Facility Spring Cleaning Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Blue October Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Made in Italy Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 12, 2007
The book takes you through a tour of US mint & coin history. The information is more broad than deep. It provides lots of interesting information in small chunks. Each writeup is 1-6 pages in length centered around a particular mint, person, coin, or event. I really enjoyed this book.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2008
The "History Of The United States Mint and Its Coinage" ia an excellent coffee table book. Good information, easy reading, and beautiful illustrations for an unbeatable price.
Recommended for kids & adults interested in learning about the US history through coinage.
Enjoy!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2013
I enjoy reading history, and many of the facts in this book tell us about the actual start of the exchange of money in the early day of our country. Also it gives facts about the early mints that are no longer around. I will value this book as a reference in my collecting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2008
Hard to say anything bad about this--a great work with lots of engaging information about the history of how our coins are made at the various mints. Numerous side-bars add value, although do tend to be a little confusing somethings. Very comprehensive, belongs on every serious numistmatist's bookshelf. Great book, nice binding, great information!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2013
A nice account of a the aroids us mints along with the coinage that flowed through. This is a very well put together book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2016
Great book, gives a nice overview fo the history of American coinage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2010
This is more of a historical book than a coin collecters book alone. It includes the background of the U.S. Mint and a history of the coins made over the years along with some really good pictures. it's a great book for anyone with an in depth interest in this area.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2014
Black and white but great buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2015
Relatively simple story in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2011
It seems that the author has gathered some coin/mint related facts, then wrapped those facts with some enormous amount of general words (as if his compensation depends on the amount of words he writes) and shuffled those facts. He jumps from one topic to another inside the same chapter, so that some times when reading the book you feel that some text is missing between the paragraphs in the same chapter.
If your intention is to learn and have an interesting reading, this is definitely NOT the book for you. I found Wikipedia articles to be much more professionally written. I'm returning the book and will donate that money to Wikipedia!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse