Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See Eric Bogosian rave ....
The first collection of theater's greatest blunders, from the West End and Broadway to the lowliest amateur theater, Stop the Show! revels in ruined lines, dangerous scenery, rude theatergoers, performers sabotaging each other and more.

Among the outrageous and mind-boggling events during live performances:

Richard Burton, after an afternoon of...
Published on September 5, 2006 by a reader

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not funny enough
I was very much looking forward to this book, but so far I have been disapointed. Most of the stories sound like they are only truly funny to the people involved. Much of the writing is long-winded and the build-ups are not worth it as the punch lines are often ho-hum. And I agree that it is very amateurish to call the song from Cats "Memories" which people often do...
Published on June 27, 2009 by Sam the man


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See Eric Bogosian rave ...., September 5, 2006
By 
This review is from: Stop the Show! A History of Insane Incidents and Absurd Accidents in the Theater (Paperback)
The first collection of theater's greatest blunders, from the West End and Broadway to the lowliest amateur theater, Stop the Show! revels in ruined lines, dangerous scenery, rude theatergoers, performers sabotaging each other and more.

Among the outrageous and mind-boggling events during live performances:

Richard Burton, after an afternoon of drinking with his brothers, accidentally urinates through his tights while swordfighting Michael Redgrave at Stratford-upon-Avon.

The Second City Toronto member who took LSD for the first time feels its effects hours later...in the middle of a comedy sketch, posing as a taxi cab driver.

A homeless woman climbs onstage during a production of Cats on Broadway, rubs up against stunned, costumed performers and begins singing off-key.

In London's intimate Bush Theatre, an actor finds himself onstage with a petrified burglar who sneaked inside the building to rob it, not knowing it was a theatre.

An April Fool's Day announcement in a Broadway theatre, claiming that Glenn Close, Richard Dreyfus and Gene Hackman all have understudies going on for them creates a mass exodus from the theatre before the audience can learn it's a joke.

"Mr. Schreiber's book of anecdotes should be deposited in every dressing room both on and off Broadway." -Eric Bogosian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for all lovers of the theater, September 12, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stop the Show! A History of Insane Incidents and Absurd Accidents in the Theater (Paperback)
Hilarious stories that you'll want to share with others.

I absolutely loved this book and am buying some copies for friends. If you're an actor, playwright, director or a dyed-in-the-wool theater fan, you'll really enjoy this book. Brad Schreiber's collected some of the best backstage (and audience) stories ever heard. I can't recommend this more highly and can't wait for the next installation. I want more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Came as Described, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stop the Show! A History of Insane Incidents and Absurd Accidents in the Theater (Paperback)
The book came promptly, in good condition. I got it for someone as a gift, and the other person seemed happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, January 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stop the Show! A History of Insane Incidents and Absurd Accidents in the Theater (Paperback)
I couldn't have loved this more. I purchased this book for a friend and she feel in love with it. It was just perfect full of true story that held my friends attention for days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Hillarious, November 15, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stop the Show! A History of Insane Incidents and Absurd Accidents in the Theater (Paperback)
Funny and at times cringe-worthy through tears of laughter. A must for theatre geeks everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop the show for a good laugh!, January 10, 2007
By 
This review is from: Stop the Show! A History of Insane Incidents and Absurd Accidents in the Theater (Paperback)
A funny and fascinating look at just how wrong things can go onstage. A must-read for anybody with an interest in theater or acting -- or just having some yuks at the expense of master and not-so-masterful thespians. Should be handed out as required reading for those who dare to tread the boards wearing less than full body armor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Break a leg' takes on new meaning, December 23, 2006
By 
This review is from: Stop the Show! A History of Insane Incidents and Absurd Accidents in the Theater (Paperback)
"Stop the Show" is a great read not only for theatre buffs, but for anyone looking for a good laugh and a glimpse behind the curtain. It overflows with Schreiber's wry anecdotes, and the theatrical mishaps he skilfully chronicles leave an indelible impression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny!, September 12, 2006
By 
J. Hunsicker (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stop the Show! A History of Insane Incidents and Absurd Accidents in the Theater (Paperback)
'Stop the Show' is truly as its subtitle implies - insane and absurd and very hilarious. A friend bought it for me and I went out a bought a few for my theatrical friends. It's a great gift and a great gift for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for theater buffs and anyone who likes to laugh, September 14, 2006
By 
This review is from: Stop the Show! A History of Insane Incidents and Absurd Accidents in the Theater (Paperback)
A flavorful potpourri of anecdotes about real-life stage bloopers.

It's a smooth and delightful read that makes you wish you'd been there to witness the often hilarious situations described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not funny enough, June 27, 2009
By 
Sam the man "keyman" (Yorktown Heights, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stop the Show! A History of Insane Incidents and Absurd Accidents in the Theater (Paperback)
I was very much looking forward to this book, but so far I have been disapointed. Most of the stories sound like they are only truly funny to the people involved. Much of the writing is long-winded and the build-ups are not worth it as the punch lines are often ho-hum. And I agree that it is very amateurish to call the song from Cats "Memories" which people often do because they're thinking of "The Way We Were". A book like this is a reason to keep your receipt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Stop the Show! A History of Insane Incidents and Absurd Accidents in the Theater
$17.00 $13.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.