Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Him Her....Fun!
Despite its unfortunate title, which refers to the sections the book is divided into, this book is indeed a fun read, and quite engaging. The author, Patricia Marx, has a unique turn of phrase that will at times bring you to laugh out loud, and will cause you to feel the frustration of our heroine, whose name we never learn.

The plot is basic: our heroine, a...
Published on December 30, 2006 by Tamela Mccann

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, not hilarious... and good, not great
While working on her thesis at Cambridge University, the narrator of Him Her Him Again The End of Him meets Eugene, a philosophy major who waltzes in and out of her life over the next decade and whom she obsessively alters even the smallest details of her life to accommodate. Though Eugene routinely walks all over her and steps on her oft-profferred heart, she still comes...
Published on February 24, 2007 by K. Hinton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, not hilarious... and good, not great, February 24, 2007
While working on her thesis at Cambridge University, the narrator of Him Her Him Again The End of Him meets Eugene, a philosophy major who waltzes in and out of her life over the next decade and whom she obsessively alters even the smallest details of her life to accommodate. Though Eugene routinely walks all over her and steps on her oft-profferred heart, she still comes crawling back with disappointing regularity and puts her own need aside to make room for his. Over the course of the novel she sets aside her thesis, leaves England, moves in with her parents, finds work as a writer for a television sketch comedy, loses work, and through it all the only constant is her obsession with getting Eugene to love her.

The protagonist of Patricia Marx's first novel is in equal measure an amusing, instrospective, overthinking mess and an irresponsible, unambitious, mediocre victim. Whichever part of her you enjoy most seems to skew your overall views of the book. I couldn't get over the way she let Eugene treat her, though I am all for first love and the way it can devastate and influence the way you live your life. Though the book is supposed to be dubbed one of the funniest ever written, I thought the story itself was depressing. It is funny a lot of the time and the narrator herself is amusing a lot of the time without even trying, but the tone and direction of the book weren't at all entertaining. I liked a good deal of this story, but I hated Eugene and as he was the principal male character of the story it made it difficult to enjoy the entire novel. Him Her Him Again The End of Him was funny, not hilarious, and it was most definitely good--not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Him Her....Fun!, December 30, 2006
Despite its unfortunate title, which refers to the sections the book is divided into, this book is indeed a fun read, and quite engaging. The author, Patricia Marx, has a unique turn of phrase that will at times bring you to laugh out loud, and will cause you to feel the frustration of our heroine, whose name we never learn.

The plot is basic: our heroine, a student at Cambridge, meets and almost immediately gives both her heart and her virginity to Eugene, a cad of the first order. Despite his many faults, our heroine finds herself literally obsessed with Eugene, even after he dumps her for the sickly Margaret. We watch as, over a period of ten years, our heroine pines for the shallow and selfish Eugene, putting aside her own needs and bouncing from job to job as she searches for whatever it is that will make her life perfect. Eugene flits in and out of her life like an annoying fly, and yet she allows him to dictate almost everything about her existence. It is both frustrating and funny as we follow her non-growth into its eventual climax, cheering her on and hoping that she will experience an epiphany that allows Eugene to get what's coming to him.

Marx has a brilliant writing style, and she uses it to both string the reader along on the heroine's web of obsession and to make said reader laugh as she reveals bits and pieces that bring the story to its end. At times it felt as though our heroine would never reach enlightenment, and the story dragged as a result. But overall this is a gem of a novel, and should be recommended to all who enjoy an author with a gift for comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, but not enough, March 3, 2007
If there is one problem with nearly every SNL skit-turned movie it's that the audience is asked to endure a one-joke premise stretched unmercifully into a feature length film.

This is the print version of same. Smart yet neurotic girl falls for arrogant cad, whines to witty and eccentric friends, tolerates family, comes out a bit wiser. The shallow characters are asked to carry a storyline that doesn't have the interest to last through a novel. There are truly clever moments that had me laughing out loud, but the plot was disappointingly simple.

This has the feel of a Tina Fey hopeful trying to step away from her skit comedy roots -- but only a few steps away. I'd like to read something more ambitious from Marx; she has talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny. Smart. Funny Again. And then even smarter., January 16, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The best thing about bad boyfriends is dishing about them during and especially after. There has never been a worse boyfriend or a more enjoyable dish than this sharp, funny, and even wise and touching book by Patricia Marx. We know long before she does that Eugene is a narcissistic cad who does not even remotely deserve her affection. But she makes us feel the pull of his attention and learn along with our appealing heroine that just because someone calls your kisses recondite and notional does not mean he is smart and just because he has another girlfriend (whom he marries) but still wants you does not mean you matter to him. We may never know how many grains of sand it takes to make a heap (read the book, you'll know why this is relevant), but we can tell less then three sentences into this book that we are in the hands of an author who has mastered the art of telling a story with wit, heart, insight, and meaning that is far from recondite and phenomenologically notional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite funny, could've used another round of editing, March 31, 2008
By 
mep (Boston, MA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Him Her Him Again The End of Him (Paperback)
One of the reviews likened the book to an SNL skit that went on a couple of beats too long. I agree, but there were definitely laugh-out-loud moments and the appendices are silly fun. Despite her obvious flaws, I found the protagonist kind of endearing in her frank acknowledgement of said flaws. And though Eugene is over the top, we've all met the type, unbearably pretentious and narcissitic. The book was an entertaining read and I'd recommend it to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually pretty funny..., January 21, 2007
By 
DevJohn01 (Somerset, NJ) - See all my reviews
I was not sure what to expect from a book dubbed by one reviewer (who claims she has no ties to Ms. Marx whatsoever) to be the funniest book ever. But the intriguing title and Patricia Marx impressive credentials as a former SNL writer and contributer to the New Yorker made me push all the other books in my "to be read" pile to the side and pick up 'HIM HER HIM AGAIN THE END OF HIM' as soon as I received it.

The story follows Marx's unnamed heroine through the trials and tribulations of her relationship with a man who is amongst other things a womanizer, liar, cheater and seems to all others (with the exception of our heroine of course) to have no real interest in her. I am sure that many people reading this novel have endured, at one time or another, a relationship like this where the object of your affection is clearly wrong for you, however the humor in this situation is in the heroines hilarious delivery. There is never a dull moment as we watch the heroine flit from job to job and exchange in hilarious encounters with her family, all the while pinning for the un charming analytical philosopher turned philosophical analyst that we come to know as Eugene, for ten (yes ten!) years. Moreover, the ending will have readers laughing out loud and cheering for the heroine at the same time.

Marx's dry humor, intelligence and wit make this book one to look out for in 2007 and will leave readers wanting more of our unnamed heroine and Patricia Marx as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars vaguely entertaining, if you've ever had a know-it-all boyfriend, May 9, 2009
This review is from: Him Her Him Again The End of Him (Paperback)
This is a quick and largely unfulfilling read, with passages of humor--particularly at the beginning--that will lure in those who have ever known someone like the despicable Eugene, with his self-righteous self-obsession. Marx's writing is biting enough to offer some laugh-out-loud moments, although for the most part the book is brief and superficial. You can't help but hate the nameless narrator for being a doormat, so even while the villain is obstreperous and appalling it's a little difficult to root for his victim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is too funny to be called chick-lit!, July 17, 2008
This review is from: Him Her Him Again The End of Him (Paperback)
Excellent read; funny, smart and so much better than a lot of the so-called "chick-lit" floating around out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Funny Again, The End of Funny, January 31, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Him Her Him Again The End of Him (Paperback)
Overall, Him Her Him Again The End of Him is witty and entertaining. Patricia Marx used to write for Saturday Night Live and after reading this it is easy to see why. However, the neurosis and excectricities of the characters get a tab bit exhausting by the end. This is the story of one woman's ten year obsession with an obnoxious, philandering, pseudo-intellectual man named Eugene. The narrator's fixiation on Eugene is often times laugh-out-loud hilarious as are her descriptions of her day-to-day life. This is a quick read and would be great for a plane trip. Him Her Him Again The End of Him reminds me a lot of Amanda Filippacci's novels, so if you liked Vapor, Nude Men, or Love Creeps you will be sure to love Him Her Him Again The End of Him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars O', Darling, Have I Ever Intuited To You That You Fill Me Past Containment With The Most Wondrous Mirth?, January 11, 2007
By 
This is a really funny novel! Somehow, despite its cutting edge modernity, it reads a lot like those unintentionally humorous old books that were once the very soul of seriousness but which with time became inane. It tells a story of one woman's quest for happiness and perfection in her life, and of the irritatingly awful man who, much to her and our frustration, keeps wrecking it for her, for which she has largely herself to blame. Meeting this screamingly-ridiculous post-grad as a virginal, idealistic student at Cambridge, a never-named American-born heroine is swept away by a charming and pedantic cad, called Eugene, and even after Eugene ends his wordy romance of the woman by wedding the (perhaps psychosomatically) ill Margaret, the woman cannot quite forget the drivel-spouting Eugene, or stop his serial, self-serving invasions of her life over the next decade. Even when she lands a writing job on an SNL-like comedy show is she not invulnerable to Eugene's snicker-worthy wiles.

It's a mistake to dismissively stereotype a book as "chick lit" even if it clearly is. The fact is chick lit has given us some of the funniest and most touching titles in recent decades. Sure in books written primarily for females there is emoting, yes, there is a lot of introspection, certainly, and verily, there are embarrassing moments aplenty, but the good news is, this book, sets them all on their heads with its clever awareness of that. Achieving a rare synthesis of satire and parody and tossing in some good old fashioned hilarity, former Saturday Night Live writer Patricia Marx has cranked out a witty book that made me laugh at least once a chapter. Knowing that true satire tiptoes along a razor's edge on which silliness lies on one side and banality on the other, and that parody, like a delicate hothouse flower that only blossoms in a small temperature range, is easily lost in the effort, Marx treats her tale of a never-named woman who is partly modern and partly old-fashioned, with delicacy that shows.

I thought Him Her Him Again The End Of Him was hilarious and a quality novel, one that should translate perfectly to the big screen, and might I add that Hugh Grant, with the right accent, would be perfect for the part of Eugene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa1c08a14)

This product

Him   Her   Him Again   The End of Him
Him Her Him Again The End of Him by Patricia Marx (Paperback - January 1, 2008)
$14.00 $12.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.