Prime Music
Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by papatia1967
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: No scratches.
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $1.10
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • The Hindsley Legacy
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

The Hindsley Legacy

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, July 1, 1999
"Please retry"

Black Friday in Music Black Friday in Music

Product Details

  • Orchestra: University of Illinois Concert Band
  • Conductor: Mark H. Hindsley
  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach, Johannes Brahms, Paul Dukas, Mikhail Glinka, George Frideric Handel, et al.
  • Audio CD (July 1, 1999)
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Label: Mark Masters
  • ASIN: B000036530
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #509,484 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Disc: 1
1. Russian and Ludmilla
2. Toccata and Fugue
3. March Militaire Francaise
4. Danse Macabre
5. Scheherazade
Disc: 2
1. The Sorcerer's Apprentice
2. Till Eulenspiegel's Merry Pranks
3. Les Preludes
4. Pictures at an Exhibition
Disc: 3
1. Academic Festival Overture
2. Rienzi Overture
3. Tannhauser Overture
4. Die Meistersinger von Nurnberg Overture
5. The Flying Dutchman Overture
6. Music For The Royal Fireworks

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By paul in glendale on December 6, 2010
5 stars on the material - classic concert band music from a legendary conductor and arranger, Mark Hindsley. I was fortunate enough to meet Dr. Hindsley and be part of a concert he guest-conducted at the University of Illinois.


When were these recordings made? Where were these recordings made? How were these recordings made?

These are questions that digital stores like Amazon and iTunes rarely, if ever, include. A date is shown above as November 9, 1999 with the legendary Mark Hindsley conducting. Yet Hindsley died October 1, 1999 so this would be impossible.

Pardon my rant, but this is important for the future of digital music stores: Collectors of this and other genres of music would love to know more information about the recordings. I contacted Mark Custom Recordings to see if they knew more, such as the actual dates of the recordings, where they were recorded (Krannert? Smith Hall?), what type of equipment the recordings were made on, and who was playing on them.

Remember when "albums" used to list all the personnel that played on it? I have 12 albums from the University of Illinois and every member of the concert band is listed, as is a large picture of the ensemble and conductor, plus notes about the music. Ah, those were the days, when sellers cared.

Someday, hopefully, Amazon and iTunes will have full scans of liner notes and photographs (currently Amazon allows "customer images" to be uploaded, but many are blurry and unreadable). Until then, the important information that makes recordings like these even more personal will be lost.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in