Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an Afrocentric read on this work
Don't get me wrong. This documentary interviews whites and blacks. The black musical pioneers thank and credit white musicians like Kraftwerk and Depeche Mode. The work implies that techno is especially big in Berlin. (In fact, this DVD offer German subtitles, but no Spanish or French ones.) So it is multi-culti.
However, I think people interested in...
Published on August 13, 2009 by Jeffery Mingo

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I guess you had to be there
I think High Tech Soul would be a great film for those who were a part of the nascent House/Techno scene in Detroit. There are lengthy interviews with all of the key players that give great background on their relationships with eachother and how money and fame complicated things. The city of Detroit plays a large role here as well which should inspire a bit of pride and...
Published on June 26, 2008 by John Albert Beckwith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an Afrocentric read on this work, August 13, 2009
By 
Jeffery Mingo (Homewood, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Tech Soul: The Creation of Techno Music (DVD)
Don't get me wrong. This documentary interviews whites and blacks. The black musical pioneers thank and credit white musicians like Kraftwerk and Depeche Mode. The work implies that techno is especially big in Berlin. (In fact, this DVD offer German subtitles, but no Spanish or French ones.) So it is multi-culti.
However, I think people interested in African-American cultural production will enjoy this. Soul music isn't usually guitar-heavy, yet Prince and Jimi Hendrix have scores of fans across races and are considered some of the world's greatest guitarists. I'm a Black person and I would think many of my peeps would dismiss techno as "too hard" and "not soulful." Therefore, it may surprise many that the genre's founders are Black. Many people praise rap because it originated from disenfranchised Blacks in the New York burroughs. Well, techno comes from Detroiters with the same sociological obstacles. One founder was wearing a T-shirt with a Benin mask and the Jamaican-inspired red, gold, and green colors.
In short, if whole multi-disc documentaries can be made about jazz and its African-American roots, then I think folk will appreciate learning how techno comes from a new generation of Black folk, often under the same conditions. Still, it's post-modern, in that it speaks of how music circulates so quickly. It concludes with the pioneers saying, "I never knew that music I made for Detroiters would influence younger musicians in Germany and Tokyo." Also, as a Chicagoan, I am pleased that these musicans credit Chicago and its house music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well documented! Professional and definitely entertaining!!, September 29, 2006
This review is from: High Tech Soul: The Creation of Techno Music (DVD)
WOWOWOWOW! This movie shocked the heck outta' me. I expected a lame-attempt for filmmaking, and instead, was astounded--at just how good--it actually was. I really enjoyed it and hope to see another one from this rookie filmmaker. Did this come out to the theater? Wished it would have.....think it would have been awesome to see on the big screen, as well. Man, what an incredible film. I thoroughly enjoyed this. Definitely, not a resell. Even if you don't like techno music, you will still-love this film. Not only is it a documentary of Techno music; but it's also, a very tasteful documentary of Detroit and its' heritage. Great film!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I guess you had to be there, June 26, 2008
This review is from: High Tech Soul: The Creation of Techno Music (DVD)
I think High Tech Soul would be a great film for those who were a part of the nascent House/Techno scene in Detroit. There are lengthy interviews with all of the key players that give great background on their relationships with eachother and how money and fame complicated things. The city of Detroit plays a large role here as well which should inspire a bit of pride and nostalgia for those who lived there at the time.

It was hard for me to appreciate much of the film because I had little prior knowledge of who these DJ's were and the music. I was expecting to learn a great deal more about how the music was actually made. There were some allusions to how the process of creating beats early one was complex and time consuming, but we never got to see it getting done. Frankly, for a film about a music genre, there was a lot more talking than music. But, like I said, if I was more familiar with House and Techno coming in to the film I would've better appreciated the talky parts.

If they reissue this, they should really think about including some reading material with the DVD to help provide some context for those who don't know much about the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love this flick!, October 7, 2013
By 
R. Meyer "Flux Snd" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High Tech Soul: The Creation of Techno Music (DVD)
Great story behind Detroit Techno, what else can I say but has all the major players and excellent interviews. Learn your techno history today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too incomplete for beginners, April 21, 2009
This review is from: High Tech Soul: The Creation of Techno Music (DVD)
Well, first of all, this is a techno documentary...and that's why I give 3 stars. Everyone interviewed gives a passionate personal opinion, and many times, interesting facts about the birth of DETROIT TECHNO music.
Now, as for the movie itself, there are many aspects I dislike. First, this is just about Detroit, and DETROIT TECHNO. They mention Kraftwerk, New Order, Depeche Mode....but that's just one mention. No detailed info on the Berlin-Detroit alliance, nothing about MadChester...all in all, not really much info outside of the Detroit, except when it comes to explain how Detroit Techno was hitting Europe.
Another thing that bothers me is that Derrick May bashes Paul Oakenfold...and that's ok, because the man is just giving his opinion. However, no one asked him about his work with Steve Hillage, or Gerald Simpson. And there's a chapter about UR...but how come no one interviewed Rob Hood or Mike Banks. And not a single word on Drexciya, the Burden Brothers, Submerge and other projects that Carl Craig and Derrick helped such as Bandulu.
Another thing...how can a documentary on Detroit not include an interview with Claude Young, Rob Hood, Rolando, Patrice Scott...?
Too incomplete for the beginners...
However, its a fine piece to satisfy the curiosity of those who know, but like to know more, or just listen to these brilliant minds speak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best documentary about Detroit techno/birth of techno, November 4, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High Tech Soul: The Creation of Techno Music (DVD)
While this documentary is imperfect, it is pretty good. I give it 5 stars because I have not seen any other electronic music documentary even come close to covering Detroit techno and giving it its due.

Do note that this doco is about the music created by Detroiters. It is not about Sven Vath, Warp Records, B12, or where techno went after its Detroit genesis.

Also note that as one reviewer stated, there are some people that are not interviewed (e.g. Mike Banks). However, you have to realize the people that made this A)had a limited budget and B) had to work with the schedules of these various globetrotting DJs and producers. Going into it I didn't expect them to be able to get all the important people and it turns out they did miss a few. No biggie. Or, for all I know, they asked Mike and he refused. They did get the trinity and they got Mills & Carl Craig (among many others). Frankly as long as you have those 5, you know you at least have a decent product.

Of interest was the fact that Ritchie Hawtin was included. Though the originators often diss him and go out of their way to say how he should not be included as part of the techno founders (or perhaps the techno community), the director of the doco did include him. While I personally both like a lot of Hawtin's stuff AND feel that his stuff isn't techno (his works seems to miss the whole soul/funk thing altogether) he was/is high profile and it is probably appropriate that he gets his time in front of the mike.

Two problems with the documentary:
1)for parts of the last half of the doco, the sound is not perfectly synced with the visual and it is noticeable
to the casual observer.
2) there should have been a bit more effort invested into explaining how techno proper (Detroit techno, the real thing, not Tresor Records, Basic Channel, or Kompakt)differ from house & trance and other flavors of electronic dance music. maybe the only people to watch this are aware of the distinction. On the off chance that a complete newbie watches this, however, I feel the director should have included 2 minutes to clarify the issue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars High Tech Soul: The Creation of Techno Music, March 30, 2007
This review is from: High Tech Soul: The Creation of Techno Music (DVD)
Its like the history of Detroit techno meets big brother(very bitchy)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

High Tech Soul: The Creation of Techno Music
Used & New from: $74.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.