Start reading His Good Opinion: A Mr. Darcy Novel (Brides of Pemberley) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

His Good Opinion: A Mr. Darcy Novel (Brides of Pemberley) [Kindle Edition]

Nancy Kelley
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (123 customer reviews)

Digital List Price: $3.99 What's this?
Print List Price: $14.99
Kindle Price: $1.99
You Save: $13.00 (87%)
Borrow this book for free on a Kindle device with Amazon Prime. Learn more about Kindle Owners' Lending Library.
Join Prime to borrow this book at no cost.
The Kindle Owners' Lending Library gives you access to thousands of books, including New York Times bestsellers, to borrow and read for free.
  • Borrow a book as frequently as once per month
  • No due dates — keep books as long as you like and return them when it's time for something new
  • Read on any Amazon Kindle device

Amazon Prime members also enjoy:
  • Unlimited streaming of thousands of popular movies and TV shows with Prime Instant Video
  • FREE Two-Day Shipping on millions of items, with no minimum order size

For more information about the Kindle Owners' Lending Library visit our help page.

If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for only $0.99 (Save 50%). Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $1.99  
Paperback $13.49  
Big Spring Books
Editors' Picks in Spring Releases
Ready for some fresh reads? Browse our picks for Big Spring Books to please all kinds of readers.

Book Description

Mr. Darcy Speaks from the Heart:
Pride and Prejudice from his Point of View

Though tired of Society's manipulations, Darcy never thought to be enchanted by a country maiden. Yet on a visit to rural Hertfordshire, Elizabeth Bennet captivates him. Lovely and vivacious, she is everything he is not, and everything he longs to have.

Unfortunately, her connections put her decidedly beneath him, and the improprieties he observes in her family do not win his favor. Putting her firmly out of his mind, Darcy returns to London, but Elizabeth is not so easily forgotten.

When chance throws them together, Darcy can no longer deny his love, but Elizabeth, put off by his manners, refuses him. To change her mind, he must set aside his proud ways and learn how to please a woman worthy of being pleased. It takes a serious incident for his true character to shine, and for Elizabeth to learn just how valuable is…

His Good Opinion


Includes an excerpt of Caroline Bingley by Jennifer Becton


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Nancy Kelley is a Janeite, an Austenesque author, and a blogger. During the writing of His Good Opinion, a version of Mr. Darcy took up residence in her brain; she fondly refers to him as the Darcy in My Head, or DIMH. If Nancy could possess any fictional device, it would be a Time-Turner. Then perhaps she could juggle a full-time library job, writing, and blogging; and still find time for sleep and a life. Until then, she lives on high doses of tea, of which DIMH approves. You can find Nancy on Twitter @Nancy_Kelley, on her blog, and on Indiejane.org.

Product Details

  • File Size: 519 KB
  • Print Length: 374 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Smokey Rose Press (December 14, 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B006B17ZPU
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #12,823 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So little time...so much to read! November 23, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition
I have read a couple of Pride and Prejudice retellings from Darcy's point of view and I must say I loved this one!

His Good Opinion starts out just before Ramsgate where Darcy surprises Georgiana with a visit and ruins Wickman's plan to elope with her. Nancy Kelley is able to expand on some of the conversations that I always wished Jane Austen would have done.

Can I just say, I love this Darcy! I love being in his head, knowing his thoughts. We see him reflecting on what Elizabeth said when she refused him. He begins to notice how he treats people beneath him. I also like the relationship he has with Georgiana, he confides in her more.

Another favorite of mine is Colonel Fitzwilliam. I delight in the banter between him and Darcy. This is the Colonel Fitzwilliam that I like! He's funny, charming and loves to tease Darcy. There were times he had me laughing out loud.

This is Nancy Kelley's first novel and a beautiful story. A definite must read! She is currently working on another story about Colonel Fitzwilliam that I can't wait to read!
Was this review helpful to you?
47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Falling in Love with Mr. Darcy All Over Again November 21, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition
In His Good Opinion, author Nancy Kelley sets out to tell the story of Pride and Prejudice from Mr. Darcy's point of view. Although Darcy is the hero in Pride and Prejudice, for the first part of the book he comes across to Elizabeth (as well as everyone else in Hertfordshire) and the reader as proud and aloof. In the second half of the novel, Austen shows us how Darcy changes and Darcy himself admits to flaws in his behavior. But why was Darcy seemingly so proud? Why did he refuse to be easily pleased, withholding his good opinion more often than he bestowed it. And why would someone like Darcy fall in love with a girl like Elizabeth - someone open and vivacious and not at all concerned with securing his good opinion?

Told from Darcy's point of view, this novel follows Darcy from London where he has become increasingly turned off by the artifices of society, to the country where he meets Elizabeth for the first time. As he become enchanted with her the reader is similarly enchanted by this version of Mr. Darcy. The blow of Lizzy's rejection of Darcy's proposal is felt more keenly than ever before because we as readers find ourselves rooting for Darcy. His heartbreak is real and touching, and frankly, makes him irresistible. As he comes to term with the rejection and takes Lizzy's criticisms to heart, he endeavors to become a man worthy of her love - even if he can never have her.

The book follows the timeline of Pride and Prejudice, but because it is told from Darcy's point of view, readers are treated to scenes that we have previously been imagined, such as Darcy's hunt of Wickham and his eventual confrontation with him in London.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Favorite November 26, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is my new favorite telling of Darcy's side of Pride and Prejudice, and I can say without a doubt, if it's sold on Amazon I've read it. Ms. Kelley did an outstanding job matching Jane's P&P to her interpretation of Fitzwilliam Darcy and the events of the original story without changing its feel or tone. Not once while reading this story did I think "that doesn't make sense" or "he/she wouldn't do that, or say that." Thank You Ms. Kelley. Please keep writing.
Was this review helpful to you?
36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars P&P with a few comments on the side February 3, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I really can't understand the 5 star reviews of this book, so I think people are just rating Pride and Prejudice instead. This book is just a copy-paste of Pride and Prejudice with a few comments on the side that are supposed to be from Mr. Darcy. Those comments are actually the same ones we all had when we read P&P the first time. There are a few new stories and conversations that are nice to see (between Colonel Fitzwilliam and Darcy or between Bingley and Darcy) but that's it.
I really couldn't find the love and bewitchment Darcy felt when he was around Elizabeth, the story doesn't go beyond the original ending of P&P and there are even some things that do not match with the original P&P.
I liked better 'Mr. Darcy's Diary' by Amanda Grange because you get a better insight of Mr Darcy's point of view and you get a bonus since the book continues a bit after they marry.
Was this review helpful to you?
24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charming Story, Dreadful Editing December 16, 2011
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Were I to rate this book based on its story alone, I would give it 4 or 5 stars. It is well thought out and charming, and overall one of the more believable P&P fan fiction novels that I've read. (I've read many, and am a huge fan of P&P rewrites in general.) However, it is clear that a professional editor has not seen the book, as it contains dozens of errors. Some are forgivable because they do not interfere with the story, such as misaligned chapter headings, but there are many sentences with missing words or typos, enough that I got tripped up several times and was unhappily distracted from the otherwise compelling storyline. In the second chapter, the word "settee" has been auto-corrected to be become "settle," -- twice!-- so the lines read, "Mrs. Younge rose from her position on the far settle..." and "He took her hands and led her to the the light blue brocade settle."
Really? Why did no one proof read this otherwise lovely story? I hope they will revise it, as I would like an error-free copy to keep on my shelf alongside other good P&P stories to reread later. It would also be nice if the cover image was printed in a properly high resolution. It is an attractive cover, but the pixelated image does not give the book a professional appearance.
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
2.0 out of 5 stars Read Pride and Prejudice Instead
This novel is written from the Point of View of Darcy unlike P&P which is written from Elizabeth's POV and the famous Jane Austen indirect discourse. Read more
Published 2 months ago by jerry
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Darcy
This was a great read to get Darcy's point of view! It fills in the gaps in Darcy's story - and what he did while he was away from Elizabeth. Read more
Published 2 months ago by Suzy Hutomo
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it !!!
I am a huge Jane Austen fan and Pride and Prejudice is my favorite book. I have read many P&P alternatives and severally of them from Darcy's point of view. Read more
Published 2 months ago by Wittier
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved, loved, loved this book!
A wonderful insight into our favorite male character. So fun to hear conversations we were not privy to before. Well done.
Published 2 months ago by Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining read
Well written in the style of Jane Austen, if you like Pride and Prejudice, read this. It is very well done.
Published 2 months ago by Elizabeth R. Gault
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed!
I hate to be mean,but if I had wanted to read "Pride and Prejudice," practically word for word, I would have just opened my copy of Jane Austen's book.
Published 3 months ago by Shira Songster
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!
I loved that this book came from Darcy's perspective. It was really interesting to have the potential male perspective on what happened in Pride and Prejudice.
Published 3 months ago by Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this story!
When I first started reading this book, I thought, "oh no - another Pride and Prejudice rehash from Darcy's point of view. Read more
Published 3 months ago by DELM
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it
I like the fact that the story stuck to the basic P&P story but told from Darcy's standpoint. I will re-read this book frequently. Read more
Published 3 months ago by Peter Hood
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story
I love Pride and Prejudice and this story is Darcy's side of the story it was very interesting and I really enjoyed it. A good read
Published 3 months ago by Dotty
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Book Extras from the Shelfari Community

(What's this?)

To add, correct, or read more Book Extras for His Good Opinion: A Mr. Darcy Novel , visit Shelfari, an Amazon.com company.


More About the Author

Nancy Kelley--Janeite, blogger, and chocoholic--is the author of three Jane Austen sequels, His Good Opinion: A Mr. Darcy Novel, Loving Miss Darcy, and Against His Will. She currently resides in the Pacific Northwest but dreams of moving to England someday. Until then, frequent trips across the pond satisfy her inner Anglophile.

If Nancy could possess any fictional device, it would be a TARDIS. Not only would it make international travel easier, but she would be able to go back to her favorite historical periods and meet the authors who inspired her to write.

You can find Nancy on Twitter @Nancy_Kelley, at nancykelleywrites.com, and at Indiejane.org.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Customers Who Highlighted This Item Also Highlighted


Look for Similar Items by Category


ARRAY(0xa1c95570)