Customer Reviews


321 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (85)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Camera For The Money
For the money this is a good camera. There has been a lot of speculation that if the camera gets wet it is ruined. I coated the entire camera with black RTV silicon and let it dry. I repeated this 2 more times. It has been through rain, sleet, salt, winter snow, etc.. and works perfect. I would not recommend directly spraying the camera with a water hose because it may...
Published 22 months ago by David

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars seller doesnt address bad reviews for a reason
i wish i could leave 0 stars.

ont buy this camera, never buy this camera, stop looking at its price tag and move on.

every single one of the negative reviews on this camera is what i'm experiencing. a drive in some light rain on the highway - water and fogging lens - immediately upon installing, everything that should be green is pink, the image is...
Published 2 months ago by David Fauci


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Camera For The Money, February 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-definition 170° Rear-view License Plate Back-up and Parallel Parking Camera Universal Waterproof Color (Personal Computers)
For the money this is a good camera. There has been a lot of speculation that if the camera gets wet it is ruined. I coated the entire camera with black RTV silicon and let it dry. I repeated this 2 more times. It has been through rain, sleet, salt, winter snow, etc.. and works perfect. I would not recommend directly spraying the camera with a water hose because it may loosen the RTV silicon. Also, if you have a license plate light it may wash out the camera at night. I attached a relay to my license plate light that is powered by the camera so when the camera goes on the license plate light goes off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works perfect!, October 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-definition 170° Rear-view License Plate Back-up and Parallel Parking Camera Universal Waterproof Color (Personal Computers)
I read about people complaining about water getting in the plastic lens and fogging up. I have had this for a few months now and so far after hard rain, pressure washing every other week, and drive through car washes, i have not had the camera lens fog up. Night vision works pretty decent and color is a bit off. But for the price i wasn't expecting the best camera. However for the price and no issues, I can't complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars seller doesnt address bad reviews for a reason, September 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-definition 170° Rear-view License Plate Back-up and Parallel Parking Camera Universal Waterproof Color (Personal Computers)
i wish i could leave 0 stars.

ont buy this camera, never buy this camera, stop looking at its price tag and move on.

every single one of the negative reviews on this camera is what i'm experiencing. a drive in some light rain on the highway - water and fogging lens - immediately upon installing, everything that should be green is pink, the image is horrid.

the 5 star reviews cant possibly be anything but the company leaving reviews for their own product.

i dont know what i expected from a $14 camera, but for some reason i bought it in hopes that i would get lucky and mine would be fully functional, i even tried the tip about using RTV silicon around the camera's seams (which are enormous enough to see LIGHT through, should have been my first clue) to water proof it but that was to no avail.

the 170 degree angle is a joke (closer to 90, maybe 100, the use of the term "high definition" should be outright illegal with this product, it has a single analog connector, and of course if you know anything about video cables you know this cant carry HD, its the same cable i used to use on my Nintendo 64.

the fact that amazon even allows this on their site is disturbing, and its not like i even got this from some marketplace seller, mine was filled BY amazon.

just stay away from this camera unless you want to waste $15.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars lite, April 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-definition 170° Rear-view License Plate Back-up and Parallel Parking Camera Universal Waterproof Color (Personal Computers)
Wasted a lot of time trying to get this camera up and running. After taking to shop and have it tested, found the camera would not activate.Returned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not as described, September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-definition 170° Rear-view License Plate Back-up and Parallel Parking Camera Universal Waterproof Color (Personal Computers)
it has a limited field of view of about 90 degrees, not the 170 wide field as described, so not useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quality is lacking, July 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-definition 170° Rear-view License Plate Back-up and Parallel Parking Camera Universal Waterproof Color (Personal Computers)
Pros:
Lightweight
Affordable

Cons:
Viewing angle is not conducive for anything other than a low to the ground passenger vehicle. This was mounted to my 2008 Toyota Highlander at the top of the license plate. Even after adjusting the vertical angle of the camera, the parkinglines are more hindrance than help. I tried to adjust it to be able to see my tow hitch for the purpose of hooking up/backing up to trailers. The camera simply doesn't have enough vertical angle adjustment to accomplish this without mounting it lower on the vehicle risking damage or easy theft.

Cheap plastic. The mounting points are not good quality or not dense enough. I was fearful that I would crack the mounting points when installing it. They are also slightly bowed in towards the vehicle.

Image quality is NOT HD! I should've known from the start because HD cameras use HDMI cables. The quality of the image is comparable to VCR. The color didn't work for me. Trees were pink...anything that was supposed to be green was pink actually.

IR illumination was virtually non existent. I didn't have washout from my LED license plate lights and I even unplugged the bulbs for reverse lights to test it.

Components cables were WAY too short for a feasible application for my SUV. The power feed cable gauge was about 12" and the signal wire for power source was about 8-10 copper fibers twisted and shouldered at the tip... Should be at least 18gauge automotive wire to match standards of UL and the auto industry standards to prevent electrical short/fire. The video cable was almost too short to wire to my head unit, it needs at least 3 more feet for trucks and medium SUV applications.

Appearance after install. There is no denying that you have a back up camera installed, high gloss plastic and generally bulky makes it a sore thumb begging to be stolen. Opt for a less obvious mount type such as the cavity for your license plate illumination housing.

My reccomendation is to spend a few more $ for better quality / ease of install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars so far so good, August 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-definition 170° Rear-view License Plate Back-up and Parallel Parking Camera Universal Waterproof Color (Personal Computers)
This is the second back up camera for my pickup truck. The first succumed to a pepetually fogged lens. Hve had this one for over a month, 1500 miles and some heavy rans and it is still working well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Found defect within the first week, April 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-definition 170° Rear-view License Plate Back-up and Parallel Parking Camera Universal Waterproof Color (Personal Computers)
I installed this back up camera on a Monday and used it for the first time on that Thursday. It had already accumulated moisture in the lens somehow. It did rain, but I haven't even driven the truck! Now the picture is bright and blurry. If it weren't for this, I think it would be a great camera for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not waterproof., July 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-definition 170° Rear-view License Plate Back-up and Parallel Parking Camera Universal Waterproof Color (Personal Computers)
The camera was easy to install. It was shipped on time. The camera is not water proof. It rained once and has water in the cover. Would not recommend getting this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works good. shows clear view but any water proof device ..., November 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: High-definition 170° Rear-view License Plate Back-up and Parallel Parking Camera Universal Waterproof Color (Personal Computers)
works good . shows clear view but any water proof device when out side cold temperature meets inside water proof device creates moisture on lens and blurs vision . so if it don't submerge in water , then just drill a hole on the bottom side of lens so rain can't get in but the inside temperature stays the same so it will stay clear during cold weather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.