Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revealing interview questions...and how to use them
Selecting the right person for a job is both an art and a science. To help you improve your chances of finding the right person, author Victoria A. Hoevemeyer proposes that human resource departments and hiring managers should ask applicants explicit questions about their skills and behavior. This approach, known as "Competency-Based Behavioral Interviewing" (CBBI),...
Published on May 8, 2006 by Rolf Dobelli

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The book is not what you expect for the title.
The book is only a collection of questions that you can easily find online without paying for them. The writer doesn't give any insight into the correct answers or key points. In my opinion this book is not worth buying it.
Published on June 26, 2011 by top


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revealing interview questions...and how to use them, May 8, 2006
This review is from: High-Impact Interview Questions: 701 Behavior-Based Questions to Find the Right Person for Every Job (Paperback)
Selecting the right person for a job is both an art and a science. To help you improve your chances of finding the right person, author Victoria A. Hoevemeyer proposes that human resource departments and hiring managers should ask applicants explicit questions about their skills and behavior. This approach, known as "Competency-Based Behavioral Interviewing" (CBBI), provides a clear picture of what candidates actually did in their previous jobs. Hoevemeyer's sensible idea is that if candidates succeeded at certain tasks before, they'll repeat their success in their new jobs. She provides a very long list of detailed questions that hiring managers can use to learn the specifics of candidates' skills and past performance. However, the book lacks proof that the CBBI process actually results in recruiting new hires who perform well and have better retention rates. Still, since Hoevemeyer's approach clearly elicits rich information, we believe that managers and even experienced HR professionals may find her interviewing tactics useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Only Great for the Interviewer but also for the Interviewee, October 12, 2005
This review is from: High-Impact Interview Questions: 701 Behavior-Based Questions to Find the Right Person for Every Job (Paperback)
This book is easy to pick up and understand what behavioral interviewing is all about. For someone that is at the other end of the interview process (the interviewee) this book helped to better prepare me for the interview process in this day and age. Interviews no longer entail just talking about your experience. A potential employer needs more information about a person in a short period of time. By reading "High-Impact Interview Questions" I feel more confident knowing what a potential employer could be looking for and what kind of quetions they may be asking. For the price, this book is well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Resource with Hundreds of Interview Questions, October 15, 2005
This review is from: High-Impact Interview Questions: 701 Behavior-Based Questions to Find the Right Person for Every Job (Paperback)
"High-Impact Interview Questions" will save you both time and effort in the interview process. It provides hundreds of interview questions that you can tailor to your organization. By asking questions that focus on the candidate's actual performance, you will increase the likelihood that the people you hire will be a good fit for the position and the organization. This book is a great resource for the new interviewer as well as the seasoned HR professional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great behavior based questions, and suggestions, May 9, 2008
This review is from: High-Impact Interview Questions: 701 Behavior-Based Questions to Find the Right Person for Every Job (Paperback)
Great explanation of the rationale behind behavior based interviewing. Guides the interviewer through the process of developing questions and evaluation procedures. Interview process is focused, to obtain more accurate and relevant information from candidates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, April 2, 2009
This review is from: High-Impact Interview Questions: 701 Behavior-Based Questions to Find the Right Person for Every Job (Paperback)
Well written from start to finish - I couldn't wait to adapt these questions into my interview process. The author does an excellent job informing you how these questions can help see the true candidate. I thought I was confident in my skills before I read this book - I cannot put into words how much I have grown since I finished this book - and implemented behavior-based questions. Highly recommend to any recruiter at any level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have, Comprehensive Resource for Every Interviewer, September 26, 2005
This review is from: High-Impact Interview Questions: 701 Behavior-Based Questions to Find the Right Person for Every Job (Paperback)
If I had to recommend one book for anyone who is involved in interviewing candidates, "High-Impact Interview Questions" would be it! It is a practical, thorough, easy-to-use resource and reference guide for behavioral interviewing. The added bonus is that it's organized according to competencies, making it incredibly simply to use in conjunction with an organization's current competency models.

It's great for converting to behavioral based interviewing, enhancing your current behavioral interview process, or even simply testing behavioral interviewing out by converting some of your current interview questions to behavioral questions.

There is no doubt in my mind that if interviewers use the information and tools in this book that they will absolutely find the right person for every job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I used it for all of my interviews and I used it in my interviews as a starting point and I think it helped. I would not use the question verbatim I would just use it to give yourself a place to get your mind stimulated. You will find that the potential employer will have already answered most of these questions by the time you get around to asking them - so use it as a mind stimulator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful for picking out skills, November 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-Impact Interview Questions: 701 Behavior-Based Questions to Find the Right Person for Every Job (Paperback)
This book is informative and organized. One of the best features is that it's broken down alphabetically by skill. So, for example, if you're trying to figure out past examples of Leadership, there's a whole section of questions. A great tool for hiring managers or beginning recruiters. Even helpful for veteran recruiters who want to freshen up their interview routine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Behavior type questions seem to be very popular during interviews ..., July 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-Impact Interview Questions: 701 Behavior-Based Questions to Find the Right Person for Every Job (Paperback)
Behavior type questions seem to be very popular during interviews these days. I was asked several when I was hired at my current job in IT last year and we asked them when recently interviewing candidates for another position where I work. The book is organized by qualities you want to focus on. As an interviewee I would go through the job description of any position I was applying for and pick out the qualities that seemed to be inherent in each of the job requirements. I would then go through the questions in the book dealing with those qualities and answer them based on my experience. As an interviewer I did the same thing, tailoring the questions to the experience of the person we were interviewing. A lot of these questions are available on the web but having it all in a book, organized by subject makes the small cost of the book well worth it in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource, April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-Impact Interview Questions: 701 Behavior-Based Questions to Find the Right Person for Every Job (Paperback)
Recently started re working interview process and questions; very helpful in finding questions that will illicit responses that require more than one word answers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

High-Impact Interview Questions: 701 Behavior-Based Questions to Find the Right Person for Every Job
$17.95 $12.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.