Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Hirschfeld: Art and Recollections From Eight Decades
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 6, 2011
This is a true collectors piece. I love it - page after page of his works - and they are truly beautiful. I found a used one for $20 and I wonder if it ever got looked at. It was crisp and clean. Hirschfeld is a master...and the Nina's are wonderful hidden treasures. Absolutely beautiful stuff.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2012
This has got to be the very best book of Al Hirschfeld's artwork that I have ever seen. It has a lot of the same artwork that was in the Hirschfeld book that I bought earlier this month. It has art from the early days of movies and through the Broadway years and into the television shows of the 1980s. Each page is just great, his art of lines are the best of this type that I know of. It all looks so simple, how dose he do it? And the real kick in the head is that it was only $5.00, it was a $70.00 book in its day.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2010
this is one of the best collections of Hirschfeld's work. The other two great collections are American Theater As Seen By Hirschfeld and The World of Hirschfeld. Biased as I am, Hirschfeld's Hollywood is also wonderful, but on a much more specific topic.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2012
For anyone who loves line drawing and line drawings of famous people...this is your book. Any one who likes to solve mysteries...this is your book! Have fun finding the NINA's and trying to guess who all the old time movie stars are!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2014
This book organizes Hirschfeld's work chronologically, so you see an interesting progression of his style, from one that is grand but not all that uncommon to something entirely unique and marvelous. Interesting comments by him about his work at various points add insight to his thinking and artistry. This is a book you can return to many many times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2014
A wonderful addition to a unique artist who simply mastered the depictions of famous people with an economy of lines.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2014
Beautiful book. Big full page drawings from the Line King
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2015
beautiful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.