009
This is a book with some twists. It is set in Amish country but most of the characters are not Amish. There are strong Religious tones throughout the book. The main character's grandmother and younger sister are trying to open a Bed and Breakfast when the younger sister is involved in a serious accident. The business minded older sister comes to the rescue but is being stalked and her life threatened. There is also a love interest for the older sister. I would not read this book a second time.
1919 comments| 298 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2007
Andrea Hampton is the successful sister; important job, important opinions, important woman. Sister Rachel stayed home with their grandmother and is determined to turn the family home into a bed and breakfast. Andrea doesn't approve. But when Rachel is injured in a hit and run accident, Andrea drops everything to hurry to her bedside. You take care of family.
Unfortunately, Andrea has to swerve to avoid an Amish buggy on a dark road and ends up in the ditch. Calvin Burke rescues her and takes her to the hospital to see Rachel. Andrea is grateful until she learns he is her grandmother's tenant. Not everyone in town wants another bed and breakfast, and things begin to happen, some of them very dangerous. Andrea, who is used to doing everything herself, has to learn who she can trust.
Hiding in Plain Sight is a suspenseful story of intrigue and romance, salted with a strong faith message. Things aren't always the way they seem and it's easy to trust the wrong people. Fans of Marta Perry will enjoy Hiding In Plain Sight.
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2009
As a free download, I really enoyed this book. It has a lot of great twists for a mystery/romance novel. I especially enjoyed the build to the "chemistry" between the two main characters and thoroughly enjoyed that there was no sex involved, strictly "G" rating. A fast read, very enjoyable.
11 comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2009
I love Amish fiction. This book became available as a free Kindle book, and I downloaded it - not knowing if it would be that good. Since it was a Harlequin, I was afraid it might have some "sexy" scenes, and I wasn't sure I would like that, with the story base. However, I was happy to discover the book is very nicely written, and never veers off in that direction.
Light reading - but I thoroughly enjoyed.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2008
Although I thoroughly enjoy Love Inspired books, its Suspense collection hasn't appealed to me, until now. I can't resist books about the Amish, so this particular Love Inspired Suspense book caught my eye! Even though the main characters are not Amish, their lives have become more meaningful living amongst the Amish, influenced by the Amish lifestyle and traditions. This story contained important lessons about what's important in our lives - not fame and high-powered jobs, but family and the simpler pleasures in life. Very inspiring! I'm anxiously awaiting the next book in this series!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2010
In the first chapter -
Boy has chip on shoulder against girl because she doesn't take a leave from her job to help her sister open an inn. That's what family is supposed to do, right? Help family at the very real expense of being out of a job yourself?

As the book progresses -
Girl's sister becomes horribly injured. Boy still has chip on shoulder because girl stays in contact with present job working remotely as she tries to help out getting some of inn set up. Boy thinks girl should leave job because he had walked away from his former job.

As the book continues -
Discover that in boys former life, he took on a client that had done bad stuff. How this type of bad stuff could have even possibly come to boy's attention without police / social worker intervention is beyond me, but the author seems to think possible.

Insertion of faith into the book is awkward. Book is free and I completed it to see how bad it could get. It truly is bad, and thank goodness it was free.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2009
First of all, most of these "Steeple Hill" series books are just too short to really get into a plot/relationship too deeply, as was the case with this book, which is disappointing and doesn't make it as compelling. Secondly, I thought the whole "issue" standing between Andrea and Cal--her job--was just nonsensical; I don't see holding a steady job or being successful as a bad thing, as long as your attitude and priorities are in the right place. This just seemed to vilify the business world and big city. Also, just a little hokey on the faith side of things. Overall, a very quick, easy and uncomplicated read that's only worth reading if you don't have anything else to read and don't have to buy it.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse