Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the High Yield Series, November 16, 2006
By 
IntCards (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-Yield(TM) Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (High-Yield Series) (Paperback)
What it does right: This is the only book in the HY series the give sufficient detail to clinical cases and treatments. If you know this book, you know micro sufficient for USMLE. Goljan path has some other angles to integrate into you micro studying, but this covers the bulk of the classic microorganism, case presentations, and treatments. Concise and easily readable. The section of Q/A is priceless and sorely lacking in most of the HY titles.

What is does wrong: The book does not flow as well as I would like, but I don't like micro, so that might be part of it lol. Really, I do not have any critical complaints.

Conclusion: Great review for micro. Very good book to acclimate yourself with material before utilizing first aid. You might even find yourself using this book as a reference for more detail in areas that are not clear to you from FA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best for reviewing, July 25, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-Yield(TM) Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (High-Yield Series) (Paperback)
Before buying this book I had four others on microbiology. The most difficult thing was to decide which approach was better to learn this science - bug parade or according to site of infection?

Well, High-Yield Microbiology removes this problem - it analyzes bugs in both ways and plus another "Comparative Microbiology", in which it compares microbes according to several characteristics. The repetition alone improves learning.

This book is clear and well written, with helpful tables and charts. It is the best to review microbiology. Note REVIEW, you will have to have a textbook and/or go to classes if you actually want to learn.

Thus, in what it aims to be, it is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Review Book, October 27, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-Yield(TM) Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (High-Yield Series) (Paperback)
Excellent review book for microbiology class or board study. Hits all the high points. Good charts, few helpful diagrams. Nicely organized and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good info but outdated, April 30, 2013
By 
Wajid Hussein (Indianapolis, IN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: High-Yield(TM) Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (High-Yield Series) (Paperback)
I have this book but I ended up packing it somewhere else because it lacks some explanations but it is a good review book so you can't use it as you main source to learn the material. I found the presentation and content a bit outdated for my taste
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Student's Perspective, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-Yield(TM) Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (High-Yield Series) (Paperback)
Good for review, but incomplete without using a question bank. All the information is here, but Micro can be a bit tricky. Use this as you work through your question bank for STEP 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, concise review book, October 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-Yield(TM) Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (High-Yield Series) (Paperback)
This is a great book to review things you have already learned or come across. I would not recommend it as a primary text though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great review book, May 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-Yield(TM) Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (High-Yield Series) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book to review Micro , it has mnemonics plus diagrams and text to review the basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book, August 31, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-Yield(TM) Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (High-Yield Series) (Paperback)
I had Dr. Hawley as a professor in medical school and I have to say this book is a great buy. The way she breaks things down and gives you exactly what you need to know for the USMLE is fantastic. This book is truly golden and will give you everything you need to know for the USMLE Step 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great review book, November 6, 2011
By 
Erik Valenti (California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-Yield(TM) Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (High-Yield Series) (Paperback)
Good book! Perfect high yield facts for micro yet not quite everything is in here. Everything is laid out in a easy-to-follow fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

High-Yield(TM) Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (High-Yield  Series)
$35.99 $33.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.