Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Plant
The year after I planted this Blueberry plant I had fruit growing. Very tasty and sweet. Each year they get more and more.
Published on January 2, 2012 by mtnstu

versus
156 of 160 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mediocre plants and no info provided
Hirt's is a sorta hands-off 'nursery'. They'll sell you whatever you want to buy from them, whenever you want to buy it. There's none of that pesky 'hey, by the way, blueberries do best when planted in spring or fall, so August might not be the best time to buy...' or 'gee, you're in USDA zone 6, you need to make sure you choose plants that can handle that climate.' No,...
Published on August 20, 2010 by Silea


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

156 of 160 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mediocre plants and no info provided, August 20, 2010
By 
Silea (Pacific Northwest) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hirt's Top Hat Dwarf Blueberry Plant - Bonsai/Patio/Outdoors
Hirt's is a sorta hands-off 'nursery'. They'll sell you whatever you want to buy from them, whenever you want to buy it. There's none of that pesky 'hey, by the way, blueberries do best when planted in spring or fall, so August might not be the best time to buy...' or 'gee, you're in USDA zone 6, you need to make sure you choose plants that can handle that climate.' No, Hirt's isn't about helping you buy the right plants, they're about selling seeds and plants to people either educated enough or naive enough to not need any guidance.

If you know what you're doing, this is good, because it saves you the time and effort of going to a garden center, talking to the employees, weighing what you want against what they have, and so forth. If you don't know what you're doing, you're going to end up with a lot of dead plants.

Take, for example, the Top Hat Dwarf Blueberry. Hirt's says in the product information that it's self-fertile, not requiring another plant of a different cultivar to produce berries. This is technically true, and a healthy Top Hat will give you a few blueberries even if it's the only blueberry plant on the block. However, if you want enough blueberries to make it worth the effort, you need two plants of different types that flower at the same time.

Similarly, Hirt's only includes the most vague of vague plant care instructions. If you blithely follow them, waiting a few days to let the plant recover from its travel then plunking it into your garden, you're probably going to have a dead Top Hat plant sooner than you'd think. Blueberries require ridiculously acidic soil to thrive. Hirt's puts the burden of research squarely on your shoulders, without even pointing out which plants are finicky and merit some research before you attempt to grow them.

And, of course, Hirt's plants rarely arrive in good shape. My little Top Hat Dwarf Blueberry plant arrived with dead branches, damaged leaves, and signs of poor soil pH and nutrient levels. While i could go through the return process, my occasional experience with Hirt's over the years doesn't lead me to believe that the end result would be the delivery of a healthy plant. This poor sapling of mine is a guinea pig, and given that, it made more sense to buy a cheap plant from Hirt's than to spend the extra few dollars and gasoline to go to the local nursery to buy a healthier plant. In a year or two, when i've gotten the hang of blueberry care and want to put a few into my garden, i will certainly not purchase my plants from Hirt's.

So if you've done the research, know exactly what you want, and are willing to get a malnourished and mildly abused plant, shop here. If you're just thinking, 'ooh, a little bonsai blueberry plant, that'd be awesome!', save yourself the money unless you're willing to spend a bit of time rehabilitating the plant and don't actually want more than a handful of blueberries a year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average Mail Order Nursery - Buyer Beware, June 19, 2011
This review is from: Hirt's Top Hat Dwarf Blueberry Plant - Bonsai/Patio/Outdoors
Hirt's Top Hat Blueberry plant is a semi-dwarf variety, that will grow to about 24 inches wide and high. It will produce a lot of blueberries if the plant thrives and grows. However, this is no forgone conclusion, as blueberries are some of the toughest to grow of any fruiting plants. The main reason is that the plant absolutely requires a soil pH that is very acidic (about 4.5 - 5.5 pH). Of course, the potted soil that the plant arrives in will be acidic soil, but over time, that acidity needs to be maintained if the plant is to continue to grow. This can be done with a soil acidifer, such as soil sulphur. It is best to replant this plant in a large clay pot if you are going to have a patio blueberry plant. The larger the better, as the larger the pot, the more the roots can grow, and the more berries the bush will produce. To pot the plant, repot in 50% peat moss and 50% planting soil. The peat moss will acidify the soil. If you wish to confirm the pH, do so with a pH meter. Try to get it around a pH of 5. Keep the plant soil moist, but not soaking wet, as the roots will rot if they are continually too wet. Blueberries require a lot of sunshine to thrive, so place the pot in an area that recieves at least 8 hours of full sun a day.

Top Hat blueberries do well in zones 5-7, so the northern area of the US is not suitable for this particular variety. Don't expect berries the first season, or even too many the second season. It takes some time for the roots to establish and then thrive. With proper care, you will get handfulls of tasty blueberries.

This particular variety is a favorite of "bonsai" enthusists.

As with any mail order nursery, the condition the plant arrives in is highly variable. If your plant is delayed in delivery, or is not packed with care prior to shipping, it will most likely not grow or will be very sluggish. I suggest that if the plant arrives in substandard condition, send it back and demand another.

kone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not for the beginer, June 22, 2010
This review is from: Hirt's Top Hat Dwarf Blueberry Plant - Bonsai/Patio/Outdoors
if you want a hardy blueberry plant this one is not for you.this variety dies quickly if soil,water and sunlight are not right.you have to pamper this you for it to reach maturity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Never again..., September 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hirt's Top Hat Dwarf Blueberry Plant - Bonsai/Patio/Outdoors
The Tophat blueberry bush arrived with a third of the foliage completely dead. Even by dwarf variety standards, it was laughably small for the money. In addition, I was treated very rudely by this vendor and won't ever buy from them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware!, July 11, 2012
By 
Sonny (Nashville, TN, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hirt's Top Hat Dwarf Blueberry Plant - Bonsai/Patio/Outdoors
Delivery was quick but the plant was only 1 3/4 inches tall -- not the approximately eight inches advertised. Also, the majority of the tiny leaves had black edges and eventually they fell off. I called 9GreenBox and left a message. I also emailed several times but with no reply. Going through Amazon brought quick results and 9GreenBox offered me a refund or another plant. I asked for another one, emphasizing it be as advertised. I received the replacement today and unfortunately it is not in much better shape than the first one. It is just under five inches high, consists of two twigs, again with black edged leaves. I definitely would not recommend this company to anyone and would also recommend that Amazon remove them from their Marketplace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dying, October 2, 2012
This review is from: Hirt's Top Hat Dwarf Blueberry Plant - Bonsai/Patio/Outdoors
It's soooo small! It may make it, but I'm going to have to get to the store soon to get better soil for it! Leaves were dying or dead when I received it. It's a small and thin branch that has about seven leaves on it total.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Plant, January 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hirt's Top Hat Dwarf Blueberry Plant - Bonsai/Patio/Outdoors
The year after I planted this Blueberry plant I had fruit growing. Very tasty and sweet. Each year they get more and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great plant, July 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hirt's Top Hat Dwarf Blueberry Plant - Bonsai/Patio/Outdoors
The plant was packaged very neatly and came in very good condition. Used sulfer to control the soil acidity and peat moss around the plant for drainage and its already starting to grow! Can't wait for blueberries and plan on buying more plants most definitely! Thanks so much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy!, July 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hirt's Top Hat Dwarf Blueberry Plant - Bonsai/Patio/Outdoors
I purchased 2 of these and a live chicago fig plant (as well as many seeds) and all arrived on time and healthy. One branch was broken but it not life threatening and I just cut the end and put it into water. I like the things I received and they seem very healthy and happy. I plan to do buisness with hirts gardens again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good foliage, lacking in roots, April 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hirt's Top Hat Dwarf Blueberry Plant - Bonsai/Patio/Outdoors
I ordered my blueberry plant on Sunday and it arrived on Wednesday, with normal shipping. The plant arrived in a box with plenty of packing peanuts with the soil covered (so it wouldn't get everywhere). There were a large amount of healthy leaves on the plant. However, when I went to plant it, I was disturbed by how small the root ball was. Makes me nervous about how this will turn out. I will try to update this review as time goes on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hirt's Top Hat Dwarf Blueberry Plant - Bonsai/Patio/Outdoors
$9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.