Prime Music
& FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by SNUBS2011
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Typical used CD in Very Good condition little if any signs of wear/use. It includes original artwork! ** We carefully inspected this item** Comes with Super Fast Shipping â?" usually leaves warehouse within 24 hours. Professional packaging with tracking number and 24/7 customer service provided at no additional cost. 100% satisfaction guaranteed with every purchase!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • History of Rock 5
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

History of Rock 5 Original recording remastered

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Original recording remastered, January 22, 2002
"Please retry"
$5.44 $0.01

Amazon's The History Of Rock WCBS FM 101 (Series) Store

Visit Amazon's The History Of Rock WCBS FM 101 (Series) Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Product Details

  • Audio CD (January 22, 2002)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Original recording remastered
  • Label: Collectables
  • ASIN: B0000008FO
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #876,938 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Come Go With Me - The Dell Vikings
2. Elenore - The Turtles
3. Stagger Lee - Lloyd Price
4. I Need Your Loving - Don Gardner
5. Cool Jerk - The Capitols
6. You'll Lose A Good Thing - Barbara Lynn
7. Bobby's Girl - Marcie Blaine
8. Alley Oop - The Hollywood Argyles
9. Sweet Cream Ladies, Forward March - The Box Tops
10. Tall Oak Tree - Dorsey Burnette
11. Story Untold - The Nutmegs
12. Smokey Places - The Corsairs
13. Baby Let's Wait - The Royal Guardsmen
14. Hello Stranger - Barbara Lewis

Editorial Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Zub VINE VOICE on March 28, 2002
Format: Audio CD
Collectables Records has reworked their "History of Rock" compilation series, supposedly using remastered sources. The track listing remains the same, however the packaging is new. This volume sports a mauve border with most of the front image being a picture of 50's-era very young teenagers dancing. (Note: it is unclear as to whether you receive this new version if ordered from as their product description still displays the old packaging. It may be advisable to inquire until and unless Amazon updates the image.)

Collectables has had a less-than-enviable record when it comes to production quality in their reissues. Here, they have done a better job than has often been the case in the past. Additionally, they indicate on the outside of the back of the package which tracks are presented in stereo, a helpful bit of information provided it is accurate but, sorry to say, it is not totally so on at least one of the other volumes in this series. While this is a mainstream series and there are no rarities or first-timers to CD in amongst the tracks appearing here, at least there are a couple that are not the same old ones usually found compiled for these artists. In this volume are found the Box Tops' "Sweet Cream Ladies, Forward March", a cleverly constructed pop ditty that probably suffered on the charts due to its theme of ladies of the evening, and "Baby, Let's Wait", a ballad totally 180 degrees from the Snoopy-themed records that made the Royal Guardsmen briefly famous.

Overall, the sound quality here is respectable, a plus being a couple of rare stereo versions, namely "Smokey Places" and "I Need Your Lovin'". On the down side, "Elenore" is very shrill, probably taken from a vinyl-destined master with its pumped-up high end and a fairly hissy "Stagger Lee".
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in