Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Detailed Text Book
I purchased this book to learn the complete history of Russia - or at least have access to any period in it's history up to the present. Well, this book certainly is giving me that! The beginning is traced very far back in time when tribes roaming over the vast area from present day Europe to China roamed in and out of the present day Russia fought, intermarried to some...
Published on November 14, 2012 by R&B

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A History of Russia
This wasn't book I was looking for so therefore I sent it back; one of the difficult things to do in choosing a book without actually physically reviewing the copy.
Published 9 months ago by John Apostal


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Detailed Text Book, November 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A History of Russia, the Soviet Union, and Beyond (Hardcover)
I purchased this book to learn the complete history of Russia - or at least have access to any period in it's history up to the present. Well, this book certainly is giving me that! The beginning is traced very far back in time when tribes roaming over the vast area from present day Europe to China roamed in and out of the present day Russia fought, intermarried to some extent, spoke different dialects, and took on still different identities. This early history introduces many names of peoples, languages, individuals, and places - truly more than I could connect with any continuity. So although the text does not read like a novel, the combination of its organization, chapter and section heading, along with the very complete index make it very useful to me. The book is arranged chronologically only to some degree, but chapters (all about equal length) emphasize different aspects of the society - government, politics, peoples, economics, leaders, foreign relations and wars, comparison of agriculture verses industry, etc. This makes the book the powerful resource I wanted - one I could put aside then come back to when I wanted particulars - usually about a leader, or period. I've yet to read through to the present, Putin's leadership, but have read over enough periods in Russia's history so far to understand where names like Marx, Lenin, Trotskii, and Stalin fit. I'm beginning to understand why the culture of Russia is very different from the US perhaps mostly because of it's vast area, climate differences, subcultures, classes, poverty, and some very cruel difficult periods. No small revelation is the importance that revolution has played - even to the degree that it has been considered inevitable and necessary by many of Russia's leaders. The evolution of the form of government into present day communism is just beginning to become clear as I continue the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Textbook for Russian History class, May 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A History of Russia, the Soviet Union, and Beyond (Hardcover)
A good textbook for my college class, though it could go with a new edition, because a lot has happened in Russia in the past 12 years. To make up for that gap, our professor showed quite a few videos, especially those concerning the ongoing Russia/Ukraine conflict. I certainly learned a lot more about Russian history because of this book and the class. Recommended if you want an in-depth, hard core study of the world's largest country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like new, February 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A History of Russia, the Soviet Union, and Beyond (Hardcover)
Heavy hardback, great condition. Worked well in my Russian History class and covers the history of Russia from early Rus times all the way up to the end of the cold war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very resourceful and interesting, May 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A History of Russia, the Soviet Union, and Beyond (Hardcover)
I originally ordered this book for my Russian History Class. This booked proved to be a very reliable source for Russian History. I would recommend it to everyone. The chapters are clearly divided well, so it is easy to fine specific information on different years in Russian history or even important events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A History of Russia, April 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A History of Russia, the Soviet Union, and Beyond (Hardcover)
This wasn't book I was looking for so therefore I sent it back; one of the difficult things to do in choosing a book without actually physically reviewing the copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A History of Russia, the Soviet Union, and Beyond, October 3, 2005
By 
Robert P. Watrol (Rossford, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A History of Russia, the Soviet Union, and Beyond (Hardcover)
This is a required textbook for a Russian History class I am taking and so far the book is a better read than I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was great!!!!!, October 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
They send it right away, and the book was in great condition. I recommend it ^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAST SHIPPING!, September 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A History of Russia, the Soviet Union, and Beyond (Hardcover)
The book was exactly as described/listed. The seller shipped the book right away, I got it not too long after buying it. Pleasure doing business with seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A History of Russia, the Soviet Union, and Beyond
A History of Russia, the Soviet Union, and Beyond by David MacKenzie (Hardcover - September 11, 2001)
$274.95 $220.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.