Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply One Of The Best Books Ever!
I don't give 5-star ratings very often. I reserve them for only the best, and this is indeed the best book on the Italian Renaissance. I received both my BA and MA in Art History and this was the text used for my Renaissance classes. The book does not read as a textbook for those looking for leisure reading. It reads like a novel and is written in easy to understand...
Published on October 20, 2007 by David A. Plouffe

versus
0 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good as new?
Its a subjective opinion "Good as New" - I would not give this description to the book I received. It was in Good condition, but definitely NOT "Good as New" - The book looked well used but not abused - Oh well, its a great book and will be well used again and again and again.
Published on February 19, 2007 by roderick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply One Of The Best Books Ever!, October 20, 2007
By 
David A. Plouffe (West Covina, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't give 5-star ratings very often. I reserve them for only the best, and this is indeed the best book on the Italian Renaissance. I received both my BA and MA in Art History and this was the text used for my Renaissance classes. The book does not read as a textbook for those looking for leisure reading. It reads like a novel and is written in easy to understand language. Chapters are broken down by time period. There are a TON of pictures! I would say 50% of the book is pictures and 95% of those are in color. There are a few B&W pictures but they are of rather obscure sculptures or paintings.

The book was originally written by Frederick Harrt who was one of the 'Monument Men' in World War II who went around Italy documenting art, missing, damaged, or otherwise. He has passed away, but David Wilkins has kept up on the new editions with the current scholarship being done in Renaissance Art. Whether you get this as a textbook for a class, or leisure reading, a coffee table book perhaps, or even a Christmas book for a hard-to-buy-for relative, it is well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 135 of 981 illustrations in color in 4th ed, 50% in 5th, & all needed in 6th, January 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Everything that should be in color is only in the 6th edition with 736 pages. Approx. 50% of the illustrations in the 5th edition (768 pp.) is in black and white including a few important paintings that disappoints a bit. It makes sense to accurately illustrate the visual arts when presenting or analyzing. But fewer than 14% of all illustrations is in color in the 4th edition (ISBN: 0133933806). Otherwise, it is exquisite including its beautiful printing and binding. All the illustrations occupy approx. a half of the 696 pages, but the text is what counts. Maps of the centers of Rome, Florence and Venice on the inside of the front cover and on the flyleaf show many important landmarks, but architecture appears to be a bit underrepresented.

CONTENTS (4th/5th ed.)
Prefaces and Forewords 6
A PORTFOLIO OF THE ITALIAN RENAISSANCE 9/10
PRELUDE (5th)
1. Italy and Italian Art 32 (5th)
PART ONE: THE LATE MIDDLE AGES
1. Italy and Italian Art 27 (4th)
2. Duecento Art in Tuscany and Rome 43/58
3. Florentine Art of the Early Trecento 76/92
4. Sienese Art of the Early Trecento 104/124
5. Later Gothic Art in Tuscany and Northern Italy 133/154
PART TWO: THE QUATTROCENTO
6. The Beginnings of Renaissance Architecture 152/180
7. Gothic and Renaissance in Tuscan Sculpture 167/198
8. Gothic and Renaissance in Florentine Painting 187/222
9. The Heritage of Masaccio and the Second Renaissance Style 213/244
10. The Second Renaissance Style in Architecture and Sculpture 229/264
11. Absolute and Perfect Painting: The Second Renaissance Style 252/292
12. Crisis and Crosscurrents 290/328
13. Science, Poetry, and Prose 317/358
14. The Renaissance in Central Italy 350/398
15. Gothic and Renaissance in Venice and Northern Italy 378/424
PART THREE: THE CINQUECENTO
16. The High Renaissance in Florence 430/476
17. The High Renaissance in Rome 479/524
18. High Renaissance and Mannerism 535/580
19. High and Late Renaissance in Venice and on the Mainland 582/630
20. Michelangelo and the Maniera 631/690
Glossary 662/724
Bibliography 669/732
Index 678/746
Credits 696/766

TABLE OF CONTENTS (7th ed.; for details search for pearsonhighered and then for ISBN: 0205705812)
Preface
Chapter 1 PRELUDE: ITALY AND ITALIAN ART 16
PART ONE: THE LATE MIDDLE AGES
Chapter 2 DUECENTO ART IN TUSCANY AND ROME 40
Chapter 3 FLORENTINE ART OF THE EARLY TRECENTO 72
Chapter 4 SIENESE ART OF THE EARLY TRECENTO 102
Chapter 5 LATER GOTHIC ART IN TUSCANY AND NORTHERN ITALY 136
PART TWO: THE QUATTROCENTO
Chapter 6 THE RENAISSANCE BEGINS: ARCHITECTURE 158
Chapter 7 TRANSITIONS IN TUSCAN SCULPTURE 180
Chapter 8 TRANSITIONS IN FLORENTINE PAINTING 202
Chapter 9 THE HERITAGE OF MASACCIO: FRA ANGELICO AND FRA FILIPPO LIPPI 222
Chapter 10 FLORENTINE ARCHITECTURE AND SCULPTURE, c. 1430--1455 238
Chapter 11 FLORENTINE PAINTING AT MID-CENTURY 262
Chapter 12 ART IN FLORENCE UNDER THE MEDICI I 294
Chapter 13 ART IN FLORENCE UNDER THE MEDICI II 318
Chapter 14 THE RENAISSANCE IN CENTRAL ITALY 358
Chapter 15 GOTHIC AND RENAISSANCE IN VENICE AND NORTHERN ITALY 388
PART THREE: THE CINQUECENTO
Chapter 16 THE ORIGINS OF THE HIGH RENAISSANCE 442
Chapter 17 THE HIGH RENAISSANCE IN ROME 486
Chapter 18 NEW DEVELOPMENTS c. 1520--50 542
Chapter 19 HIGH AND LATE RENAISSANCE IN VENICE AND ON THE MAINLAND 590
Chapter 20 THE LATE SIXTEENTH CENTURY 648
Glossary 692
Bibliography 700
Locating Works of Renaissance Art 715
Index 716
Photo Credits 735
Literary Credits 736
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Reference for Italian Renaissance Art, December 17, 2006
By 
Linda R. (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
This a beautiful book. It is complete and definitive for reference to Italian Renaissance Art. The photographs are clear and the information is concise. I used this for my graduate Italian art history class. I am keeping this book and will not be selling it back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect book for a library and coffee table., December 17, 1997
Fredrick Hartt is a man whose love of his subject is only equal to his willingness to expalin it in terms of the layman. He does not limit the purview of the book to merely the depiction of Italian life and piety, but brings in narrative and anecdotes to enliven the tome. He introduces us to the vocabulary of the arts, not consigning them to an inconvenient niche in the appendix, neither condescending incessantly or immersed in jagon. The resplendent illustrations, true eye candy, fill the book, making it a true bargain. Hartt truly deserves the copious awards given to him by the patrons of the arts. My only regret is that the usuerers of my school book store had not charged such a bloated price ($72) for this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Art History Classes and for Personal Reference Use, June 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History of Italian Renaissance Art, 7th Edition (Paperback)
I used this book for an art history course and now much later am rereading sections of it to decide what art works I will see on a trip to Florence and Venice. It covers the origins and periods of the Italian Renaissance up to 1600. The descriptions of art works are lengthy and detailed-needed for a class-and useful for learning another way to look at art when you are not an artist. The course and the book made me see this period of art as more than just a time of Madonna pictures. Works by the great artists of the time are covered as well as lesser known but interesting artists, architects, sculptors and leading figures of that period. It is a great reference book for artist and art lover alike. The guide books mention many of the artists, churches and other buildings covered in this book, but the book has details that can help a traveler decide what to see if time does not allow seeing everything. Remember that it is about Italy only and not other countries that later experienced the Renaissance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raphael and the masters, April 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History of Italian Renaissance Art, 7th Edition (Paperback)
This is a great text book. I love the italian renaissance, the wording is clear and concise and the pictures are great. The book also cover quite a bit of information and is a couple bricks to tote around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference, Scholarly Work, July 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History of Italian Renaissance Art, 7th Edition (Paperback)
Lots of insightful text
Maps very useful
Lots of Illustrations and detail
Newer versions omit the maps of historic Italian cities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History of Italian Renaissance - Great history of the arts of the time., November 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Historically very informative, full of beautiful pictures, and written in a way that is very interesting to learn. Always loved paging through this book at the library, but now that it's mine, I can take the time to read it all with leisure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Seminal Contemporary Text on Italian Renaissance Art, November 24, 2011
By 
Alan J. Droste (Laguna Beach, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This text is the standard by which all other modern commentaries on Italian Renaissance art should be judged. Treat yourself and get the hardback edition. Many thanks to David Wilkins for advancing the work begun by Frederick Hartt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hartt as a college text, March 10, 2006
By 
A well written easily readable text with enough depth to satisfy all but graduate students in the field. References and bibliography are extensive. It stands out among several competitive books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

History of Italian Renaissance Art, 7th Edition
History of Italian Renaissance Art, 7th Edition by David G. Wilkins (Paperback - January 13, 2010)
$152.20 $120.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.