Customer Reviews


715 Reviews
5 star:
 (598)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


263 of 286 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu ray package includes a previously unreleased 1977 concert exerpts
I first caught this documentary on the Showtime channel in one setting (Parts 1 & 2). It was originally broken down in 2 parts. The first part shows the band members in their formative years and ends with their eventual breakup in 1980. The shorter part 2 deals with their lives afterwards, ending with their Farewell 1 Tour in 2005. Together the film runs a little over...
Published 19 months ago by M. Oleson

versus
158 of 187 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity...
Before all the how can you review something that is not even released yet bashing begins, let me first off say I watched the 3 hour documentary twice. While all the live footage and classic era interviews are golden, the 1977 Hotel California concert footage is definitely the cream de la creme. Secondly, the press release for this has been released. Everything you saw...
Published 19 months ago by cd-heaven


‹ Previous | 1 272 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

263 of 286 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu ray package includes a previously unreleased 1977 concert exerpts, March 17, 2013
By 
This review is from: History of the Eagles [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I first caught this documentary on the Showtime channel in one setting (Parts 1 & 2). It was originally broken down in 2 parts. The first part shows the band members in their formative years and ends with their eventual breakup in 1980. The shorter part 2 deals with their lives afterwards, ending with their Farewell 1 Tour in 2005. Together the film runs a little over 3 hours. Certainly for Eagle fans, it is time well spent. Even if you're not a fan, it chronicles the seeds of a rock band in the 1970's.

The early lives of writing partners Don Henley and Glenn Frey is well detailed including some interesting home videos. We see an early association with Jackson Browne and a brief time backing up Linda Ronstdat. We get a no holds barred look at the inner turmoil that comes with the growth of a rock band. We see the early comings and goings of band members leading up to a bitter breakup with lead guitarist Don Felder.

One thing that comes through is the success of the group has transcended generations like few others. Their strength comes from some great song writing, often at the hand of Henley and Frey and some of the great 4 or 5 part vocal harmony. We get some first person detail of booze and drug binges, especially those of Joe Walsh.

So what's missing? Well, certainly family and wives are tipped toed around and we see virtually nothing of them. We don't any of the juicy sexy-time stories which are all but ignored. How about some celebrity union stories? Still this is an entertaining journey through the lives of one of America's musical treasures.

Available in April, the Blu ray package includes 3 discs in 1080p video resolution with a DTS-HD Master Audio option. Also included is a photo booklet and hours of new, previously unreleased material. Also included on the 3rd disc (which I haven't seen) is 1977 concert performances from the Capital Centre in Landover, Md. (Hotel California Tour) including Hotel California, New Kid In Town, Take It To The Limit, One Of These Nights, Lyin' Eyes, Rocky Mountain Way, Best Of My Love and Take It Easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Documentary, but missed opportunity with official release., May 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History of the Eagles [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is an incredible documentary, but a missed opportunity on several levels with this release. First, the official release should have had extra unseen footage and interviews not seen in the early Showtime release earlier this year. Give us die hard fans a little bonus for going out and buying the big package. Second, have some additional "bonus" side footage or lost footage not seen in the documentary and not part of the documentary. We want to see it badly. This documentary should stand as the "official" historical document for the band...make it count. Finally, the Capital Theatre footage should have been the entire concert. It is the most amazing footage I have ever seen regarding The Eagles...beautifully shot on film with just the most incredible hi-fi sound imaginable. This band was so good it was just stupid...they were stupid good! Give us the entire show for Christ's sake... This was the band at the zenith of their career. If you think you know good...you simply don't if you haven't seen this Capital Theatre footage. They redefine excellence.
Ok, so what they did do right was give us the classic line-up with with Randy Meisner on bass. What an incredibly underrated musician and singer. The man played the most incredible bass lines and sang like an angel all whilst locking in with Henley and anchoring the band into a cohesive 747 Jetliner. Too bad he didn't hold on for just a little longer as the Eagles only lasted three more years. They were never the same after he left. You can only replace so many members of a group before you lose the essence and energy of what you once had and what made you special. The loss of Don Felder is another example. How can you replace Don Felder? It simply isn't possible and while the new guy plays the parts...it isn't with the same essence and energy. The peak of their career was with these five guys: Henley, Frey, Meisner, Felder, Walsh. After the breakup of this classic line-up, the band self-destructed. The end.
In a nutshell, give us more vintage material because we will buy it. Don't wait so long that your audience grows too old and eventually no longer cares!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


157 of 177 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Quintessential American Band, March 15, 2013
This review is from: History of the Eagles [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Love them or hate them, The Eagles are a band that ran up a string of hits through the seventies that defined much of the decade. They've been accused of being narcissistic, overtly mellow, egotistical, and other things not all that complimentary. "The History Of The Eagles" spells all this out in detail, which makes it almost indispensable for fans of the bands or for folks who wonder how a seventies band made it though the music industry.

While the band was centered around the songwriting axis of Glenn Frey and Don Henley, every band member, past and present, gets a say. It's a warts and all approach, often unflattering but frequently compelling. Managers, producers, album cover artists and fellow musicians (Bob Seger, Linda Ronstadt, Jackson Browne and more) get their say. The music drives the narrative, sticking closely to the evolution of tha band as they release their consecutive albums, up to the acrimonious split around 1980.

However, the movie is broken into two parts, and the second half details the members as they seek separate careers and the reunion that takes place 14 years later. Again, the footage is not always flattering to the band (Don Felder gets so frustrated that he walks out of one of his segments), but the Eagles get, As Henley puts it, "that rarest of things in America, a second act." This covers the period from "Hell Freezes Over" to the independently released "Long Road Out Of Eden." The whole deal clocks in at 3hrs and 15 mins, making the documentary as exhaustive as can be.

Loaded with plenty of vintage (those seventies haircuts!) and never before seen clips to add to the attitude of the movie. And as you watch these men, now elder statesmen of classic rock, make their case for the importance of the Eagles, you get the feeling that attitude (along with plenty of the big three, sex and drugs and rock and roll) fueled The Eagles through the run that continues to this day. Some will find it bloated and unwatchable, the rest of us, with memories of where the Eagles were in our lives, will find this invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


158 of 187 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity..., March 18, 2013
By 
This review is from: History of the Eagles [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Before all the how can you review something that is not even released yet bashing begins, let me first off say I watched the 3 hour documentary twice. While all the live footage and classic era interviews are golden, the 1977 Hotel California concert footage is definitely the cream de la creme. Secondly, the press release for this has been released. Everything you saw in the 3 hours will be released with no additional bonus documentatry footage. Also about 8 tracks from the 1977 concert will be released as a dvd part of this package. Why not just release the whole darn concert? I've got a boot of one of the shows filmed during the tour, but the concert footage show in the documenatary is definitely master film...so why not just release the entire concert???? Why only pieces of a show??? It's 2013...why not give the fans the real deal...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glenn Frey is "the only ***hole in the band", but a good review of the band, May 12, 2013
By 
J. HARMON (Houston, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History of the Eagles (DVD)
When I was a child, Glenn Frey was my favorite member of the band EAGLES, because he was the singer of my favorite EAGLES songs... at the time. I guess when I was a child and growing up, Glenn Frey was a child who never has grown into an adult.

According to the autobiography by Don Felder, Glenn Frey and Irving Azoff were the most significant causes for the EAGLES to fracture and break up. After watching this documentary, Irving still comes off as the "devil" that he is, but Glenn ends up being the "only ***hole in the band" (to use his own quote) that single-handedly destroyed what was once and could have been a truly great rock and roll band. The man is simply a dispicable person without any sense of humanity.

In all fairness, all people join rock bands for different reasons. Some wish to be a part of a group of friends, enjoying life together and making enjoyable music. Some people do it for the fame, sex and off-stage fun. Some people do so for money. And then, some people do so for the purpose of feeding their ego's as their insecurities lead them to points of impoverished self-esteem and self-worth, thus they set out in overcompensation to prove that they are superior. This latter seems to be the basis of Glenn Frey's (and Irving Azoff's) existence as a human being.

His insular personality chased away, Bernie Leadon, Randy Meisner and Don Felder, and he alienated Don Henley to the point that only guarantees of tens of millions of dollars could force them to work together again. Worse, he cannot admit to any sense of the truth. He was a perpetual liar during the last three years of the EAGLES first tenure, and it appears that he continues to edit the truth of history to fit his singular view of himself.

With that being said, this documentary is as honest as Glenn, Irving and even Don Henley would allow. Don spent his time in the late 70's avoiding questions of tensions and complications within the band and continues to do so throughout their perpetual reunion touring. Bernie, Randy and Don Felder offer their versions of the truth albiet with politeness and congeniality. Glenn Frey falters in every respect, with the only exception being that he finally admitted the truth that he would only accept Irving Azoff's offer to reunite the Eagles as long as he and Don Henley were paid (and treated) with greater monies and benefits than the others.

Lastly, the story of why neither Randy nor Bernie were invited to reunite in 1994 is never discussed in the documentary nor the story of how Glenn attempted to thwart their appearance at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame ceremony.

Listening to Don Henley and Glenn Frey tiptoe around the meaning(s) behind the lyrics of HOTEL CALIFORNIA is worth the price of the set in and of itself. To listen to Randy Meisner singing TAKE IT TO THE LIMIT (and snippets of A CERTAIN KIND OF FOOL) also make the documentary well worth the price.

Beyond that, the documentary is very enjoyable. I wish more would have been discussed about how the band created their music... but the inside stories are very enjoyable none-the-less.

It is sad, that the EAGLES wrote about the corruption of mankind, by the evils of greed, ego and the temptations of life, yet obviously the band succumbed to the very perils it preached against. ROLLING STONE magazine and others perpetually decried the EAGLES for their "intelligence" and "preaching" lyrics, and often criticized the band for being hypocrites for such. In retrospect, the circumspect magazine got it right.

God bless Bernie Leadon, Randy Meisner, Don Felder and Joe Walsh (Don Felder certainly described Joe accurately in his memior.)

We have the old records to enjoy whenever we want to re-visit the best days of our youth idealism, for we lost the EAGLES by October of 1976. I am glad that I saw them during the first leg of their 1994 tour, as that was the only period of peace and unity that the band ever shared after Bernie Leadon left.

Had the band been more forthright and sincere in their interviews, this would have been a 5 star documentary (more akin to QUEEN: These Are The Days Of Our Lives) but sadly, the politeness of the various band members (except Glenn) turn this into a glossy magazine story. But, it is worth it to purchase and watch.

Long live the music of the EAGLES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glenn the Dictator, June 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History of the Eagles (DVD)
I enjoyed the video and I always thought that Don Henley was the difficult one. but after seeing this dvd I believe Glenn Frye
is the egomaniacal one. They should not have run Felder off. They do not sound as good without him, and they have never been as good without Randy Meisner. Glenn needs to calm down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Eagles "America's band" the good, bad & ugly, April 30, 2013
This review is from: History of the Eagles [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've been anxiously awaiting this Blu Ray, as after seeing it on SHOWTIME it really exposes all the angles and many unanswered questions as to what happened to the Eagles in the late 70's and also in particular, Don Felder, which you have to read his book "Heaven & Hell with the Eagles" to get the full picture.
That said, there is so much footage from the 70's we've never seen before, one wonders how they kept all this private until now. To see how the story unfolds from day one when Frey and Henley played in a band with Linda Rondstadt and broke off into their own band is simply fascinating... I could write a book on this DVD/BR, but you'll have to buy it for yourself to fully appreciate what the Eagles went through all those years.
The Audio: recorded in 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio is truly outstanding. They really did a great job in using all the surround channels, hence making you feel as though you're in the audience when watching their concert (separate disk that comes with this set), and also anytime their shown playing together on Part-1 & Part-2.
The Video:
For the most part the video looks very good in 1080p, but during certain parts like when they flash back to "Hell Freezes Over" and some of Henley and Frey's solo footage the video becomes grainy almost to the point its annoying. Its the disk, not your player or HD tv, as I have an Oppo-BDP-95 Blu ray player and one of Samsung's higher end HD tv's. The graininess is tolerable, but its the only reason I didn't score this 3 disk set with a 5. If you're a audiophile such as I, then this is one for your reference collection.
To see Felder and Walsh playing in their heyday together (especially Hotel California) is truly brilliant. Its so unfortunate Felder and Frey couldn't move past their issues and keep Felder in the band, as he's every bit as much as an Eagle as any of them. Anyway, this is a great story about one of America's greatest, most successful bands of all time, so buy it while you can, as $30 is a small investment for such an outstanding story of how the Eagles gained so much success and fame throughout the world during their 40 years of tremendous success! Definitely one of my favorite bands! I hope you enjoy this story as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but....let's get real (Blu-Ray Review), July 17, 2013
This review is from: History of the Eagles [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Okay, I bought this at 25 bucks with 25 percent off coupon - was it worth 20 dollars - of course. Here's the problem - I saw the docu on SHOWTIME and got re-obsessed with The Eagles. The advertising for this says "4 new hours of never before seen material." Let me break this down for you: You are getting the entire 3 hour Showtime docu with NOTHING NEW. The third disc is an 8 song segment of a 77' show. Had I known this - I would've waited for the price to come down. The docu is brilliant - but I've seen it - the "new 4 hours" are the 3 hour docu and the 1 hour concert (this could've easily went on 2 discs - and why in hell not include the entire show????)
BTW - the SOUND on the concert disc is SUPERB and the 8 song set they chose is a nice selection (Hotel CA, New Kid, One of these nights, Take it to the limit, Take it easy, Rocky Mountain Way, Lyin' Eyes, Tequila Sunrise)
but they should've included the whole show or if that WAS the show then include 2 from the era - it seems like they really skimped on extras - and where is our every 5 years or so new EAGLES show on BLU RAY that includes songs from The new CD LONG ROAD OUT OF EDEN?? If you haven't seen this and don't have Showtime, this is a bargain at 20 bux. If you've seen it but are an Eagles completest and want the concert - it is superb and the sound is virtuoso. But it's a shame they didn't add more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty straightforward accounting of the early Eagles, June 29, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History of the Eagles [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
When I watched both discs I was pleased to see that all of the former Eagles were interviewed and seemed to be able to be honest about their time with the band. My opinion is that the band isn't really as good since Henley and Frey fired Don Felder who seemed to have a great working relationship with Joe Walsh. The difference is really obvious in the Farewell DVD. This history contains some really good footage of the early Eagles that I hadn't seen before and I have quite a few DVDs of the early performances. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eagles as told by The Eagles, September 4, 2014
By 
Tommy Skylar (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
This review is from: History of the Eagles [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Even though it's been out for a while I thought l'd take a shot at History of the Eagles even though most have seen it by now and it's not a hot topic anymore. I watched it about 3 or 4 times and really enjoyed it and l found myself thinking more than once that this is how documentaries should be made. Originally aired on showtime, there's a lot to love about HOTE to point where it will likely receive multiple viewings. In terms of of length, what is covered, interviewing all those responsible, getting the dirt and being unbiased and letting fans see for themselves it stands as one of the best and most detailed music documentaries l have ever seen (and l've seen a lot). It's interesting to sit back all these years later and watching the aging band tell us all about their lives as The Eagles and their take on specific events. It really puts things into perspective.

History of the Eagles gets it right for many reasons. One of which is it covers the whole story. We get two discs split in two parts: one devoted to the early years up until the breakup in 1980, the other covering the solo careers and projects during the 80's through the 1994 reunion up to a new album to now. In total, a little over three hours devoted completely to the band. A lasting treat for fans, die-hards or otherwise. All the disputes, arguments, and nasty band member breakups are all laid out here for us by the Eagles in their own word. I can says in all honesty that even non-Eagles fan could enjoy it (especially the first part which really captures some of the essence of the 1970's) for it is such an entertaining, fascinating look at musical icons and the dynamics that goes on within a band. In essence, what makes a band work.

From Don Henley and Glen Fry's beginnings in Texas and Detroit forming early bands backing Linda Ronstdat to forming the Eagles, recording, touring, becoming successful, band members leaving, new band members, breaking up, solo careers, getting back together and still being active... It's all there. All the tensions, stories, events leading up to the split, the split itself all the way down to personal animosity, finances, it's all there and very detailed and in your face.

Highlights? There are too many, and l don't want to spoil anything but when they talk about the fight that lead up to Don Felder leaving the band, it's a talking point. Everyone gets very emotional and it's hard to ignore that beneath all the music and the success some people in the band must've absolutely hated each other. One of my favourite moments happens after early on showing footage when The Eagles have just performed a successful (sold-out?) show and they're sitting in the back of a van being driven to their hotel. Henley doesn't look at the camera when he says in almost utter discouragement "band last longer than they used to you know? Led Zeppelin, The Rolling Stones. Maybe we can stick around for another couple more years". The pun being obviously that they're still around to this day and their longevity and how they managed to transcend generations is the stuff legends are made of.

The only problem l perceive with the documentary is that people watch it and then disagree and/or take sides with people in the band. And then they hate what they see or hear and decide "well this person is wrong"-and that's staying polite!- l've had discussion with other fans who've seen it and they seemed genuinely bothered by some of the content. Perhaps this can also be used to point out how effective it manages to be.

Oh and hey! The extra disc of a 1977 footage from the Hotel California tour doesn't hurt one bit but it's maddening that we didn't get a full concert. Other than that, two disc, three hours of content on one of world's finest bands and respected artists? Can't go wrong with History of the Eagles. It's all real and it's all there. 5/5 (there is content on alcohol, drugs, addictions and female nudity in the documentary in case you're wondering if this appropriate for all ages, the box doesn't say so!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 272 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

History of the Eagles [Blu-ray]
$39.99 $24.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.