Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for High Standard shooters, April 18, 2000
By 
JBA (Sherman Oaks, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Standard: A Collector's Guide to the Hamden & Hartford Target Pistols (Paperback)
If, like me, you are a target shooter who uses a High Standard pistol this book is a must. It helps to identify every model and every variation of High Standard. It help to understand the history of the pistol and the steps that lead to the final evolution of it. The only thing lacking - not too important - is data on pistols manufactured after High Standard went out of business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for High Standard collectors!, December 15, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High Standard: A Collector's Guide to the Hamden & Hartford Target Pistols (Paperback)
This is by far the best book for High Standard .22 semi-auto pistol collectors. (It does not try to cover the High Standard 1911 model, revolvers, shotguns or rifles.) It does an excellent and comprehensive job of reviewing all of the models and the changes over the years and how the company itself evolved from its genesis to its demise. I would like to see a second edition that goes beyond only the Hamden and Hartford pistols and covers models from both the predecessor company (Hartford Arms) and the successor company and "clone-maker" (High Standard in Texas and Mitchell). Although the book is ideal for collectors and valuable for shooters, competition shooters would probably like more information about tuning, modifications, third party product recommendations, product reviews, comparisons to target pistols from other firms, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great high standard 22 auto reference!, July 29, 2009
This review is from: High Standard: A Collector's Guide to the Hamden & Hartford Target Pistols (Paperback)
Book is very well layed out with good illustrations. It covers Hamden guns to East Hartford. Nothing before or after. While I wish it included all of high standards products, that would be unreasonable for the most part. The book is very detailed with a lot of info thats hard to find without the book. Many people are ignorant of hi standards 22 autos and this book is the cure. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Late Model High Standard Pistols Only, January 11, 2009
By 
Paul S. (Northern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High Standard: A Collector's Guide to the Hamden & Hartford Target Pistols (Paperback)
Very well written. In depth, lots of pictures.
Covers Pistols made approximatly after W. W. 2,until closing.
My Model HB was not among the earliest listed.
I wish he had written about High Standard from the start, this book is that good. ENJOY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, December 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High Standard: A Collector's Guide to the Hamden & Hartford Target Pistols (Paperback)
I recently purchased this book because when I was younger I owned a High Standard Pistol. It is an excellent book showing the history and the different pistols High Standard has made over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, April 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High Standard: A Collector's Guide to the Hamden & Hartford Target Pistols (Paperback)
Full of great information. If you like these pistols you will like the book. Good for collectors and others that want info about these guns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book of HS 22 target pistols., February 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High Standard: A Collector's Guide to the Hamden & Hartford Target Pistols (Paperback)
If you are interested in HS target pistols or if you like target sport shooting (standard pistol or rapid fire) this book is a must. It covers the history of an excellent company that developed one of the best american 22 pistols. Unfortunatelly, as it happened with many american companies, it passed away some years ago. I would say that these pistols must be considered as the american Hammerlies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars High Standard Collector's Guide Review, February 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High Standard: A Collector's Guide to the Hamden & Hartford Target Pistols (Paperback)
This book will provide a great overview of the older High Standard pistols. It is a must for HS enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High Standard: A Collector's Guide to the Hamden & Hartford Target Pistols (Paperback)
I purchased this as a gift for my husband for Christmas and I am sure he will love it. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you Love High Standards you will love this book, May 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High Standard: A Collector's Guide to the Hamden & Hartford Target Pistols (Paperback)
This is a very complete and well written book for the person who wants more information on the older model High Standard pistols. Lots of photographs, and information in an entertaining style of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

High Standard: A Collector's Guide to the Hamden & Hartford Target Pistols
$24.00 $20.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.