Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Samurai lovers must have.
As a collector of edged weapons, what better example than the Samurai & their beautiful katana swords, long & short. This DVD series is very well done, informative and entertaining. It provides an exellent overview of the historical Japanese Samurai culture, weapons & martial arts. If you are a lover of the Samurai, like myself, this DVD set is a must have for your DVD...
Published 1 month ago by Steven C

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Samurai
I was disappointed in this new dvd set. Don't let the cover fool you even though it looks cool.

Disc 1: This former martial arts actor takes you on a travel guide to sites where famous Samurai events occurred - boring for me.
Disc 2: This has 2 guys - one a former wrestler and the other a former marine - they visit a dojo where the martial arts is taught...
Published on November 28, 2012 by yellowsub9


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Samurai lovers must have., November 22, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History Classics: Samurai (DVD)
As a collector of edged weapons, what better example than the Samurai & their beautiful katana swords, long & short. This DVD series is very well done, informative and entertaining. It provides an exellent overview of the historical Japanese Samurai culture, weapons & martial arts. If you are a lover of the Samurai, like myself, this DVD set is a must have for your DVD collection. You will not be disappointed with our purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Samurai History, May 7, 2014
By 
C A Renk (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History Classics: Samurai (DVD)
My grandson loves the History of the Samurai and he really enjoyed this. He has read several books and watched many DVDs on the Samurai.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you need to know about the Samurai, this is it, November 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History Classics: Samurai (DVD)
This DVD set will teach everything you need to know about the Samurai. I highly recommend it. It is very entertaining to watch and you will learn much about the history of these warriors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Samurai, November 28, 2012
This review is from: History Classics: Samurai (DVD)
I was disappointed in this new dvd set. Don't let the cover fool you even though it looks cool.

Disc 1: This former martial arts actor takes you on a travel guide to sites where famous Samurai events occurred - boring for me.
Disc 2: This has 2 guys - one a former wrestler and the other a former marine - they visit a dojo where the martial arts is taught. Showing the techniques that the samurai used - didnt like this either - about the two guys learning and getting lessons from the instructors. It was long and dragged out,
Disc 3: Had Leonard Nimoy narrate how important the sword was and how it was made.
Disc 4: Had documentary film about how Japan and Germany banded together and their plans to conquer the world. Actual film , photos or art plus a good narrator is what I prefer.

Summary the first 3 discs were boring and wasted my time and could have been put on 1 disc - the last disc was the best and most informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History Classics: Samurai (DVD)
A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great History Lesson, March 21, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History Classics: Samurai (DVD)
This is a very good documentary about the Japanese Samurai. We enjoyed learning about the origins of how the legendary Samurai began.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

History Classics: Samurai
History Classics: Samurai by The History Channel (DVD - 2012)
$19.98 $12.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.