Customer Reviews


368 Reviews
5 star:
 (269)
4 star:
 (62)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


104 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And this is just Book 1!!!
Okay, I'm not gonna waste time on Disc 1 because it's a collection of hits and favorites that any Michael Fan is well enough familiar with. So let's just skip right to Disc Two.
Scream-Truly the most Dance Oriented song on the album, but a rare occasion in which we get Brother to Sister love, and anger, both shouting about injustice. A Great song, a great video...
Published on October 13, 2002 by Anthony Wynn

versus
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Odd
This is an oddly put together compilation. Yes, many of his classics are there. But, where's "Smooth Criminal," "In the Closet," "Dirty Diana," "Liberian Girl," "Give in to Me"? Not to mention others. For some odd reason, they compacted his mindblowing career into one disc, when in fact, the 2 discs could've been used to...
Published on August 3, 2002 by fordpony90


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

104 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And this is just Book 1!!!, October 13, 2002
By 
Anthony Wynn (Mesquite, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: History Past, Present and Future Book I (Audio CD)
Okay, I'm not gonna waste time on Disc 1 because it's a collection of hits and favorites that any Michael Fan is well enough familiar with. So let's just skip right to Disc Two.
Scream-Truly the most Dance Oriented song on the album, but a rare occasion in which we get Brother to Sister love, and anger, both shouting about injustice. A Great song, a great video. And great beginning.
They Don't Care About Us-A powerful song really. Great beat, Some later versions are censored because of some alleged "anti-semetic" lyrics. Put it doesn't hurt the song. Michael's anger somewhat begins here. Another great video.
Stranger in Moscow-A beautiful ballad. By far one of Michael's best. Haunting to the Extreme with a chorus that could bring a tear to your eye. "How does it feel when you're alone and it's cold inside?" A beautiful music video.
This Time Around-I like this song. Has a good beat to it. A tad self-indulgent, but I'd say he's earned it. Great Rap bridge by the Notorius B.I.G.
Earth Song-One of his most powerful ballads to date. Most of us have seen the video, so we know Michael is true to his subject matter. Michael hits it hard on this song, worthy of buying the album just for this one.
D.S.-Who is Dom Sheldom? And why is Michael so angry at him? This isn't a bad song, but it's the one I listen to the least.
Money-Powerful lyrics. Although Michael doesn't sing a whole lot. More of a spoken word, but good none the less. Still Michael a bit angry in this one.
Come Together-This one is alot of fun really. Shows his funk-rock side with this cover of the old Beatles song. Truly verges on remaking it better than the original.
You Are Not Alone-How many awards did this one win? Too many to count. This song, written by R. Kelly, shows off the passion he still has for a love ballad. Very artistic video with his ex-wife Lisa Marie-Presley.
Childhood-Some may call this song sappy, not me, it's beautiful. In our own ways I think most all of us could relate to this song. Poetic lyrics, well orchestrated instrumentals, and the video has a quite an interesting original concept to it.
Tabloid Junkie-A song with a strong message more people need to pay attention to. Not to mention having to do with Michael's more recent past at that time being a victim of the Tabloid Junkies.
2 Bad-This song has a cool beat, and it's a good dance song. The only part I don't really enjoy is Shaq rapping in the middle. Who the hell ever said that Shaq could rap? He couldn't wrap cheese in a taco!! At least the parts with Michael are cool.
HIStory-More of an anthem than a song. But amazing none the less. Using quotes and recorded speeches from pinical moments in History. Proving Michael respects many people, and is inspired by greatness, causing him greatness as well.
Little Susie-If he ever decides to stop being a pop singer, this song shows proof he could compose music for movies and seriously win OSCARS for it. It's sad, haunting, beautiful. A great direction for Michael.
Smile-I can't think of a better way to end this record. This track, which is a tribute and dedication to one of Michael's heroes, Charlie Chaplin. You can't help but smile I think when you listen to this track, because it's so beautiful, and Michael whistling at the end gives off the most lovely example of Michael's playful side.
A wonderful CD, truly worthy of all good credit. His most mature and artistic album to date. Get one for yourself, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIStory - a simple review of CD 2...., November 6, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: History Past, Present and Future Book I (Audio CD)
We all know the fantastic geninus of MJ on CD 1 so let's move on to CD 2.
CD 2 is where the new meat of the set is. Although this is not MJ's best, it is interesting nevertheless due to the personal commentary in many of the CD's 15 songs.
Everything from politics (Scream) to racism (They Don't Care About Us), to the ecology (Earth Song), to his personal struggles with the press (Tabaloid Junkie), to abuse (Little Suzie), the album ends with his personal statement about his whole experince in a cover of Smile.
Personal highlights for me include some of the above tracks mentioned: Scream, They Don't Really Care About Us, and Earth Song -- as well as the smooth Stranger In Moscow, a cover of The Beatles' Come Together, the ballad hit You Are Not Alone, and the somewhat epic soundscape title track.
Bottom Line: Although it may not be Jackson's best, it is his most personal, aggressive, and intellectual album -- you get a peak into the thoughts of the one and only Michael Jackson through song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIStory is Michaels most overlooked, underrated album!, July 6, 2009
This review is from: History Past, Present and Future Book I (Audio CD)
Two things bothered me while watching the Michael Jackson news stories on TV following his death..they always overlooked two of his finest albums, "Dangerous" and this set, "HIStory".
"HIStory" is a set that is the sound of Michael Jackson re-inventing and evolving as an artist.
Disc 1 features some of his biggest hits in its full unedited form (Unlike his other greatest hits set Number Ones), but with the unedited tracks comes the fact that so many of his hits weren't included!
For 1995 it was the only Michael Jackson best of compilation available on the market..and Im thankful more concise hits collections like "The Essential Michael Jackson" and "The Ultimate Collection" are available.
So if you want the hits, and all of them, please pick up those collections! Or even better, buy his 4 original albums! (Off The Wall, Thriller, Bad and Dangerous).
But as for this collection, all the songs are incredible and its a surprise to see songs like "She's Out Of My Life", "The Girl Is Mine", "Remember The Time" and "Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'" included in a collection where they usually omit those songs!
Overall, the songs are no doubt 5 star quality, but for the omissions of so many great songs I give Disc One: 4.5 stars.

Disc 2 is the very sound of a tortured superstar under the pressure and scrutiny of the media. If you have heard all of his albums, this one right here easily earns the title of his most honest album.
Its a complete turnaround from his previous 4 albums. He's angry. He knows hes been hounded. And now hes writing and singing about all of his tribulations over his career, but mostly about the 1993-1994 era where he was accused of those disgusting (and in my opinion extremely false) allegations.

Standout tracks:

The disc begins with "Scream" a duet with his superstar sister Janet Jackson. The song is a loud, futuristic dance song about all the pressure the two siblings face. Its a great track, and was a big hit back in 1995. (It should have been bigger!)

"They Don't Care About Us" is one of my all time favourite Michael tracks!
Its all about how he's been victimized and how he's basically had enough of all the hatred. Its an incredible song with such danceable qualities, with a heavy subject matter without resorting to over preaching.

"Stranger In Moscow" is a window glimpse into Michaels mind during the 1993 allegations era. It is such an incredibly honest song as he sings about his "Fall from grace" and how it feels to be "Alone and cold inside". I believe that this is one of his greatest musical accomplishments.

"Earth Song" is a typical MJ "Save the world" anthem, but its done to epic proprtions. Its a mammoth anthem, not preaching to people how to save the world, but basically how "no one gives a damn". It doesn't get better than this! Another overlooked gem in Michaels catalogue of work.

"Money" is a song that doesnt sound like anything MJ had done before. Its basically all spoken word, and what he says about what people would do for money is spot on and extremely relevant to his experiences, and whats going on in the world today.

"Come Together" is Michaels remake of The Beatles classic and I really enjoy this one too. Its a great remaking and its cool to have it on CD after seeing it on his Moonwalker film right at the end!

"You Are Not Alone" is the 1996 mega smash and its a great ballad. Theres not much to say about this one, but you honestly cant help but sing along and get caught in the infectious chorus!

"Childhood" is Michaels his most autobiographical song ever. Just listen to the lyrics..its not your typical Verse-Chorus-Verse-Bridge-Chorus song, its structure is intricate and his powerful lyrics are the main attraction to this song. The music alone can also be enough to bring someone to tears.

"Tabloid Junkie" is another roaring dance number similar to "Scream". It tells of how everyone shouldnt believe what they read or see. A great song that is usually overlooked!

The rest of the tracks are also great (This Time Around, D.S., 2Bad, History, Little Susie and Smile) and are well worth a listen..they are great tracks, but those ones I just wrote about are my personal standouts.

My overall rating for Disc Two is 5 stars.

"HIStory" is the evolution of Michael Jackson from the beginning of his musical solo career to his honest later work. You will never hear Michael this honest, frank and autobiographical in any other album.
There are songs on the 2nd disc that I consider some of his finest work ever.
Just give it a try! Just because the television doesnt acknowledge this fine album (and Dangerous), it doesnt mean it isnt good.
Its a fantastic album and should be heard by anyone who considers themselves a Michael Jackson fan.

R.I.P Michael Jackson! You many not be here on Earth, but I am so grateful you left your musical legacy with us, so people now and people in the future can discover how remarkable it really is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIStory - Past, Present and Future Book 1, June 6, 2000
This review is from: History Past, Present and Future Book I (Audio CD)
I remember the exact day this CD came out, June 20th, 1995. For about a month 'Scream' had been playing on the radio, the video had premired just days before(still the best special effect video ever, I'd have to say) and the Diane Sawyer interview with Lisa Marie had just aired. Michael Jackson had all the hype, and this album was worth every bit of it! I could sit here all day talking about the classic 'older' cuts such as 'Billie Jean', 'Beat It', 'Black Or White', Man In The Mirror' and 'Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough', but I really don't think you need to hear that 'cause I mean you've heard all those songs about million times before each. It's the new songs that deserve a long intro. The duet with Janet Jackson 'Scream' is the greatest duet either of them have done (though Michael's 1983 duet with Paul McCartney 'Say Say Say' challenges). 'They Don't Care About Us' proves why Michael is a true artist. It is the message, the meaning behind the music is what this song is about. And because I bought this record the day it came out I have the version where Michael says the controversial line of 'Jew Me'. True rage in the line. This is one of the greatest songs he has ever written, and there have been a few. He got a lot of slack for not rising above the 1993 scandal, but so what? It only proves his artistry I believe, because a true artist will express his feeling rather than just following the mold of 'hip young artists'. 'Stranger In Moscow' is wonderful as are 'This Time Around' and 'Earth Song.' What other contemporary artist has as much meaning in their music? No one, thats who. I've got the same initials as the No.6 song 'D.S' not why I like the song, but its kind of cool. The song rocks, a great heavy beat with Slash playing guitar. 'Money' with R.Kelly singing backing is great, the meaning exactly what drives the world today. A thing he should only know all to well. The only song I don't like on this CD is 'Come Together', it is a great cover, but seems out of place here. 'You Are Not Alone' is a great song, but it too seems a little odd here, obviously put on the album to sell more copies. It was the first song to debut at No.1 on the Billboard Hot 100, not that that makes it a great song, but I just thought you'd like to know. 'Childhood' is a bit to sappy for me, but the message is great and Michael's vocals are better here than ever. 'Tabloid Junkie' is great, one of the best on the CD, the greatest refrain he has had in years with 'Just because you read it in a magazine or see it on a TV screen don't make it factual' is great. Truth, that is what this CD is about. '2Bad' rocks, great beat. 'HIStory' is a little too cluttered with audio clips, the verses leave something to be desired but the chorus is great. 'Little Susie' is a stark telling of the death of a young girl. Beautiful orchestration, a little sappy, but great musicality here. Finaly 'Smile' is a great cover tune, Michael's voice is superb here. This CD is great because it has a story behind it. We all know where he was comming from before he realesed this album, and where he has been since, but what reamins true is the music and the messages behind it. Five Out Of Five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Album Divided, March 31, 2006
This review is from: History Past, Present and Future Book I (Audio CD)
Just like the man himself, HIStory is an album divided, presenting an overview of the work of arguably one of the most brilliant entertainers and songwriters in music history, while also presenting a sobering and at times alarming picture of a tortured man on a downward spiral of bitterness and anger.

As described previously, Disc 1 is a damn-near perfect chronicle of everything that has made both casual listeners and die-hard fans helpless to resist the magnetic pull of his chart-busting, hook-laden hits. More of a 'moonwalk' down Memory Lane, everything is here: from the explosive beginnings of his solo career with mentor Quincy Jones producing OFF THE WALL, to the "Citizen Kane" of his career, THRILLER, which changed not only his life in the white-hot spotlight, but music in general.

But for those who would rather remember the "good old days" when no dancefloor and no DJ would dare leave Michael's latest and greatest songs off their playlists, a caveat--stop at Disc 1.

It isn't hard to determine where Michael was in his life when these songs were written and recorded--he literally cuts his skin and bleeds into the CD grooves, so vividly distraught and angry is the bulk of the material.

Though it was more than likely the record company's attempt to cash in on a solid-gold opportunity, baby sis Janet joins him on "Scream", a propulsive and caustic dressing-down of the external forces that have plagued the family for years, (mainly the media), but especially the gadflies who have nipped at the heels of both siblings since the very beginnings of their meteoric careers. It literally vibrates with rage, but it's also a well-produced dancefloor track (by Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis), that, not surprisingly, spent weeks in the Top Ten upon its release.

And many of the songs continue in this vein: "D.S.", "This Time Around", "Tabloid Junkie", "Money" are at once painfully personal and therapeutic, aiding Michael in channeling his frustration, rage and disillusionment at the allegations of child molestation and other eccentricities that all but trashed a once seemingly unstoppable career. The infectious beats, snarky samples and songcraft are still here, but don't expect anything as light or as enjoyable as "Rock With You" or "Don't Stop Until You Get Enough."

Thank goodness there is a break or two, including one of the better covers of The Beatles' staple "Come Together", (sadly ironic since it's something that Michael and ex-best bud Paul McCartney may never do since the Beatles song catalog flap.) "They Don't Care About Us" and "Earth Song" are message songs that revisit the ethos of "Man In The Mirror." "You Are Not Alone" is as much a song of self-affirmation as it is a love song, (written during his brief coupling with Lisa Marie Presley.)

The most heartfelt and tear-jerking numbers he has ever done would be "Childhood (Theme From Free Willy 2)" which all but bares his soul to the world about his deepest feelings of loss and regret, and "Stranger In Moscow", which captures the isolation and abandonment he was feeling at the time he put pen to paper.

Disk 2 closes with a rendition of Chaplin's classic "Smile," which underscores why Michael has always been hailed as "The King of Pop" worldwide, self-appointed or not, and why the world of music will be a much emptier place without the anticipation of his unparalelled talents.

Michael Light and Michael Dark. It doesn't matter which side you listen to or even prefer; as a fan I just feel fortunate that HIStory is here for us to review at all. Personally, Disc 1 needs to have ten stars, not five. Disc 2 gets four for the more listenable tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael's Autobiography, March 21, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History Past, Present and Future Book I (Audio CD)
Michael Jackson may be one of the most mysterious people on earth. His life and his experiences are probably much more than any of us could imagine, but this album (by far his most personal) gives you a little peak into who he really is.

HIStory is aptly named as it gives you a "history" of his music to date with a greatest hits collection on disk one and then gives you "HIS story" on disc two. Disk two is definately my favorite MJ album. You get the sense that it was written largely as an outlet of emotions that Michael felt after going through the allegations of 93/94. The album has an angrier tone than his others, and you get the sense that you know him a bit by the end.

1. Scream: the album starts with a duet between Michael and his sister Janet. It's obviously a push by the record company to cash in on the superstardom of these two, and as a result it's a little overproduced and noisey. But the message is true to the tone of the album and lyrics like

"Tired of injustice

Tired of the schemes

The lies are disgusting

So what does it mean"

and

"Tired of you tellin' the story your way

It's causin' confusion

You think it's okay"

it sets the stage for the anger of the rest of the album.

2. They Don't Care About Us: This song is much better on the production front, smooth background vocals and strings compliment the driving beat well. The lyrics are clearly meant to cause controversy and grab attention, because Michael loves attention- and there is no better way to get attention than by causing controvsey. The song is one of my favorites of MJs, and was very successful in some parts of the world- including Brazil where the video was filmed.

3. Stranger in Moscow: Quite possibly Michael's best song EVER. The song is melancholy and shows the sadness he felt after the allegations, "Swift and sudden fall from grace/ sunny days seemed far away". Michael has said that he wrote the song in a hotel room in Moscow, while listening to the screams of fans below, but realizing that he was completely alone: thus "how does it feel when you're alone,and it's cold inside?" it feels like a "stanger in moscow". This (or earth song) is probably my favorite MJ song of all time.

4. This Time Around: The production on this song is horrible in my opinion. The "music" sounds more like noise. But the lyrics seem to be quite theraputic. "They really want to use me and then falsely accuse me". This song was basically nothing more than a way for Michael to vent his anger over the 93 allegations. And he seems to vow to "stay away from strangers" "this time around" but it didn't seem to stick as he ended up in another mess after being accused by welfare frauds and professional plaintiffs in 2003-2005.

5. Earth Song: If Stranger in Moscow isn't the best song MJ has ever done, then this is. Earth Song may be the most powerful ballad I have ever heard. Unlike his earlier Heal the World or We are the World, Earth Song does not plead for people to treat the world better- he vents his anger over the damage we've already done "what have we done to the world, look what we've done". The song has no words in the chorus- words can't express the pain and suffering humans have caused in this word- the chorus is simply a cry, Michael's expression of the world's pain. The climax of the song is truly phenomenal, and all you can do is sit back, crank up the speakers and let the emotions pour through you. The song was a HUGE hit in Europe and Britan, but was never released as a single in the US.

6. D.S.: The initials here stand for "Dom Sheldon" accordign to the lyrics, but anyone who has followed Jackson's legal troubles knows that this song is a thinly veiled reference to Tom Sneddon- the District Attorney of Santa Barbara County, California. The DA headed up both investigations of Jackson (dropping the 93 investigation when a grand jury said they couldn't not come up with any evidence to indict Jackson even after Sneddon went through all the trouble of strip searching Jackson and having his genitalia photographed and videotaped. Sneddon then lost the 2003 investigation after a jury found Jackson not guilty on all counts, despite putting 5 prosecutors on the case and spending $6 million prosecuting Jackson). Jackson lashes out venomously at Sneddon, accusing him of everything from not having a social life to consorting with the KKK (one of Sneddon's sons got into trouble in the late 90s by hanging out with a skin-head gang). The song's chorus is rather repetitive- "Tom Sneddon is a cold man" over and over. But there are many who would agree as Sneddon has been sued for malicious prosecution 14 times during his rein as DA. The song seems to be meant more for Michael's good than for listeners but the song does have a fun guitar riff and is easy listening.

7 Money: This song is clearly aimed at Jackson's accusers "they dont' care, they use me for the money/ they dont' care they sue me for the money" "lie for it, die for it, you would do anything for money". Ironically enough, Jackson was sued again by Evan Chandler (who made the accusations of molestation for his son in 93) for making this album. Evan felt the album violated the confidentiality agreement Jackson signed as part of the settlement in 94- saying he would not publicly discuss the case. But Evan also added Sony to the defendants in his case asking for $60 million. The case was eventually thrown out of court some 6 years later when neither Evan nor an attorney representing him showed up for a hearing in the case.

8 Come Together: Jackson is self-proclaimed Beatles fan and this cover is definately one of the best Beatles covers ever done. The song was recorded much before most of the other material on the album, and in fact a video of Jackson performing the song appears on the Moonwalker video Jackson released. The song is a good cover, and gives the listener a break from Jackson's anger in the album.

9 You Are Not Alone: This R. Kelly song was a huge hit for Jackson world wide and was his last number one in the US. The song is a beautiful ballad- radio friendly, but lacks the emotion of other songs on the album.

10 Childhood: This song embodies everything Jackson has always claimed about himself:

"No one understands me

They view it as such strange eccentricities...

'Cause I keep kidding around

Like a child, but pardon me...

People say I'm not okay

'Cause I love such elementary things...

It's been my fate to compensate,

for the ChildhoodI've never known..."

"Before you judge me, try hard to love me,

Look within your heart then ask,

Have you seen my Childhood?"

The music in the song is absolutely beautiful, the strings and piano tell a story the way classical music does. You can feel the emotion of the song in the music. Overall, it may be a bit sappy, but then again- overall, Michael Jackson is a bit sappy. Jackson himself has said that this song is the most autobiographical he has ever written.

11 Tabloid Junkie: Here Jackson vents his anger at the press that continually twists celebrities stories just to make a buck. "It's slander/With the words you use/You're a parasite in black and white/Do anything for news" The song is catchy and has an interesting drum percussion sound that is not a drum, but actually Jackson beat boxing. Not his best work, but catchy enough to listen to.

12 2 Bad: This another song that is a little overproduced and noisey, but the message is what's important. Jackson again speaks to his accusers, letting them know they havent' won:"Look who's standing if you please/Though you tried to bring me to my knees/Too bad too bad about it" The song appears in Jackson's short film "Ghosts".

13 HIStory: The title song, is not terribly impressive. News clips are scattered throughout the song and get a bit distracting. It's a nice thought but borders on cheesy, but then again, Jackson likes cheesy. The chorus is beautiful- the smooth vocals and harmony you expect from MJ.

14 Little Susie: This song is quite unique. It's not the type you would hear on the radio, yet it is haunting and beautiful. The song was written for a little refugee girl from Africa who was adopted by a family in Britan but was locked in a basement and died of neglect. The song has a gothic feel to it, and the music sounds like a horror movie version of carosel music. The lyrics tell a sad story and remind the listener how important it is to have compassion and care for others.

15 Smile: Jackson is huge fan of Charlie Chaplin, so it only makes sense for him to cover a Chaplin penned song. He does it beautifully, it may be his best vocal performance ever. And after the anger and sadness of the album, he leaves you on a high note: reminding you to just "smile, when your heart is breaking/ smile even though it's aching" "Smile, what's the use of crying /You'll find that life is still worthwhile /If you'll just Smile"

I highly recommend the album, for Jackson fans and non-fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Makes History, January 15, 2007
A Kid's Review
The title of the album is very appropriate. With the first CD giving us a blast from the past of amazing songs, and the second disk pulling us into the future. Many people have complained about the second disk, but I find that the songs on it are quite brilliant. The first song, Scream, is one of the most original songs of the nineties. It has a sound you won't find anywhere else, and the brother/sister duo mix their vocals extremely well. The second track, They Dont Really Care About Us, is so passionate and stimulating. You almost can't help turning up the volume. Stranger in Moscow is one of the most beautiful songs MJ's written, and its production is top notch. Earth Song is THE most beautiful song he's done, and it has a feel that gives you goosebumps. Overall, the album is one of the best I've heard. Some people critisize it for being too angry, but the anger gives the songs a passion and a depth that other artists lack. Its definitely worth the money for this deep and interesting work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steven Mirkin is a Cold Man, January 19, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: History Past, Present and Future Book I (Audio CD)
I read the critical review by Steven Mirkin regarding MJ's History release and couldn't DISAGREE with him more. I'm a huge fan of MJ's earlier work but was completely blown away by the depth of History. It rightly depicts how MJ has matured as a brilliant artist. The array of his music is stunning. Take time to listen to the layers upon layers of musical sounds he incorporates into each song. He shrewdly employs gospel, rap, historical spoken recordings, street sounds, plain speech, electric sounds into absolutely amazing masterpieces - every single one of the "new" songs on this release fits into this category. No other artist can move another person the way that MJ can. He was a gift beyond measure to this planet. What a loss that can never be replaced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and underrated, July 6, 2009
By 
jonr "Jon Rosenberg" (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
With his recent passing, I took the time to listen to some Michael Jackson's later work and was surprised to find the second disc of this package ranks with some his greatest work. Better than Bad, Invincible and possibly Dangerous, any true Michael Jackson fan will be very pleased with the new songs on this CD. Naturally the first disc cannot fail to make anyone happy. Let us take a moment to thank heaven for the first and greatest "crossover" artist now that he has made his final crossover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the greatest, September 11, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: History Past, Present and Future Book I (Audio CD)
time and time again the King of pop proves why unlike any other artist he continues to thrive and conquer. the hits stand on there own show casing his vocals,writing,arrangements,and production billie jean is time-less rock with you, don't stop till you get enough, Man in the mirror, beat it, remember the time, shes out of my life, and some songs didn't even make the cut. but you get many elements and styles from this Genius and living musical Legend. i leave that tabloid garbage to the grocery stores. cuz no matter what no one can deny the Man from gary Ind his musical props. the second disc has some moments like Scream very typical percussion used by Michael stranger in moscow(to be honest if he did an album based on the style and structure of that song acoustically he'd blow people's mind that's a wish) this time around,you are not alone ,childhood,2bad stand out for me also Money is catchy with Nile rodgers on guitar. he has Jam&lewis,Janet,B.I.G. slash,Dallas Austin, R Kelly,David Foster, etc.. on this disc(2) but Michael is in control. now personally Off the Wall, Thrilller, and Dangerous are my faves. Bad of all his albums has best showcased his eclecticness but with the exception of 4or5 cuts wasn't impressed and Blood on the dance floor i liked 2or 3 cuts but remixe projects for me are use-less. this cd has moments. but the man is still going strong and seeing all the cheap rip off artist out there and the fast food mentality of music today he can comeback even bigger. the man has soul and he hasn't been around this long by accident, from motown,to today how many artist can claim not only Longgevity but reveilance. he still matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

History Past, Present and Future Book I
History Past, Present and Future Book I by Michael Jackson (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.