Customer Reviews


209 Reviews
5 star:
 (141)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


157 of 159 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling Adventures Through Time!!!
Highlander Season One, a 9-disc DVD Collection, collects the entire 22-episode first season (1992-1993) of the syndicated action series based on the cult-favorite film.
THE STORY
"Highlander" tells the tale of a race of "Immortals" who battle one another throughout history for "the Prize." The "Immortals" game is simple -- take the heads of all other Immortals...
Published on December 8, 2002 by Mr. JKW

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not a good upgrade
I love Highlander, but this season on blu ray will only play properly on a ps3. There are columns on the sides of the screen instead of the usual non distracting black bars used for a full screen display on a wide screen tv. The quality of the media is terrible. It is exactly the same as regular dvd. I will not be upgrading the rest of my collection. for highlander, dvd...
Published on August 11, 2010 by G. B. Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

157 of 159 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling Adventures Through Time!!!, December 8, 2002
By 
Mr. JKW "jkw" (Honolulu, Hawai'i) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Highlander The Series - Season 1 (DVD)
Highlander Season One, a 9-disc DVD Collection, collects the entire 22-episode first season (1992-1993) of the syndicated action series based on the cult-favorite film.
THE STORY
"Highlander" tells the tale of a race of "Immortals" who battle one another throughout history for "the Prize." The "Immortals" game is simple -- take the heads of all other Immortals and receive ultimate knowledge and power. In the end -- there can be only one.
In 1986, the first Highlander the film, starring Christopher Lambert as Connor McLeod hit theatres. In 1992, Highlander: The Series debuted in syndication to tell the Highlander's tale anew. The series followed the adventures of a new Highlander, Duncan McLeod (Adrian Paul), a kinsman of Lambert's Connor from the original movies.
THE DVDS:
Here are the contents of each DVD.
Disc 1
Episode 1: The Gathering - Connor McLeod returns to "pass the torch" to kinsman Duncan McLeod as he helps Duncan prepare for a deadly Immortal who's set sites on Duncan's head.
Episode 2: Family Tree - Richie searches out for his long lost father and runs afoul of a con man and the mob enforcer sent to collect from him. Can McLeod save him in time?
Episode 3: The Road Not Taken - When Richie's friend dies from an apparent drug O.D., McLeod suspects an old Immortal friend of his.
Disc 2
Episode 4: Innocent Man - McLeod searches out an Immortal who took the head of a good friend.
Episode 5: Free Fall - McLeod trains a "new" immortal woman. All is not as it seems though.
Episode 6: Bad Day in Building "A" - Highlander goes Die Hard as McLeod takes on a bunch of criminals who have taken a courthouse hostage.
Disc 3
Episode 7: Mountain Men - McLeod goes Survivor when Tessa's kidnapped by a bunch of survivalists in the mountains.
Episode 8: Deadly Medicine - A psychotic surgeon takes McLeod prisoner to study his miraculous healing powers.
Episode 9: The Sea Witch - Richie helps an ex-girlfriend outrun the drug dealers whom she double-crossed.
Disc 4
Episode 10: Revenge is Sweet - A master swordswoman seeks revenge on McLeod for the death of her (Immortal) lover whom she believes McLeod killed.
Episode 11: See No Evil - McLeod searches out a serial killer who patterns his killings after an Immortal McLeod beheaded in the 1920s.
Episode 12: Eyewitness - Tessa's life is endangered after she witnesses a murder by an Immortal who's "above the law."
Disc 5
Episode 13: Band of Brothers - McLeod's old friend Darius sends warning that a deadly Immortal, clearly beyond McLeod's league, is coming for McLeod's head.
Episode 14: For Evil's Sake - McLeod takes on Kuyler, the Immortal Assassin, who's one-upped McLeod a few times in the past.
Episode 15: For Tomorrow We Die - McLeod takes on Xavier St. Cloud, an Immortal killer with poison gas and no regard for mortal lives.
Disc 6
Episode 16: The Beast Below - A "beast-like" Immortal is threatening Richie's new girlfriend. Can McLeod save her?
Episode 17: Saving Grace - McLeod comes to the aid of Immortal Dr. Grace Chandel, an old-flame, who's being stalked by her Immortal ex-husband.
Episode 18: The Lady and the Tiger - Will Amanda, an old friend and lover of McLeod's, sacrifice his head to save her own?
Disc 7
Episode 19: Eye of the Beholder - Richie falls for a model who's associated with a beauty obsessed Immortal who will do anything to collect and keep beautiful things, including killing Richie.
Episode 20: Avenging Angel - McLeod takes on a new Immortal who believes he is on a Holy Mission to destroy all sinners.
Episode 21: Nowhere to Run - McLeod and the gang must defend the arrogant and maladjusted son of Tessa's friend who is accused of raping the step-daughter of a dangerous Immortal.
Disc 8: Episode 22 and Extras
Episode 22: The Hunters - Season Finale. MacLeod and Fitzcairn investigate the recent disappearances of several Immortals and uncover a deadly plot.
THE DVD EXTRAS
By far, this set clearly has one of THE best DVD extras packages you'll ever see.
COMMENTARY AND NOTES
ALL EPISODES include commentary from producer Bill Panzer and "Watcher" notes. The producer commentary provides great insight into the situations surrounding each episode production including location, special FX or the actors and actresses. The "Watcher" notes gives additional background and provides more insight into "Highlander" canon with reference to events and characters. In all, these two features alone make purchase of the DVD well worth it. BUT, there's more...
BLOOPERS
Disc 8 includes the "Highlander Blooper Reel." Nearly 20 minutes of stunts gone wrong, lines flubbed and other hilarious outtakes featuring our favorite "Immortal" stars.
BEHIND THE SCENES
This is the half hour documentary used to promo the series before it debuted in 1992. Like most "behind the scenes" features we get the standard on-location footage and interviews with the cast and production crew.
THE SCRIPTS
Disc 9 includes the finalized shooting scripts for ALL 22 episodes in season one. The scripts are presented in Flash format. The scripts are a Highlander completist's dream as it includes all the lines and all the stage directions.
THE VERDICT
This series may have passed by a lot of people's radars due to syndication, but lovers of action-adventure and romance are bound to fall in love with this series. The "historical" flashbacks to earlier time periods in the Immortal's lives are something unique not seen in TV before or since. The martial arts and swashbuckling action will fix most people's action craving and the countless romantic "love scenes" featured in the series will reel in the ladies too. If you've never been exposed to world of Highlander before check this series out and see what Highlander fans have known for years, "In The End, There Can Be Only One" -- and this series is it!!
Highest Recommendation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally Highlander DVDs., December 10, 2002
By 
L. Eustace-Berlakovich (McGuire AFB, New Jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Highlander The Series - Season 1 (DVD)
This is an amazing set. All 22 episodes with a short interview about the making of the episode and a blooper reel. It was released originally through the Highlander website this time last year for Christmas (Dec 01) but the package was really horrid. All the disks had their own box making the entire set an most a foot wide, just a touch smaller than the original VHS box set. Thank goodness they listened to our complaints 'cause this set looks so much better and at a much better price.
This set has all the episodes at the entire release of 48 minutes which is the way they were released for TV in Canada and overseas. Those of us here in the states can finally see the entire episode the way it was released since we lost about 4 minutes for the TV formatting. Also there is a DVD with the original shooting scripts for this season. For those of us who just want to watch the Quickenings, there's a button on the menu of each episode that takes you right to the start of the scene. Little things that makes this set nice.
Now if we can only get the Highlander producers to release the rest of the series. We're ready for season two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, November 12, 2002
By 
C. Sager "logan510" (Glencoe, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Highlander The Series - Season 1 (DVD)
I have been waiting for this series to be put on dvd for quite a while. Oh sure, if you were willing to spend more than twice the money you could've bought season one from the Highlander website (which a friend of mine did), but I held out hope that eventually a more affordable version would come out for purchase in stores. Not only is this set less expensive, it's also better designed. Graphically the box art is much smarter looking and the box itself with it's fold out cases within a case is a space saver on my dvd shelf.
Now on to the episodes...It's interesting in the beginning of the series to see how the Highlander movie continuity is incorporated into the TV show. It's not a totally seamless transition, you almost get the feeling that the producers weren't sure themselves how they were going to handle it. As the season progresses however, Duncan MacLeod and the series begin to find their own voices. I would highly recommend this set to existing fans of the series as well as people who might have never even heard of Highlander, there seems to be something appealing in it for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Don't lose your head", June 24, 2005
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Highlander The Series - Season 1 (DVD)
I love this series and have watched most episodes, but it is great to be able to go back and see them again, in order. Most people know the basics that serve as foundation for the story; Duncan MacLeod (Adrian Paul) is a four-hundred-year-old immortal who can only die if someone cuts his head. The problem is that there are other immortals out there, and when they kill one of their own they absorb his power. In the end, when the time of the Gathering arrives, there can only be one; and this moment is getting closer and closer. Since the goal is to cut their opponent's head, the fights are mostly with swords, and the choreography used in these scenes is believable and entertaining to watch.

In order to give this series continuity with the movies that serve as the basis, there is a brief appearance by Christopher Lambert as Connor MacLeod, who is Duncan's "cousin" and mentor. From that moment on, the series stands on its own, and besides Duncan, the main characters are Tessa (Alexandra Vandernoot), his mortal girlfriend who sells antiques, and Richie (Stan Kirsch), a kid who loves to get in trouble with the law.

The series has a good continuity, but most chapters stand pretty well on their own. Of course my recommendation is that you watch them in order, so you can maximize your enjoyment and understanding of what is going on. Especially since one of the aspects I enjoyed most was to learn the rules that govern the lives of the immortals. These rules are revealed little by little and every time we come across a new one, we find ourselves thinking about past episodes and understanding things better.

Most episodes follow the same basic pattern, with a situation presenting itself to Duncan (usually involving another immortal), the tension building up and at the same time Duncan remembering an event from his past related to the present one, and a grand finale with an all out confrontation. The good thing is that even though this pattern is pretty consistent, the creators provide us with enough variety to keep us interested. One fact that may help in this sense is that there are several different writers across the various episodes. All of them share a trait though, and that is the ability to infuse each installment with a high level of suspense, usually through the endangerment of Duncan or someone he loves.

It was very interesting to me to watch the evolution of the actors in this series, since in the first half of this season I found Adrian Paul and Alexandra Vandernoot to be a little stiff and unnatural in their performances. But as the series progressed, they became much better and at ease in their roles. The case of Stan Kirsch is different, since he fits the role to the T since the first episode, and he fulfills the task of bringing some humor to the series in a highly proficient manner.

Due to the nature of the series and of the different places in which Duncan has lived throughout the years, we get to see a huge variety of settings. The creators of the series really excelled in this aspect, especially during Duncan's flashbacks to ancient times. In terms of the present action, the first half of the season develops in the US and the second part in Paris, allowing for the introduction of new secondary characters and even of the way the story progresses. Finally, another attractive feature of this series is the music, with a main theme by Queen that fits the mood very well.

For those of you that are already fans of this series and want something extra besides the episodes, you will get a behind the scenes feature that is pretty interesting and some bloopers during filming. If you like action series in a fantastic setting, you cannot do better than with this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not a good upgrade, August 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love Highlander, but this season on blu ray will only play properly on a ps3. There are columns on the sides of the screen instead of the usual non distracting black bars used for a full screen display on a wide screen tv. The quality of the media is terrible. It is exactly the same as regular dvd. I will not be upgrading the rest of my collection. for highlander, dvd is just fine since blu ray didn't work out any better. In fact, I would prefer dvd because there are no distracting columns on the sides of the screen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars okay one down five to go!!, December 6, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Highlander The Series - Season 1 (DVD)
highlander the series was the first television series that compelled me to want to buy every episode and i bought all the six seasons on vhs from the official site..since then i have bought a few other shows(stargate sg-1,buffy,24, friends etc..)but none of them has been as captivating as watching one mans struggle to do the right thing at all costs. When the official site offered the dvds of the first season i scoffed at the price they were asking but still wanted them, but i bided my time and waited (almost an eternity) for a general release knowing that it would be less expensive, and thank darius here it is. needless to say i bought this as soon as it was released and watched it over the next two days everything is intact episodes are full and complete video quality is better than vhs but alot of the darker colors get grainy ( so are the vhs)....but it will never degrade and it still looks awsome.
if you like well written well thought out television this is for you...if you enjoyed the first movie just know that the series blows it away as far as depth and lore.
this is about good overcoming evil"nice guys finish last" or so i've been told....but it is so well done that even if you have watched an episode 3 or 4 times you can come away from it with somthing new.
in the highlander universe there is only HIGHLANDER,HIGHLANDER THE SERIES AND HIGHLANDER..ENDGAME..trust me you can live without the second and third movies.
if you are unfamiliar with highlander BUT enjoyed "24","stargate sg-1", "buffy the vampire slayer","star trek the next generation"....know that all of these series have a similar depth and writing style.obviously they have differing themes but if you enjoyed one of them you should enjoy all of them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product with some packaging problems, September 21, 2004
By 
Christine (Minnesota, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Highlander The Series - Season 1 (DVD)
I ordered this from Amazon some time ago as a gift for my husband. I gave it to him a few months later, and it was a few months after that before he got around to watching it. He is a big fan of the show and he loved this set, but there was one problem: the box was missing a disc. I contacted Amazon - they were wonderful and shipped a new set ASAP. When we received the second set, it was missing a DIFFERENT disc! We ended up putting together a complete set using both of the incomplete ones and sending back what was left. (Big thanks to Amazon for their customer service - they were very apologetic and accomodating from start to finish.) Just be aware that if you are purchasing this product from a company with a strict time limit on returns/exchanges, make sure you open it right away and verify that you have all the discs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars boy, was I disappointed, July 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When I first heard HIGHLANDER: SEASON 1 was coming out on blu ray, I was excited. Finally it was going to be available.
Boy, was I disappointed.
When I got it home, the first thing I noticed when I put the first disc in was that it was NOT in widescreen! There are "blocks" on the sides of the picture. That really annoyed me.

And after that, I noticed that the picture was not that much better than the regular season 1 discs I already own. That was a big disappointment as well.

I was so annoyed I returned it the next day. Of course I was not able to get a full refund, but I knew I did not want to own it. So I lost money on it which didn't help my overall mood.

If none of this bothers you, then, by all means, purchase it. I for one would save my money and stick with the regular dvds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good job, Anchor Bay, December 26, 2002
This review is from: Highlander The Series - Season 1 (DVD)
Well if you're reading any of these reviews it's obvious that you are already a Highlander fan, so I shouldn't have to explain anything about the show here. I must say that I bought the set when it originally came out on the Highlander website, and even though it cost me an arm and a leg, I was satisfied. I read reports of how other people received defective sets, the packaging was poor, etc. etc. My set played perfectly however. Then came Anchor Bay, with a much cooler package design and a very affordable price. Needless to say, I was a bit miffed about buying it directly from Davis/Panzer. Still, it'll teach me a lesson to wait for AB to release the further seasons on DVD (Season 2 is scheduled for this summer).
About the set itself, it's pretty high quality for a TV show transfer. There could have been better DVD extras, but we're really just buying this to get the Series on DVD anyway. The Season 1 shows are OK...but I'm really looking forward to Seasons 4 & 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, but flawed, August 24, 2006
This review is from: Highlander The Series - Season 1 (DVD)
The first season itself is wonderfully done, with excellent stories and nice effects. This season, much more so than any of the others, reminds me of the first movie. It's larger than life and loads of fun. I would rate the first season as 5 stars, but...

The discs are neither captioned nor subtitled, and no additional languages are available in any form, either through subtitles or audio. Since I have a hearing problem, I frequently turn on either captions or subtitles. I'm more than a little annoyed this has neither. Also, it's more than a little interesting to watch "The Gathering" in French, since Christopher Lambert dubs his own lines. :-) In general, I find watching DVDs in foreign languages educational and helpful in relearning a language I no longer understand as well as I'd like. Unfortunately, no foreign language options are available with these discs.

On another note, I have no idea why someone decided it was a good idea to use half a box to hold 3 sets of 3 discs each, but the half box idea was dumb. A full box works so much better to hold and protect the disc sets.

So, 5 stars for the episodes, but 1 star off for packaging and lack of text and audio language features. I'd be inclined to take off more stars if my hearing were worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Highlander The Series - Season 1
Highlander The Series - Season 1 by Thomas J. Wright (DVD - 2002)
$49.97 $19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.