Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding artwork
Posters used to publicize movies are an art form that has largely been lost. Modern forms of publicity rely on computer-generated images, web sites and animation. Al Hirschfeld was one of the outstanding drawers of such posters and this is a collection of some of his best. Nearly all depict older movies or the stars of those movies, the most recent poster for a movie is...
Published on April 7, 2005 by Charles Ashbacher

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not as many good large photos as I'd liked
But I did buy the cheapest book on Hirschfeld's work that Amazon offered. Ill buy a better one next time
Published 10 months ago by tula


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding artwork, April 7, 2005
This review is from: Hirschfeld's Hollywood: The Film Art of Al Hirschfeld (Paperback)
Posters used to publicize movies are an art form that has largely been lost. Modern forms of publicity rely on computer-generated images, web sites and animation. Al Hirschfeld was one of the outstanding drawers of such posters and this is a collection of some of his best. Nearly all depict older movies or the stars of those movies, the most recent poster for a movie is from the early 1990's. There are also some figures of old stars that he drew for postage stamps.

I enjoyed the artwork, but I also enjoyed the nostalgic look back through a history of some of the greatest movies ever made and the stars that made them great. It is a history of the movies from a perspective quite different than reading about the plots and the trials and tribulations of making them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Hirschfeld, February 21, 2002
This review is from: Hirschfeld's Hollywood: The Film Art of Al Hirschfeld (Paperback)
Everything about Hirschfeld was already said. He's a genius. He's the Line King. He's almost 100 years old. And he's alive. Get this damn book. Buy the old ones. Collect them. Buy the video. Cut his drawings from the Sunday NYTimes. Stop buying stupid eletronic gadgets, save the money, and then spend 2 thousand in an original lithograph. I did it. Twice. And there's nothing in the world that can make me feel better. Maybe another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's the best., April 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hirschfeld's Hollywood: The Film Art of Al Hirschfeld (Paperback)
Hirschfeild is a master of the art of caricature. His style is magical and always makes me hunger to see more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not as many good large photos as I'd liked, February 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hirschfeld's Hollywood: The Film Art of Al Hirschfeld (Paperback)
But I did buy the cheapest book on Hirschfeld's work that Amazon offered. Ill buy a better one next time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Film Art of Al Hirschfeld, April 30, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hirschfeld's Hollywood: The Film Art of Al Hirschfeld (Paperback)
My son loves to draw. He was facinated by this book and enjoyed looking for all of the "Nina"s in each picture. A great collection of Al Hirschfeld's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific book., March 24, 2013
By 
Arlene Haskin (Indianapolis, IN, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hirschfeld's Hollywood: The Film Art of Al Hirschfeld (Paperback)
We are big fans of Hirschfeld's theatrical caricatures. The book arrived in excellent condition. It will be very helpful for a theatrical production we are working on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Talented Artist, May 8, 2012
By 
C. Rodgers (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hirschfeld's Hollywood: The Film Art of Al Hirschfeld (Paperback)
Bought several of the Hirschfeld books. Normally I do not prefer buying USED books; but the ones I bought all arrived in great condition. And the cost savings was appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hirschfeld as the chronicler of Hollywood in his own eyes, August 4, 2014
By 
Mr. Linguist (Longwood, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hirschfeld's Hollywood: The Film Art of Al Hirschfeld (Paperback)
I love looking at his caricatures and trying to identify the identity of the drawing. Hirschfeld was the quintessential master of this art form inthe 20th century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hirschfeld's Hollywood: The Film Art of Al Hirschfeld
Hirschfeld's Hollywood: The Film Art of Al Hirschfeld by David Leopold (Paperback - October 1, 2001)
Used & New from: $5.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.