Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First love...
Two kids in high school, one a girl named Yukino Miyazawa who is a hard working student because she loves the praise and attention it gets her, and the other a boy, named Souichirou Arima,who comes along and takes it away from her, by being the perfect boy. Of course, this pisses her off and that's when the fun starts.
Yukino does all she can to plot her revenge,...
Published on February 24, 2004 by Michael Valdivielso

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun at first, but then...
Kare Kano started off REALLY strong. The independence and clearly defined personalities of the two main characters (Yukino Miyazawa and Soichiro Arima) instantly drew me into the series. I found the situations, reactions and thoughts between Arima and Yukino very real and relatable. Not only were they funny, but they were also very emotional and sincere...
Published on November 24, 2005 by Kay Nichelle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First love..., February 24, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: His And Her Circumstances 1-5 (DVD)
Two kids in high school, one a girl named Yukino Miyazawa who is a hard working student because she loves the praise and attention it gets her, and the other a boy, named Souichirou Arima,who comes along and takes it away from her, by being the perfect boy. Of course, this pisses her off and that's when the fun starts.
Yukino does all she can to plot her revenge, but what happens when he tells her he loves her? And what happens when she realizes she might love him too?
The story is somewhat realistic in the plot, there are no aliens or robots here, just love, hate, need and friendships. The artwork, and music, changes, depending on the inside thoughts of the characters and whose point of view we happen to be watching. Sometimes it looks like something out of a black and white film and other times it makes Southpark look like a classic! But it made me laugh and, a couple of times, almost made me cry. The characters are all flawed, yet sometimes very strong and very real. While they sometimes get confused, they don't act stupid nor do they just let things get worse while they whine. They charge ahead and try to change things for the better, even if things sometimes get really messy.
There are lots of recaps and flashbacks. Also, the reason I dropped a point was because there is no closure. There better be another anime series in the making, otherwise I'll have get the manga to figure out what happens next!
OK for males and females, so guys, buy it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leaving You Craving for What the Ending Doesn't Give......, July 24, 2004
This review is from: His And Her Circumstances 1-5 (DVD)
His and Her Circumstances is an absolutely amazing series...yet the addictive storyline only leads up to an emtpy wasted shell of an ending. I do highly recomend this anime. It truly is one of the best of all time. The artwork and character development exceed most anime. However the characters are so likeable that they leave you hungering in the end for more information. Especially Arima....This character specifically captures my sympathy and attention. I feel the director and producers should have elaborated more on the story. Hopefully there will be a sequel series of some sort...so the cliffhanger will be met with a resolution. I feel like the directors worked hard but the at the end just got completely lazy and showed bits and peices of the manga in order to create the last episode. The story was wonderful, but the animation for the plot was at times annoying. I did not enjoy the episode done entirely in crayon or the vast amount of flashbacks and recaps in the other episodes. The series even dedicated an entire episode and a half on recaps. I feel as though that is a huge waste. After a while you get sick of hearing the exact same information again and again. I recomend this series for a person who enjoys romance but doesn't mind loose ends and repetition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hm...Masterpiece? definitely!, July 27, 2003
This review is from: His And Her Circumstances 1-5 (DVD)
Yukino is a model student in everyone else's eyes. Straight A, perfect personality, get along with others. Yet, there's another side of her that's yet to be discovered along with the arival of Arima Souichirou, intelligent, smart, kind, athletic, charismatic... everything that Yukino had pretended to be all her life... who quickly becomes a strong competition, like getting better grade than Yukino without trying. At first, Yukino sees Souichirou as her opponant, someone she has to beat. She competes with him on everything, trying to regain the title of "model student." She eventually gets her title back by studying harder and harder. Things are now going well for Yunkino..However..as time passed, Yukino starts to develop a crush on Souichirou. The other side of Yukino, the image of a lazy, selfserving average girl is then accidentally revealed to Souichirou when he pays a visit at Yukino's house. He then starts "threatening" her of revealing her secret unless she does homework for him. Yukino soon discovered that Souichirou is only using her as she gives up her feeling for him and refuses to do his homework ever again. Surprisingly, Souichirou goes after her and tells her that he has feelings for her, and the whole "blackmailing" thing is only an excuse for him to get to know her better. So they starts going out...and more interesting stuff happens. (i dont wanna spoil more stuff)
His and her circumstances is a definitely a masterpiece, it's not merely a romance, it really draws you into the actual anime. I didn't think i would like it at first, because i'm usually into Magic/Romance, but this anime is much more. Let's just say...It gives you like a fuzzy feeling, and you would want to watch it again and again. It also tells you that to always trust your instincts, even though perfect relationship is vague, if you try, you will be able to find it n-n;;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun at first, but then..., November 24, 2005
This review is from: His And Her Circumstances 1-5 (DVD)
Kare Kano started off REALLY strong. The independence and clearly defined personalities of the two main characters (Yukino Miyazawa and Soichiro Arima) instantly drew me into the series. I found the situations, reactions and thoughts between Arima and Yukino very real and relatable. Not only were they funny, but they were also very emotional and sincere.

However, Yukino and Soichiro were the only people that made the series worth watching. I found the other characters within the series to either be boring or just extremely annoying, (with the exception of Arima's best friend, who was hilarious and maybe Miyazawa's parents, who were also very funny and cute in their appearances).

The supporting cast was weak and not nearly as well defined and strong as the two main characters. The episodes that featured them bored me and I just didn't care about them or their situations. One character in particular has a series of very serious episodes, and then completely drops off from the rest of the show. Whenever there were scenes featuring members of the supporting cast, I found myself wanting to fast forward to the scenes with the main couple. Miyazawa and Arima shouldn't have to carry the story all by themselves.

The ending of this series also disappointed me greatly, or, the lack of an ending. The way the series ends, it feels like there is another episode coming. I was looking through the DVD options, thinking I missed something, perhaps a "bonus episode" hidden somewhere? I started to get worried about the how the series would end when episode 25 had absolutely nothing to do with anything that had taken place in the series so far. I was SO sure that episode 25 would start the nice "wrap-up" of the series. The final episode (26) also has a lot of text that pops up and leaves the screen relatively quickly. I had to rewind the DVD maybe 20 times to catch and read everything. But in the end, everything is left very open and ambiguous. Not only are characters situations left unresolved, we're not even told if a particular event is a success or failure.

Despite my three paragraphs of griping, I would actually recommend buying this anime. The relationship between Arima and Miyazawa is dynamic enough to deal with all the other downfalls of the series. Buy it, but don't pay over $40 for it. ^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet story but cut anime, November 17, 2005
By 
This review is from: His And Her Circumstances 1-5 (DVD)
Since that anime wasn't released in my home country (Germany) when I wanted it, I ordered this U.S. box.

I knew the anime before already from fansubs, since I liked it a lot I wanted the real DVDs when they got released.

About the anime itself. It's a sweet story about romance and the maturation of different teenagers facing their true self. Sounds serious now, but it isn't at all. It's an anime full of SD (super deformed) and humour. In some degree rather silly one. Now it sounds like a comedy romance. Well it is, but it also isn't. This piece coming from the same studio and director as Neon Genesis Evangelion, makes one already suspect that there's more to it than a shallow love-love story. If you take out the SD and silly humour you actually have a story that could be written by real life. That's even rare in the romance anime world.

GAINAX messed up the animations in some later episodes. Appears experimental and personally I didn't like it at all. Also the story finds no end in the anime but closes with a `to be continued' line. There's no sequel out yet (but there's enough stuff out to make two sequels).

So those two points (the partly fked up animations, the totally open end) I count to the flaws of it. Also the flashbacks and brief summaries become annoying after some episodes.

The story gets continued in the manga of course. The manga is also worth to read. Personally I wouldn't say that you should read the manga and not watch the anime. That manga is by far not as funny as the anime and didn't touch the emotions the anime did.

I'll now get to the important part of this review, the reason why I actually wanted to write one.

The U.S. Versions of Kare Kano (which is its original name coming from Kareshi Kanojo no Jijou) are cut! When I'd tell you where now I'd have to spoiler (at the moment I can still remember a love-love scene that was missing in the U.S. releases). I was so disappointed.

Beside that the animations itself seem not to be improved. Even the fansubs had better quality when it comes down to HSV (hue, saturation, value) and contrast.

Sometimes the images appear too dark, next time too light.

Good was the on-screen text subtitlestream. Since that anime has a lot of on-screen text I was wondering how a professional firm would solve that. And it pleased me.

Also the plenty of extra stuff on the DVDs was nice and I liked the design of the box itself.

The anime itself gets 4 starts from me. That rating got reduced by one star because that anime got cut, boo-boo!

I must apologize for my bad English, hope it was not too annoying to bother with *sweatdrop* -.-"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, Minor Flaws, January 31, 2004
By 
Sanguinius the Fallen (Mankato, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: His And Her Circumstances 1-5 (DVD)
I don't want to make this too long, but I do want to get out a few reasons why i wish there was a vhoice to give His and Her Circumstances 4 1/2 stars rather than a full out 5:
1) Recaps: There's plenty of recap, at the start of episodes as well as in a two part recap episode. It's certainly more recap than any other anime I can recall having seen, and it does get a little annoying. Luckily, the fast forward key on my DVD remote worked like a charm, although kost of the time i didn't mind watching recaps and laughing at more than a few sceanes form the past.
2) Ending: I've started anime series before they're finished, ending on a DVD and wishing there was another coming since things weren't resolved. That's exactly how His and her ended. The only difference is that it was supposed to have ended. It really leads you up to a cliff and then just leaves you there. If rumors are true and there is another series comnig to wrap things up, I'd be very happy to hear it.
Now despite those two facts, His and Her was overall one the best, if not THE best, anime series I personally have seen. The secondary AND main charectors were all great, well developed and interesting. The plot went all around, never spending too much time on one thing I think, and the directors did a good job keeping things interesting for me. His and Her is at moments very touching, and at others uproaringly funny. The music is fitting for every sceane, the artwork is wonderful, and the DVD is well put together over all, with very well done dubbing. While there weren't a whole lot of extras, the interview with the actors and the director's commentary were both very interesting to see.
While this series certainly isn't for everyone (with a lack of blood and guts, and a plenty of angst and humor mixed together), it's certainly a recommend for those that love romantic comedy animes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, artistic anime that speaks to all people!, September 9, 2003
By 
JC "htpcfan" (Stanford, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: His And Her Circumstances 1-5 (DVD)
Never before in anime have I truly enjoyed a series of such depth and fullness conveyed in such short, 15-minute episodes. Kare Kano (His and Her Circumstances) is a Japanese manga-turned-anime produced by the famous Studio GAINAX of Evangelion fame. While this series has gained only word-of-mouth popularity in the US, it is a critically acclaimed series in Asia.
STORY: The series is about high school love, the issues relating to maturity into adulthood, and the construction of personal identity. Focusing on the relationship between two top students in 10th grade (HS freshman in Japan), it honestly portrays the humanity of two teenagers facing their own weaknesses, their troubles, and interpersonal relations, and ultimately their "true" identities that they must find and live up to fulfillment. Kare Kano being a shoujo anime (anime targeted for girls) has nothing to do with the accessibility of the series -- it maintains a perfect balance between serious high school drama and cute anime humor that have appealed to all of my friends who watched it, though from personal experience this series would be better appreciated by people who have watched a couple animes and understand the standard anime conventions -- this series definitely uses some art styles quite liberally and refreshingly.
ART: The art style of the series is very fascinating -- most of the time, it switches back and forth between "realistic" and "cartoony" deptions of characters, uses pencil-sketch stills to convey gravity in a situation, and uses heavy amounts of text (like a manga) to depict the mood and atmosphere of a situation -- just like reading an animated comic book. There are certain episodes that take off entirely, however, and use unconventional art styles that bring about a refreshing look -- for example, one episode is nearly entirely done in paper-cut figurines sketched out with pencil, superimposed around shots of real landmarks (school/surroundings in Japan). Stories narrated by difference characters also have different looks as well, such as the manga-loving sister depicting the protagonists' story in a cute, superdeformed art style or the high-school-friend-who-looks-like-a-cute-elementary-school-kid friend who shares her tale in crayon-drawn sketches. Lastly, who could forget the last episode, in which most of the anime are manga stills with a narrator voice-over and melodramatic music? (It works better than it sounds, pun intended.)
MUSIC: I've found the music to be rather pleasing, though on something as subjective as music I suppose YMMV. Because of the nature of this anime, the background music switches between cute, zany anime songs and serious, pensive piano music. It borrows primarily from classical/romantic tradition, with songs as The Girl With Flaxen Hair (Debussy) and On the Central Steppes of Asia (Borodin), though it does feature some J-pop as well. The music does fit the shoujo style well, though.
DISLIKES: It there were anything to be said against the series it would probably be the immense amount of recaps for every anime and recap episodes -- there's around 1+.5+.5 (.5 as in half the episode was a recap) episodes worth of going through the story line *again*. In addition, I was amazed at the capacity in which every single episode intro manages to summarize the plotline of all the episodes before, which, by episode 26 (when you're hearing a recap of 1-25), can be somewhat frustrating. But bear with it -- at least the story that's conveyed in the 10-15 short minutes of the actual anime is developed fuller than any other anime episodes in other series.
*NOTE*: Be very aware that the series does not quite provide resolution -- it's not supposed to, since episodes 1-26 only cover the storyline arch of the manga up to manga 8. Kare Kano has progressed to manga 17 in Japan right now with the Arima arc being resolved -- the story is excellent I might add, though you'll need some Japanese comprehension to understand the manga. It is rumored that a second DVD series is coming out, though since there has been a falling out between GAINAX and the comic book writer the chances of a second DVD set is becoming slim... :(
CONCLUSION: I've lived through my fair share of academic competition, procrastination, and anime watching, and I have to conclude that this by far one of the better anime series I've seen! "Honest" is the best adjective that comes in describing this coming-of-age story, with "beautiful" coming in as a close second. Don't miss this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some flaws, but still very enjoyable, July 14, 2005
By 
Goldenroom (Amherst, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: His And Her Circumstances 1-5 (DVD)
I decided to give this series a try after I saw "Niea under 7". I really liked Niea and I was interested in trying some other Anime comedies (Amazon reccomended this).

There is alot to like about "His and Her Circumstances". The music is fantastic, the characters are interesting & likeable, and the comedy is funny. The animation is a bit rough (compared to Niea) but it was still very good.

The few flaws: First, the plot was too predictable at times. Far too many times the plot surrounds the introduction of a new evil character, who later becomes good and joins Yukino and Arimas cool group of friends. Second, the synopsis of the previous episodes. Oh my god, how annoying it is to review the entire series before every new episode. Third, the ending. What some might interpret as creative and abstract, I found lazy and annoying.

Still for all it's flaws, I was still impressed with this cartoon. I reccomend this title to fans of anime comedy.

animation=4

plot=4

ending=2.5

music=5

characters=4.5

comedy=4

Total= 4 Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really, really funny, February 26, 2004
This review is from: His And Her Circumstances 1-5 (DVD)
His and Her Circumstances is incredibly funny. Though the storytelling is very direct in the beginning, and character development pretty much done in the first few episodes, the whole series was very enjoyable to watch. This isn't a typical love story with all the backstabbing, exaggerated angst you'd find in a series like, say, fushigi yuugi. His And Her Circumstances, is almost an acquired taste since its niether fast paced nor full of plot turns. Some people whine about the whole still pictures with floating text thing, but it works well to give the story a subtle, reflective flavor to it that makes you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Anime With A Crappy Ending, April 15, 2004
This review is from: His And Her Circumstances 1-5 (DVD)
This was a great anime. It was funny, REALLY FUNNY, and I would've given it 5 stars, but . . . THE ENDING BITES. There better be another enstallment coming out, 'cause it ended too soon. I have the manga also, so I knew sorta what to expect, but when it ended I was like "WTF!?" How could it end like that? It really sucked. But, overall, this was a very good anime. It had a good storyline (2 overachievers fall in love with each other after discovering the other was a fake), it was really funny, the animation rocked, and I actually liked all of the main chracters. I don't regret buying this at all, despite it's ending. It's become one of my favorites animes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

His And Her Circumstances 1-5
His And Her Circumstances 1-5 by Dick Rodstein (DVD - 2003)
Used & New from: $34.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.