Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one is the best!
I originally purchased this in an album format and later bought it again on CD. Stanley Clarke is pure genius in this compilation of exhibiting his true skill. Hideaway is awesome, Overjoyed...well, Stevie Wonder is great and all, but this instrumental is exceptional. What a treat it was to hear Angela Boffill on "Where Do We Go From Here". This entire CD is...
Published on October 19, 2000 by duce

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some Really Bad Tracks
A CD OF THE TIMES, A LOT OF SOFT JAZZ.
YOU KNOW THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE PICTURE OF CLARKE ON THE BACK COVER. WITH HIS HAIRCUT AND SWEATER, HE LOOKS JUST LIKE LIONEL RICHIE.

Released in 1986, this is Stanley Clarke's eleventh solo album. It is just under 44 minutes long and the sound quality is very good.

Starting in the late...
Published on November 20, 2007 by kireviewer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one is the best!, October 19, 2000
By 
duce (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hideaway (Audio CD)
I originally purchased this in an album format and later bought it again on CD. Stanley Clarke is pure genius in this compilation of exhibiting his true skill. Hideaway is awesome, Overjoyed...well, Stevie Wonder is great and all, but this instrumental is exceptional. What a treat it was to hear Angela Boffill on "Where Do We Go From Here". This entire CD is Stanley at his best. If you don't own any other this one is certainly worth purchasing...after all, I did it twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stan is the Man!, December 1, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hideaway (Audio CD)
All of the songs and tune I liked were played on this Album. Also, Stanley collaborated with otjer Musicians to produced this awesome Album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Thought It Was Stanley Clarke?Just Maybe It Is, February 28, 2011
This review is from: Hideaway (Audio CD)
It was bound to happen sooner or later. By 1986 Stanley Clarke,still very much a young and active musician found himself in a fusion world that was experiencing the first major wave of smooth jazz's popularity-populated by the likes of the Yellowjackets,Rippingtons and even Kenny G. It had been brewing for years and in terms of fusion one could see years before this was where the parade was heading but it wasn't until this album that this particular style really began to influence Clarke. Interestingly enough this is also an album where Clarke went out of his way not only to emphasize not only more of a return to instrumental jazz but also to showcase his abilities as a composer which hadn't received much time on his albums since his Modern Man in 1978. The presense of guest musicians such as Alan Pasqua,Alphonzo Johnson,Stanley Jordan,David Sancious and even Herbie Hancock certainly helped matters.

The title song and the more obviously smooth jazz inspired "My Love,Her Inspiration" may be light in the backround but Clarkes bass solos and those of the musicians involved are in fact very inspired,memorable and often quite melodic as well. The same could almost be said of his cover of Stevie Wonder's "Overjoyed" although again his bass soloing on the song is what tends to stick out. Angela Bofill lends her unqiue vocal stylings to "Where Do We Go" which with it's uptempo pop/R&B sound is actually very attuned to her musical style at the time than Clarkes but is actually pretty strong anyway. The remainder of the album focuses more on uptempo tunes that are a bit stronger in the fact they stand more alone even for the era without a huge excess of production sheen. You hear that most of all when Clarke takes a turn on playing every instrument on "When It's Cold Outside" and on the Howard Hewett vocal "Listen To The Beat Of Your Heart". "The Boys Of Johnson Street" and "Basketball" are sharp and very funky 80's jazz-funk instrumentals with yet more inspired instrumental turns whereas "Old Friends" brings his mid 70's era band for another retro style groove very much in the spirit of the previous albums "My Life" and the album ends with the rather schmaltzy Larry Graham urban ballad "I'm Here To Stay".

Despite it's in your face mannered and streamlined sound when this album cooks it really cooks;at different times both in terms of grooves or instrumental sound. The fact that Clarke also went out of his way to create hummable and often even unqiue harmonic and melody ideas is also important to note here. After this album Clarke would continue to persue a far less mellow instrumental jazz direction which he is continuing to do up to this very day. As much,even though a lot of this album owes a great deal to it's time on the production level it showcases Clarke's turn from vocal R&B/funk and pop back towards the jazz fusion style that originally baught him fame and as such can be seen as a fairly important album in this catalog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazzy Jazzy,I love this item to bits, February 3, 2010
By 
Woolworth "Kgometji" (IVY PARK POLOKWANE RSA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hideaway (Audio CD)
I bought this item on amazon and it was categorised as used.But when i got the item it was as good as new.I thank you guys at amazon and Bullmoose music co.Thank you far too kind this is the best.I give it 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not That Bad At All!!, October 23, 2004
This review is from: Hideaway (Audio CD)
When I listened to the opening title track of this album I was afraid Stanley Clarke was going TOTALLY Kenny G on me!But once I got into it (and for that matter all of the first half) it sounded like very high quality pop jazz.Smooth but not in the muzak variety.Anyway it's alot more inspired then his last album 'Find Out!' was.The second half is more the Stanley I know with the grooving "Old Frinds","Basketball" and "The Boys From Johnson Street" with Stewart Copeland have that great Clarke skill and sassiness that always draws me into his stuff.So even if this is about the last R&B oriented Stanley Clarke record it's not a bad one and I would highly suggest the listener focus on the first side first.'Overjoyed' is a great cover song and the other songs there will grow on you,while the next half will FUN YOU UP!!!So enter the hideaway-you'll come out happy!Trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some Really Bad Tracks, November 20, 2007
By 
kireviewer (Sunnyvale, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hideaway (Audio CD)
A CD OF THE TIMES, A LOT OF SOFT JAZZ.
YOU KNOW THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE PICTURE OF CLARKE ON THE BACK COVER. WITH HIS HAIRCUT AND SWEATER, HE LOOKS JUST LIKE LIONEL RICHIE.

Released in 1986, this is Stanley Clarke's eleventh solo album. It is just under 44 minutes long and the sound quality is very good.

Starting in the late seventies and going through the mid eighties, many artists at some point changed musical styles and tried to play in the sounds of the times. Clarke does that here on many tracks, and the result is not very good.

The CD starts out with the OK title track, which is along the lines of Clarke's classic fusion style, but softened up. But next track is a very soft cover of a Stevie Wonder tune. It is like all the spineless, Sunday Brunch jazz that was popular at the time.

The third track, My Love, My Inspiration, sounds like something Kenny G would do, only much worse. I don't mind Kenny G, and he is good at what he does (although it is not my favorite type of jazz). My Love, My Inspiration makes Kenny G look like a genius. It was excrutiating to just get through the track.

Where Do We Go is a soft jazz vocal. It is the type of jazz vocals that became very popular in the early eighties.

Tracks 5, 6 and 7 are fairly good. They are the bouncy funk of Clarke's fusion days. They aren't as good as anything on School Days, but they are enjoyable.

Listen To The Beat Of Your Heart sounds exactly like something Michael Jackson would do. The music and the female vocals sound like an imitation of Jackson. It is actually a fairly good song and very enjoyable.

Basketball is one of those annoying repetitive jazz instrumentals. It will start out with a riff that is repeated about 6 times, and then switch to another repeated riff. It is very predictable, and knew exactly what was going to come next, even though I hadn't heard the track before.

The last track, from vocalist Larry Graham, is one of the worst songs I have ever heard. It is a bunch of short and obvious rhymes. His affected vocals are just annoying.

With this CD, you get 4 tracks that are similar to Clarke's classic fusion style. None of them are stand outs but all are good enough. Then you get a very nice Michael Jackson type song. And then there are 5 very bad tracks with Clarke conforming to the music of the times.

I have nothing against artists trying new things. I applaud when they experiment and go outside of their element (like I enjoyed the Michael Jackson type tune). You can't just put out a new version of School Days every year. It is just Clarke does not do a very good job of trying to play to the musical styles of the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hideaway
Hideaway by Stanley Clarke (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.