Truck Month Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Eric Clapton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Get Ready for Summer and Save 15% The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation SnS

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars16
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 1, 2013
This was a great introduction to the Orthodox Church. The origin of Orthodoxy is traced back to the Apostles, and the doctrines and teachings of the Church are briefly discussed. It also gives background into some of the great controversies that called for the seven ecumenical councils, as well as the division between Eastern and Western Christendom. I gave this video four stars because the quality of the video itself was lacking and the information wasn't very extensive. However, it is great as an introduction for those who know nothing at all about the Eastern Orthodox Church.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2013
This 3-part survey of orthodox history is outstanding in the clear explanation of the doctrinal foundations of the Church, and gives a wonderful visual survey of many historical sites by taking the camera directly on location. It shows the "big picture" without getting lost in the details of controversies which --though important-- serve mostly to confuse the kind of viewer who would be watching this program. Certainly worth viewing!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2013
This is a good historical review of Orthodoxy written from the Orthodox perspective. I was hoping for more detail around the 1054 split from the Catholic Church, but it did briefly touch on the 3 major aspects of the split that remain to today. There was very little from 1054 to today. I plan to watch it again some day.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2013
Very low expectations, expected to shut it down after proving it was low quality. It was not only good quality, but felt like good history, attempted to be objective. So, I finished it and felt like it did a good job of connecting the dots on other studies on the subject. Well worth the time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2014
I like documentaries that are straight-forward documentaries and don't try to dramatize things. This movie is very satisfying in being a historical account, reverent toward its subject material, but not romanticizing it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2013
Used this for my Church history class. it is well done and helps to show how the church evolved. would use it for a class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2014
I appreciated the information and thought that the presentation of the history of Orthodox Christianity was textually well presented. I withheld a fifth star because I thought that production value was a bit low. It seems a bit dated and does not always engage the viewer's interest. In other words, the viewer is advised to supply his or her own interest. As for the historic material and the interviews, they were well-chosen and edited. As so little attention has been paid to Orthodoxy and its rich contribution to Christianity as a whole, this documentary is an important work for those who are just beginning to explore her treasures. It may well stimulate more serious inquiry.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2014
When my wife and I began looking into Orthodoxy this was one of the first videos we watched. It has helped encourage us to continue to look into the teachings of the Eastern Orthodox Church.

I would definitely recommend this film to those with an interest in understanding the Orthodox Church.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2013
like boring Sunday school. not enough scholarly work. narrator not very interesting to listen to. you might want to keep looking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2014
I learned a great deal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$1.99
$14.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.