Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and broad
"A History of Silicon Valley" might be the most comprehensive overview of the tech valley culture yet published. Rao and Scaruffi set out to write a very ambitious book; rather than pick a few colorful characters as most silicon valley historians do, these authors attack the topic from many angles. They explore the investment bankers and lawyers that played supporting...
Published on June 30, 2011 by Ari Paul

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Directionally correct; poor execution
My review mirrors other reviews seen here. The book offers a good set of topics throughout silicon valley history but spelling mistakes and lack of coordination between chapters calls into question the validity of facts. The authors also thinly veil many personal biases such as dislike for Microsoft and admiration for Apple and Google. Opinions are fine, but I thought I...
Published 11 months ago by Tech Industry Analyst


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and broad, June 30, 2011
By 
This review is from: A History of Silicon Valley: The Greatest Creation of Wealth in the History of the Planet (Perfect Paperback)
"A History of Silicon Valley" might be the most comprehensive overview of the tech valley culture yet published. Rao and Scaruffi set out to write a very ambitious book; rather than pick a few colorful characters as most silicon valley historians do, these authors attack the topic from many angles. They explore the investment bankers and lawyers that played supporting roles, the entrepreneurs and venture capitalists at the core, and the regulatory and cultural environment that sets the story. They dance between diligent chronology and engaging narrative. I particularly enjoyed the business lessons that Rao drew from the many successes and failures he analyzed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Directionally correct; poor execution, December 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A History of Silicon Valley: The Greatest Creation of Wealth in the History of the Planet (Perfect Paperback)
My review mirrors other reviews seen here. The book offers a good set of topics throughout silicon valley history but spelling mistakes and lack of coordination between chapters calls into question the validity of facts. The authors also thinly veil many personal biases such as dislike for Microsoft and admiration for Apple and Google. Opinions are fine, but I thought I was buying a history book.

One last, huge point. Scaruffi insists on listing his website in the book alongside some of the greatest innovators of the past decade. While his website is reputable, putting it next to SUN or Google in terms of importance is just in poor taste. I hope they changed this in the second edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed reading this book. Even though it is a "history" book the authors succeeded in recreating the drama and excitement of the story and of bringing out the human side. If you are interested in technology at all this is an exciting read, and as it surveys over a 100 years, is a good book to read if you don't have time to read many on the same subject. What I didn't like was the two-author switching between chapters as it was just a compilation of articles by the two authors. Sometimes the 2nd article on the same subject by the 2nd author repeated a lot of what was written in the previous chapter. It would have been better if it was all combined into one smooth narrative. Also, the articles by Rao were poorly editted and contained a lot of language mistakes. Overall though it is a book I would recommend for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A history of Silicon Valley, November 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I believe the author has covered many of the events creating enormous wealth for venture capital investors in Silicon Valley deals. There is much more to tell and others are chronicling the progress as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-read for those in technology, VC and tech banking, February 16, 2013
By 
John A Hertzer (Hanover, NH United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A History of Silicon Valley: The Greatest Creation of Wealth in the History of the Planet (Perfect Paperback)
Ambitious and comprehensive, you won’t find a better history of Silicon Valley. While many people associate the Valley with tech in the past 20 years, Rao and Scaruffi show that in order to understand how this small section of land became the tech center of the world, you need to know California history stretching back to the 19th century. You will notice a few grammatical issues throughout the text, but they do not detract from the immense amount of knowledge compiled in the book. If you work in technology, VC, tech banking, or just want to learn more about how Silicon Valley rose to prominence, this is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A History of Silicon Valley, June 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Avery disappointing effort. There were many omissions, spelling errors, redundancies, and outright mistakes. There were typos and grammatical mistakes, as well as very amateurish photos. It was clear to me the authors knew very little about their subject matter. The book seemed to be very hastily cobbled together with little or no editing. The authors missed the point of Silicon Valley completely.A History of Silicon Valley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A History of Silicon Valley: The Greatest Creation of Wealth in the History of the Planet
Used & New from: $75.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.