Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd. Better than what's on the radio.
Got the cd the day it came out. Cd also is a banger. E-40 & Too Short did there thang. Stressin is my favorite song on here. I love the beat. Can't wait for the block brochure 4,5,6.
Published 20 months ago by J_Dubb

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not Great
Nice to see the two get together and work on an album with a West Coast feel. E-40 has always been a B- to C+ rapper to me. His music was really good, but not great. On this Album E-40 still shows that he has his flow and after all the years that have past, he still sounds like that B- to C+ artist. As far as Too Short, he has always been my favorite rapper. Back in the...
Published 13 months ago by Derrick L. Price


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd. Better than what's on the radio., November 9, 2012
This review is from: History: Mob Music (Audio CD)
Got the cd the day it came out. Cd also is a banger. E-40 & Too Short did there thang. Stressin is my favorite song on here. I love the beat. Can't wait for the block brochure 4,5,6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars E-40 featuring Too Short...., December 26, 2012
By 
J. Barrell (Sacramento, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: History: Mob Music (Audio CD)
...should be the title of both albums. 40 opens up just about every song on both albums with Short coming in with a very "Short-like" verse. Both albums are a good example of marketing and hustling, because only a true hustler would put out two albums with someone more for name recognition than actual flow recognition, that being Too Short.

This is not to speak ill of Short an anyway, I'm a huge fan of his first 7-8 albums - all Bay Area classics and innovators, without Short there may not be any 40. Too Short is/was one of the best in the West for a good decade but now his raps are pretty tired. Again, this isn't a bad thing, I don't get tired of his voice or flow but he simply sounds like himself and at his age and after all the albums that he has done, he simple brings nothing new to the table. The difference with Too Short, unlike other rappers, is that he can talk about the same thing and it's simply hilarious every time.

As for E-40, he's a beast. Like Short, he talks about the same things but unlike Short he manages to talk about it and spins it differently each time and adds new depth to his experiences growing up. E-40 is one of those guys who is all about the hustle, he'll never be mainstream in the "Billboard" sense but that's what makes his hustle better than guys that have been in the game half as long. The fact that 40 isn't a billionaire makes him great and still worth listening to. This album, like Function Music, is an ode to staying in the game and working hard and staying relevant to his cult-like following.

This album isn't his greatest work but it delivers and definitely worth buying or downloading legally (i.e. paying for it) - it's a must have for any 40 or Short fan that wants to have a complete collection. The only thing that would have made this "Mob Music" album better would have been to bring back Mike Mosley and Ant Banks for the production and more o.g. west coast/bay area artist. Aside from that, it's an album well done and slaps like king-kong and godzilla are beefin' in the trunk! Go out and get it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic...., November 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History: Mob Music (Audio CD)
Im probably biased here, Im from the Bay Area....I grew up listening to Too Short ,and E40. Freaky Tales, Federal, Im Tired of Being Stepped On, Dope Fiend beat. Yes ....that far back.So basically it was 5 stars in my mind before I opened the wrapper Hahaha. Seriously though, the production here is top notch. Lyrically? E40s on it, as is Too Short. Both these albums are ...well History. If you're a fan its a must buy anyway you look at it. Albums all Bay Area fans have been waiting on for a long time, and they dont disappoint. Thanks to Amazon for having these cds on my doorstep , on the day they came out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not Great, June 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History: Mob Music (Audio CD)
Nice to see the two get together and work on an album with a West Coast feel. E-40 has always been a B- to C+ rapper to me. His music was really good, but not great. On this Album E-40 still shows that he has his flow and after all the years that have past, he still sounds like that B- to C+ artist. As far as Too Short, he has always been my favorite rapper. Back in the 80's-90's Too Short was that A+ - A- artist. On this album he sounds like a D+ - D- artist. Short is starting to lose his flow. It might be time to hang the mic up for Short as his lyrics are starting to decline. If Too Short makes any more albums, he should have someone to write his rhymes. Overall this album is good, but not great...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exactly what you'd expect from E40 and Too Short, May 30, 2013
This review is from: History: Mob Music (Audio CD)
Great music. Bay Area beats and features the usual guest artists from the area. Club hits and some not so hood'ish feeling tracks to keep the album interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Those Are My Dudes, March 19, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "Educated Hustla'" (Fort Worth, TX by way of Tulsa, Ok) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History: Mob Music (Audio CD)
Love my Bay Area music. Two of the greatest to ever do it, has done it, keeping the Westside relevant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars function music is better, February 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History: Mob Music (Audio CD)
I bought this album and function music together and this one was okay I wasn't as impressed with it but it has a few good songs and overall it's better than most rap music out today..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They've done it...AGAIN, December 9, 2012
This review is from: History: Mob Music (Audio CD)
Both CD's, from the song one to 34 SLAPS!! Excellent cameos & classic Bay Area beats, too bad it wasn't summer because this would be blaring from every car
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it love it omg, November 7, 2012
This review is from: History: Mob Music (Audio CD)
40 and short are together on this new album doing it real good and with the production of the music on here is bay slappers and more i say pick this album up its an great product and can't wait till the next albums from 40 and short
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT! Too Short Is BACK! BUY THIS!!!!!, November 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History: Mob Music (Audio CD)
First, I've been a huge Too Short fan ever since the late 1980's. He had a string of classic albums, then after 2000 he kind of fell off my radar - mostly due to his collaborations: It was always "Too Short featuring____". That kind of did it for me, and I stopped listening.

For whatever reason, I started listen to Too Short again, starting with 2006's "Pimpin' Inc." That was a great CD, and I've started buying his material ever since. "No Tresspassing" came out earlier this year, and it was really, really good. SO, if you were a former Too Short fan, or just starting out, this is a great "era" of his career to start (or catch up).

ANYWAY, I never heard of this E-40 character. Doesn't matter. This is technically an E-40 and Too Short album, but I bought it because of Too Short...and it's freakin' GREAT!!!!

I'm not going to get into too many details here, but it has a lot of great baselines and synthesizers/keyboards, with a downright erie sound. The song Money Motivated is GREAT. It's VERY clean sounding with top-notch production. WELL WORTH THE MONEY. BUY IT!!!!! TOO SHORT IS BACK!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

History: Mob Music
History: Mob Music by E 40 (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.