Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Cyber Monday Deals Week Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Train egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Get Ready for the Winter Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer mithc mithc mithc  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Cyber Monday Video Game Deals Shop Now HTL

Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon June 10, 2014
Night Ranger's 11th studio album, High Road, has just come out. But is it any good? I'm happy to report that Night Ranger fans, and those who enjoy great rock music, will love this album. In addition to having a gorgeous album cover, High Road is full of upbeat, guitar-driven rock songs, along with a few ballads and an instrumental track for good measure.

If you buy the Deluxe Version, you'll receive a bonus track, "The Mountain Song," and a DVD with two music videos and a behind-the-scenes video about how the album was made. And the Best Buy-exclusive Deluxe Version features a second bonus track, "Don't Even Know Your Name."

Below is my track-by-track review of High Road:

"High Road"

This might be my favorite rocker on the album. It's a country-infused rock song that makes you want to drive down a highway in a convertible with the wind blowing through your hair. It's such a positive song, you can't help but feel good after listening to it.

"Knock Knock Never Stop"

A killer guitar riff? Check. A ferocious vocal? Check. An infectious melody? Check. This song has it all and it serves as a great follow-up to "High Road."

"Rollin' On"

"Rollin' On" has a harder edge to it than the first two tracks, as well as a dark, funky groove. It's a fun guitar-driven number that would be great to hear live.

"Don't Live Here Anymore"

This is hands-down the best ballad on the album. Kelly's vocal is phenomenal, the lyrics are tremendous and the piano is beautifully haunting. It's a gorgeous song about overcoming addiction and arguably the best track on the album.

"I'm Coming Home"

Yet another great guitar riff. This, along with the strong harmonies, makes for a fun song that's worth listening to over and over again.

"X Generation"

While this isn't as strong as the first five tracks, it's still an enjoyable rocker with great guitar work.

"Only For You Only"

This is Jack Blades' ballad on the album and it's a winner. Vocally, he's in great form and the chorus has a terrific hook. I also love the arrangement, which features impressive harmonies, beautiful piano and a blistering guitar solo. It's one of the most infectious songs on High Road.

"Hang On"

Similar to "X Generation," this song is good but not great, especially when it has to follow a song as superb as "Only For You Only."

"St. Bartholomew"

Featuring a great guitar solo and harmonies, "St. Bartholomew" kicks the album into a new gear and gets things back on track. It's a fun rocker through and through.


This song is one of the best on the album. I especially love the last minute where Kelly's raspy vocals are featured over top a gospel-inspired chorus, replete with Brad and Joel's wailing guitars and Eric plucking away at the piano. It sounds like they had a lot of fun laying down this track.

"LA No Name"

As Night Ranger made abundantly clear in their acoustic album, 24 Strings and a Drummer, they are excellent musicians. So it's fitting that they should end High Road with an instrumental that shows off their technical skills. With a a Spanish flair, it's an impressive number that ends a strong album on a high note.

High Road is a great album that continues what the band started on Somewhere in California. If you're a big Night Ranger fan, or just enjoy well-played classic rock, pick up High Road. It's an exceptional collection of music by an incredibly underappreciated band.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on August 11, 2014
Dawn Patrol through 7 Wishes are in my record collection.

Did not follow them since (insert any reason here).

This is easily their best.

New music is important.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on December 28, 2014
Night Ranger is back with another great collection of new music. While I don't think this is quite as good as the Somewhere in California release, they have maintained a consistent high quality with these melodic and very enjoyable tunes. The mix of ballads and rockers for which they are known is still a large part of the equation here, perhaps a bit more emphasis on the slower songs this time. Of the 3 ballads ("Brothers," "Only For You Only" and "Don't Live Here Anymore") the latter is the highlight. It's really a power ballad, but the lyrics and composition are brilliant. This band has a knack for writing catchy choruses that really stick and in that regard the first 3 songs really deliver. The remaining tracks are really good too, just a bit mellower. "Hang On" has a great chorus and "I'm Coming Home" a timeless message about getting priorities straight and realizing that relationship is more valuable than time spent endlessly touring, drinking, partying, etc. The first bonus track is an instrumental guitar piece and this is followed by "Mountain Song" a great bluesy rocker. As with all things Night Ranger, the song writing is paramount, but the sound quality and mixing is first rate as well. Fans will have nothing to complain about and its great these older rockers have continued to crank out high quality, fun rock after all these years.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on July 28, 2014
The best Night Ranger album since the 80's! I'll go as far as saying this might be their best album so far. My favorite tracks are "Don't Live Here Anymore", "High Road", "Brothers" & "St. Bartholomew" followed closely by the remaining tracks (that may change over time).

Don't Live Here Anymore - This might just be one of the best classic rock songs to come out this year. There are not many groups putting out this quality of music right now. I can listen to this one over and over and hear different things every single time. All by itself, this song makes the album worth it! Throw in 10 more well crafted songs and you have a great album! Go to the 3:56 mark and give it a!

High Road - What a vision this song provides. You can just see the entire song in your head while listening to it! It would make a great video.

Brothers - This song really builds as it goes. Each time I hear it, I like it more and more.

St. Bartholomew - One of the heavier songs on the album. The guitar work is classic Night Ranger. If you can't fall in love with this one, you shouldn't call yourself a fan.

If you followed Night Ranger back in the 80's and loved their music then do yourself a favor and purchase this album. You will not be sorry!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on September 3, 2014
High Road is classic Night Ranger! This album is as good as any of their others. Some tracks grab you right away, like High Road, I'm Coming Home, and St. Bartholomew, while others take a little longer to sink in but none of the tracks feel forced or mailed in. As usual, guitar licks and riffs are outstanding, with great vocals and songwriting. Night Ranger is one of the most underrated rock bands ever. I've been listening to NR since the beginning (age 47) and the guys still have it. Looking forward to more!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on August 26, 2014
Classic night ranger. If this album came out in 1985 I would be a top 10 seller
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on September 13, 2014
This band is so killer, I am glad they are still around making music of the highest quality. I discovered them around a year ago and am now a fan. I appreciate all the care they put into their work. This album is so kick ass!!!! Night Ranger is rocking hard and making an impact. The Best Buy version has more bonus tracks and a dvd.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on December 1, 2014
Wow, after all these years, these guys still know how to write and execute good old fashioned straight forward Rock N Roll.
This is one of thier best albums to date. Great writing, fantastic vocals, incredible drums, over the top guitar playing, these guys still do it right.
Thanks Night Ranger for the new ear candy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on October 7, 2014
With the new "High Road" and "Somewhere In California" from a couple of years ago, Night Ranger show that they are still making vital music that contains the best elements of modern sounds and their original sounds from the 1980s.

I liked "Somewhere In California" more immediately than "High Road". "High Road" had to grow on me a bit. But once it grew on me, I think I like "High Road" better than "Somewhere In California". I might even estimate that "High Road" is the best Night Ranger album ever - in their 30 some-odd years of making music - which is a tall statement.

This album has everything: Loud guitar songs with brilliant guitars; Mid-tempo songs; and a couple of gorgeous ballads.

While they no longer grace the Top 40 in the United States, with the quality of the songs from these last two albums, I can't help but wonder if some of these songs aren't charting Top 10 or Top 20 somewhere in Europe, South America, or Japan?

I think Night Ranger has been highly under-rated in the USA for about the last 20 or 25 years. Sure Classic Rock Radio still plays "Sister Christian" and "You Can Still Rock In America". But this is a band that if they never recorded another song, could put out a 50 to 60 song box-set where every song sounds like hit!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on August 4, 2014
i love it night ranger doing what they do best they keep getting better and better
i highly recommend it great songs.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Night Ranger (Audio CD - 1989)

Dawn Patrol
Dawn Patrol by Night Ranger (Audio CD - 1987)

Midnight Madness
Midnight Madness by Night Ranger (Audio CD - 1987)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.