Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing May4th

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 9, 2009
America's military, financial, and cultural involvement with the Middle East is as on-going as it is problematic both in terms of suppressing attacks on America targets and our economic reliance on Middle Eastern petroleum resources. Yet before the emergence of a beligerant and violent Muslim extremism that led to attacks on the American homeland, most Americans know very little about the history and cultures that comprise this area of the world. Now in a newly revised and significantly updated fourth edition, "A History Of The Modern Middle East", co-authored by the late William L. Cleveland (who was a Professor of History at the Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada) and Martin Bunton (who is an Associate Professor of History at the University of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada), is a comprehensive historical overview of the region beginning with an insightful analysis of the Ottoman and Egyptian reforms through the rule of European colonialists, down to the American invasion and occupation of Iraq. This latest edition addresses the evolving developments of the past few decades that have transformed Middle Eastern societies and the consequent tensions between the forces of modernization and conservative cultural and religious ideological resistance. Of special note is the new chapter on "America's Troubled Moment in the Middle East" which focuses upon the aftermath of the Iraq war and Iranian nuclear ambitions. Informed and informative, "A History Of The Modern Middle East" is an impressive and substantial work of seminal scholarship. Accessibly written for both academia and the non-specialist general reader with an interest in the 20th and 21st century history of the Middle East, "A History Of The Modern Middle East" is a highly recommended addition for academic and community library World History collections and supplemental reading lists.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2012
As another reviewer noted the description for the large print edition fails to mention that it is two volumes. They only send Volume 1 of 2 and there doesn't look like volume two is even available to order off of Amazon. Volume one only has the first 15 chapters of the book so if you're getting this for college, you can get started with this book but you won't be able to finish your course with it.

*Updated Dec 24, 2012

I re-ordered the regular print book and sent back the large print. I used this book for a college class on the Middle East. I found the book comprehensive. Yet as other reviews have noted it does have a biased against the West. It seemed like any atrocity committed against Middle Eastern countries by the West were described in detail. Yet any atrocities committed by Middle Eastern Countries against their own people were pointed out however the details were glazed over, and simply not discussed. One instance that I can point out is that the authors call the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait "annexation" rather than calling it an invasion. But the U.S. invasion of Iraq is deemed Western invasion and occupation in the midst of a Middle Eastern problem.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2011
This is a well-written, easy to read detailed history text on the Middle East through today's convoluted political situation, and how it got that way. One of the best texts I've read. Makes the Middle Eastern situation more understandable from the beginning, and walksyou through its progress to today. If you wonder about the Middle East, this text will help you sort it out.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2010
This is the best all-around introduction to the modern history of the Middle East on the market today. It focuses on Egypt, Turkey, Iran, Arabia and the Fertile Crescent lands that lie in between -- including Iraq, Israel-Palestine, Lebanon, and Jordan. It is written in a clear, uncluttered style, it is well illustrated with maps and photographs, and it is regularly updated via new editions. The original author William Cleveland (RIP) and his successor Martin Bunton offer an engaging and critical narrative, with suggestions for additional reading for those who want more.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2010
I bought this book for a class in college I am taking. It is very detailed, objective and the perfect classroom texbook for this subject. I am well pleased.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2016
In this book i found a new focus from which to look at the history of the peoples of the middle east. It is not an eurocentric focus and this helps to understand the reasons of the others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2012
It was required for my college level history course on the Middle East . I think it is the gold standard on the subject.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2013
This was a recommended text for a course on the Middle East. This was a most comprehensive reference on this topic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2009
So far a very informative unbiased approach to the development of the Middle East. I have enjoyed this thoroughly thought out text book. It doesn't feel like you are reading a text book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2013
So i bought this text book for class and NOWHERE in the description does it say that this book is volume one of two! totally useless to me after the first 2 weeks of class. now i have to scramble to either find the second volume and pay another $30+ or return this one to find the complete the publication in one book. DO NOT BUY if you need the entire book for a class!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.